Car seat laws in Nebraska are changing and it is important for residents to understand what these new changes mean. Beginning in January 2019, new booster seat laws will go into effect, which means that all parents and drivers should be aware of how these changes will influence their motor vehicle. Car seat requirements vary from state to state and those who live in or visit Nebraska will need to learn the specifics firsthand.

Parents of young children should also be aware of the types of car seats on the market and how each of these car seats is created for a particular age range. For instance, an infant car seat is manufactured to protect the most vulnerable parts of an infant during a car crash. To learn more about the different car seat options available on the market, as well as the new Nebraska laws, continue reading below.

What are the car seat laws in Nebraska?

Nebraska car seat safety is changing and new rules will be going into effect as of January 2019. These regulations are in place to keep minors safe and protect them more adequately in case of an auto accident. In the interim, the old car seat regulations are still in play. These laws, which will be effective until December 2018, include the following:

  • All children up to six years of age must be properly restrained in a federally approved child safety seat.
  • Children six through 18 years of age must ride secured in a seat belt or child safety seat.
  • Motor vehicle operators must transport all children securely in an appropriate child safety seat or seat belt.
  • Drivers and all front seat passengers are required to ride buckled up in a safety belt or child safety seat.

These above-mentioned laws are intended to be followed until the new Nebraska car seat laws go into effect. The new laws which will be strictly enforced in Nebraska are as follows:

  • All children up to eight years of age must be secured in a federally approved child safety seat.
  • Children must be in a rear facing car seat until two years of age or until they reach the height or weight limit by the seat manufacturer.
  • Children younger than eight years of age must ride in the back seat equipped with a seatbelt.
  • Children eight to 18 years of age must ride secured in a safety belt or booster seat.
  • Motor vehicle operators must transport all children securely in an appropriate child safety seat or seat belt.

Minors with a learner’s permit must adhere to the seat belt laws when operating a vehicle or risk receiving a traffic ticket. Accumulating points on a driver’s record can prevent first-time motorists from obtaining full driving credentials in the state.

Penalties for Violating Car Seat Regulations in Nebraska

Nebraska car seat rules are enforced so that children have the highest possible chance of survival in the event of a car crash. If a police officer in Nebraska finds a car seat safety violation, then the driver of the motor vehicle will be issued a $25 fine plus court costs. In addition, one point is assessed against the operator’s driving record. It is important for drivers to familiarize themselves with proper booster seat age requirements and weight guidelines in order to avoid unnecessary fees.

Types of Car Seats

A Nebraska car seat for a child can vary by need, depending on his or her age, weight and height. There are four kinds of child car seats available for purchase, including the rear-facing car seat, forward-facing seat, booster seat and safety belt. Depending on the age of the child the type of car seat needed will vary. However, most parents choose a convertible car seat option, which allows more than one type of car seat option in one. This is extremely helpful for parents who have fast-growing children who want to ensure their safety with each car ride.

When searching the best car seats on the market, find a seat that ranks highly with other parents. Additionally, search for the safest car seats which have been tested in extreme circumstances.

Some of the most highly ranked car seats in terms of safety include the following:

  • Safety 1st Grow and Go 3-in-1 Convertible Car Seat
  • Evenflo Chase LX Harness Booster Car Seat
  • Graco Wayz 3-in-1 Harness Booster Car Seat

Car Seat Installation Information

Not only should drivers familiarize themselves with Nebraska car seat weight guidelines and height recommendations, but installation is important too. If a baby car seat is not properly installed, then the overall advantages for safety will be less than impactful.

There are various Nebraska child safety seat inspection stations where drivers can find assistance with installation techniques with a certified and trained safety technician. Many of the inspection stations require scheduling an appointment, so make sure to verify in advance when the next opening for an inspection is. In order to find a list of inspection stations in Nebraska, parents can visit the Nebraska Department of Transportation website.

Last updated on Friday, November 9 2018.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!