NE License plate guide. Custom or specialty plates and replacing lost or stolen license plates.
LOST OR STOLEN LICENSE PLATES
As soon as license plates are lost, stolen or illegible they must be replaced. If BOTH personalized plates are stolen/lost they must be replaced with a new plate - duplicates will not be made.
In order to replace your plates you must:
- Visit your local county treasurer's office.
- Hand in any remaining license plates.
- Pay the license plate replacement fees of $13.75.
CUSTOM AND PERSONALIZED PLATES
These are the different types of plates in the regular series: Passenger, Commercial, Motorcycle and Trailer. Application forms are available at your local county treasurer's office. Fill them in and submit with the appropriate fees (see below).
Special Interest Plates
The following is a list of some examples of special interest plates: Husker Spirit Message, Husker Spirit Numeric, Message, Motorcycle Message, Handicapped, Purple Heart, Pearl Harbor Survivor, Amateur Radio and Personalized. Click on these links to access applications forms for replacing the different types of special interest plates - Husker Spirit, Disabled American Veteran Plate, Ex-Prisoner of War Plate, Purple Heart Plate, Pearl Harbor Survivor Plate, Amateur Radio Plate and Historic Plates. When you have completed the forms, take them to your local county treasurer's office and submit them with the appropriate fees (see below). You may also select your message specialty plates using Nebraska's Specialty Plate Search.
Note: Nebraska also issues Restricted Use Plates for boat trailers, transporters, Non residents (limited for 30-days use), handicapped and historical. Application forms for these can be accessed here.
The fees for replacing a license plate or getting new plates vary depending on the type of plate you need. For more information on these fees please follow the link for Personalized Plates, Military Plates and Restricted Use Plates.
Note: For disabled drivers, please see disability plates application form. There is no fee for these plates.
WHAT TO DO WITH PLATES WHEN BUYING/SELLING A VEHICLE
Under Nebraska Law it is mandatory to retain license plates from a vehicle when selling. You may transfer them to another vehicle or surrender them to your local county treasurer's office.