How to Change the Address on Your Drivers License in Nebraska
A Nebraska drivers license change of address is a mandatory procedure that must be completed by drivers who move to another residence within the state. Motorists can change drivers license address information through the state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) by either submitting a paper application in person or an online request.
In order to complete the process of changing drivers license address in NE via the internet, you will first be required to meet certain eligibility criteria. Learn more about updating the address on your Nebraska driver’s license by reading the sections outlined below.
Instances Where You Must Change Your Address on Your Nebraska Drivers License
The transaction to change address on drivers license in Nebraska is typically completed when a driver changes his or her home address. However, the process of changing a driving license address may be initiated in other circumstances as well.
For example, if you have been issued a license to drive that displays an incorrect address, you will be required to notify the department and request an address change. Also, if you are moving to Nebraska from another state, you will complete the NE DMV license change of address when you transfer your out-of-state credential.
Nebraska Drivers License Address Change Time Limits
Motorists must change their driving license address in Nebraska within 60 days of any changes in their residential address, according to current state statute. If you fail to complete the driving license change of address on time, you may face certain consequences.
For instance, since operating a vehicle with an outdated credential is against the law, you may be subjected to a traffic citation. You may also fail to receive important DMV letters, such as driver’s license renewal notices.
Online Drivers License Address Changes in Nebraska
The best method to change a DMV license address in Nebraska is to submit your request through the department’s online services website. However, prior to requesting a drivers license change of address online, customers must ensure they meet the following eligibility criteria:
- You are a United States citizen younger than 72 years of age.
- You hold a valid non-commercial driver’s license without any restrictions.
- Your name and signature are up to date in the DMV database.
- Your physical description has not changed.
- You have not completed the online driver’s license replacement more than two times in the last five years.
To finalize the procedure to change the address on a drivers license online, applicants will be required to provide their license number, date of birth and full name. After accessing the request form, the system will ask for the submission of a valid email address and a telephone number, as well as two proofs of state residency, which can be scanned and uploaded.
The final step in the process of changing a DMV license address online in NE involves paying the applicable fee with a valid credit card or a checking account. In general, the state DMV produces and mails out replacement credentials within 20 days of receiving the fee payment.
How to Change Your Address on Your Nebraska Drivers License in Person
Drivers who are ineligible to complete the Nebraska driving license change of address via the internet can always submit their request in person at a nearby driver licensing office. To successfully complete the DMV change address on license procedure, applicants will be required to apply for a replacement credential with the standard application form for an operator’s license.
When changing a DMV license address in NE in person, motorists will also be required to submit their current credential and two proofs of residency, such as bank or earnings statements. After accepting your fee payment, the department will process your request and issue you a 30-day temporary license, which can be used until your replacement document arrives by mail within two weeks.
In any case, be mindful that when changing your drivers license address in person, you may also be required to retake the vision screening.
How to Transfer Your Drivers License as a New Nebraska Resident
New state residents must complete the Nebraska drivers license change of address and transfer their out-of-state licenses within 30 days of establishing state residency. To transfer a license issued by a state other than Nebraska, you will be required to visit a local DMV branch office and complete the following steps:
- Surrender your out-of-state credential.
- Fill out an application form for a new license (if required to do so).
- Pass the vision screening test.
- Pass the written and the driving tests if unable to provide an out-of-state credential or surrendering a license expired for longer than a year.
- Present the standard proofs of identity, legal U.S. presence, state residency and Social Security Number (SSN).
- Pay the applicable licensing fees.
You will successfully change your drivers license address in Nebraska and obtain an original license to drive after the department reviews and approves the submitted documentation and fee payments.
Nebraska DMV Address Change Fees
Motorists who would like to change the address on a drivers licenses in NE will be required to arrange payment for a replacement license fee of $13.50. Motorists transferring an out-of-state credential will be required to arrange payment for the standard licensing fees.
Drivers License Change of Address Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Change of Address - Driver's License, Permit and State ID Cards from Nebraska.gov