How to Apply for a Salvage Title in Nebraska
A Nebraska DMV salvage title is a proof of ownership that vehicle owners need to possess when their vehicles as declared as salvage. A Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (NE DMV) issues salvage title certificates to either insurance companies that took possession of the vehicle, or to vehicle owners who want to keep the vehicle. To begin the application procedure for salvage car titles, individuals and insurance companies may have to satisfy a different set of requirements.
When applying for a salvage certificate, motorists or insurance companies need to satisfy certain eligibility criteria and to submit a list of mandatory documents. Moreover, they may also have to perform an inspection on their salvage vehicles, if required by the NE DMV. To discover more information about when and how to get a salvage title in Nebraska, continue reading the sections below.
What is a Nebraska salvage title?
A Nebraska salvage certificate of title is a legal ownership document that is issued for motor vehicles that have been declared as salvaged. A salvage title is issued for vehicles that have been wrecked, destroyed or damaged to that extent that the repair cost is higher than 75 percent of the vehicle’s retail value before it was damaged.
A model vehicle has seven years of age or has a retail value of more than a certain predetermined price. Individuals must obtain Nebraska DMV salvage title certificates for their motor vehicles, regardless of whether they are insurance companies that take possession of the vehicle, or vehicle owners who choose to retain the vehicle.
Nebraska Salvage Title Eligibility Requirements
To apply for a Nebraska DMV salvage title, vehicle owners may need to first satisfy certain eligibility criteria. For instance, motorists who want to obtain a salvage title certificate need to possess a motor vehicle that has been damaged, wrecked or destroyed as a result of various different circumstances.
Moreover, the repair cost of the vehicle must be greater than its retail value in order to qualify for a salvaged car title. In addition, vehicle owners may have to satisfy other requirements, which may vary based on their specific situation. Owners may also have to prepare a list of documents to the NE DMV for the procedure, which includes the original vehicle title and an official state driver’s license.
How to Get a Salvage Title in Nebraska
Vehicle owners must perform a Nebraska salvage title application procedure through the NE DMV after their insurance companies notify the NE DMV that the owners decided to keep the ownership of the vehicle. To begin the procedure, motorists may need to complete an Application for Certificate of Title (form RV-707) and submit it to the NE DMV along with payment for the applicable fees. However, when an insurance company applies for a salvage certificate without getting a properly endorsed title from the owner, only if they have obtained an oral or written acceptance by the owner within the last 30 days. After the insurance company makes at least two written attempts to get the endorsed title from the previous owner of the motor vehicle, it may prepare the following documentation:
- Completed Application for Certificate of Title (form RV-707)
- Completed Affidavit for Affirmation of Ownership of a Salvaged Vehicle Obtained in Settlement of a Total Loss
- Proof of lien release, if needed
- Proof of total loss settlement
- Payment for the applicable $10 fee
Salvage Car Inspections in Nebraska
When applying for a salvage title in Nebraska, most types of motor vehicles must be inspected as part of the imposed requirements. A salvage vehicle inspection is conducted by a County Sheriff who inspects only vehicles whose major component parts are properly attached. Motor vehicle owners will have to provide a proof of ownership and a payment for the $10 fee for a Sheriff’s inspection.
However, when there is a lien holders or a leasing company in possession of the title certificate, the owners may have to contact the residential County Treasurer and request the title from its possessor. Moreover, motorists are encouraged to ask the county official representative to notify them then the title has arrived so that they may get a copy of the title on time for the inspection. The salvage vehicle inspection consists of comparing the vehicle history with a vehicle identification number (VIN), and of examining the odometer reading.
Note: Vehicles that are not located in Nebraska but must be inspected, may undergo the inspection in the state where the vehicle is located by using a Nebraska Vehicle Inspection (form NSP455).
Nebraska Salvage Title Fees
The ultimate step of the Nebraska salvage title application procedure requires vehicle owners to provide payment for the applicable fees. The process of applying for a salvage certificate mandates a payment of $10 for the issuance of the appropriate title.
However, the salvage title value may be subject to constant changes. Therefore, motorists are encouraged to contact the NE DMV prior to paying the fee.
Note: The Nebraska salvage vehicle inspection also requires payment of $10 fee for the County Sheriff.
Salvage Title Forms
- Application for Certificate of Title (Form RV-707)
- Affidavit for Affirmation of Ownership of a Salvaged Vehicle Obtained in Settlement of a Total Loss
- Nebraska Vehicle Inspection (Form NSP455)
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Salvage Title from Nebraska.gov
- Motor Vehicles Salvage Titles from Nebraska.gov