Nebraska Boater Registrations
The Nebraska Game and Parks Commission (NGPC) works together with the state’s DMV to issue, manage and renew boat registrations within the state. Boat registration helps the NGPC promote safe boating practices, and visible registration numbers on every vessel help deputies identify boats that violate state boating laws. Being able to keep track of vessels and their owners helps the commission maintain a safe boating experience on Nebraska’s waterways.
Requirements for Boater Registration in Nebraska
Requirements to register a boat in NE apply to boats with engines operating over any public or private waters within the state, including the Missouri River and Lewis and Clark Lake. You must obtain an official application, available at county treasurer’s offices, NGPC offices, boat dealers and retailers that sell hunting and fishing permits. Nebraska boat registration instructions dictate that all mechanically-powered vessels must be registered unless their type appears in the “exemptions” section below.
As of 2016, one of the new requirements to register a boat in NE is to pay a fee to fund programs that combat aquatic invasive species. Non-resident boaters who use NE waterways will receive an Aquatic Invasive Species Stamp after paying a $15 fee and ordering one online.
Requirements to register a boat in NE for the first time include registering in person at the county treasurer’s office in your county of residence. Bring your completed Nebraska boat registration form, fee payment and the following documents:
- For new boats, a manufacturer’s statement of origin
- For used boats, and properly assigned title or bill of sale
- Form 6MB, Sales and Use Tax Statement for Motorboat Sales, if your boat is newly purchased from a dealer
- Bill of sale with the boat’s purchase price, if the vessel was bought used
Exemptions from Boat Registration and Titling in Nebraska
As in many states, common boat registration exemptions in NE include vessels documented by the U.S. Coast Guard. You can also know which boats are exempt from registration in Nebraska by reading the following list:
- Motorboats with out-of-state registrations that are operated or housed in NE less than 60 consecutive days
- Racing motorboats competing in state-approved races and during trial runs, for the 48 hours prior to and following the competition
- Vessels owned by any government or political subdivision of government
Nebraska Boat Insurance
Boat insurance rates in Nebraska are variable, and different levels of coverage exist to protect your boat in the event of a fire, accident, vandalism or theft. It is wise to obtain boat insurance quotes in NE from several providers before settling on a boat insurance policy. Insurance can help protect your watercraft investment in the event of damage or theft.
Note: If there is a loan or lien on your boat, the lending agent may require you to get insurance coverage
Nebraska Boat Registration Fees
Boat registration fees in NE are divided into classes determined by the length of the vessel. If you are looking at the registration fees, keep in mind that the figures listed below are for a three-year registration period. Each boat registration cost in NE quoted below will have an additional $4 fee added to cover issuing expenses:
- Class 1: Vessels less than 16 feet in length and all canoes regardless of length – $23
- Class 2: Vessels 16 feet or over but less than 26 feet in length – $46
- Class 3: Vessels 26 feet or over but less than 40 feet in length – $67.50
- Class 4: Vessels 40 feet in length and over – $115
- Class 5: Motorboat dealers or manufacturers, for demonstration/testing purposes – $46
- Registration certificate replacement: $5
Renewing Your Nebraska Boat Registration
You may renew boat registration online in NE via the NE DMV online portal for registration renewal. If you need to renew your registration without a computer, note that you may do it at your county registrar’s office or at your nearest NE DMV location. If you need to know when your registration expires, you can refer to your registration renewal card, which will have that information.
Keep in mind that a boat registration renewal in Nebraska cannot be completed online if you have an address or name change, or if your registration has expired for one year or more. You must have a credit card or checking account for online fee payment and able to wait five to seven business days for your new registration stickers to arrive in the mail.
Replacing Your Nebraska Boat Registration
The steps to replace a boat registration in Nebraska begin with visiting your county treasurer’s office. Note that you must complete Form RV-707A, Application for Duplicate Certificate of Title and pay the $5 fee. You cannot replace a boat registration online and must visit your county treasurer’s office and show proof that your registration certificate has been damaged by presenting the torn or mutilated document.
Note: If the card is lost, your signature on Form RV-707A verifies the loss.
Boater Safety Courses in Nebraska
A boater safety course in Nebraska is required for anyone born after December 31, 1985 who is at least 14 years old and wishes to operate a watercraft legally on the state’s waterways. One of the simplest Nebraska boating safety course options is offered online, but the NGPC also offers various programs in locations throughout the state.
Nebraska Boater License
Possessing an online boating license or one obtained in person is not a requirement in Nebraska. In fact, a boater license is not issued in the state and what many boaters refer to as a license is actually a Nebraska boater safety card.