Nevada Car Seat Laws
Nevada car seat laws should be understood by all parents with young children who take to the roads. Booster seat laws are intended to protect children of all ages in order to ensure optimal safety in the event of a car crash. Nevada laws are not optional, as they should be strictly enforced and can carry potential penalties for failure to comply.
There are different types of car seats to consider before making the purchase. Each car seat has various car safety seat guidelines to follow in terms of weight, age and height requirements. To learn more about the different types of car seats available on the market, as well as helpful installation techniques, continue reading below.
What are the car seat laws in Nevada?
Nevada car seat law states that any child younger than six years of age, weighing less than 60 pounds must be secured in a federally approved child safety system. Beyond this car seat safety law, Nevada also considers best practices for licensed drivers and parents to follow. These best practices include the following:
- Children should be kept in the back seat until at least 12 years of age
- A car seat should be selected based on a child’s age and size
- Never place a rear-facing car seat in front of an airbag
- Front and rear passengers should always wear a safety belt or be properly secured in a car seat
Penalties for Violating Car Seat Regulations in Nevada
Drivers who do not adhere to the booster seat requirements in Nevada will open themselves up to unnecessary traffic tickets and fines. Failure to follow car seat regulations can result in a fine of $50 to $500 for a first offense as well as the possibility of community service hours.
However, if a driver can furnish proof of acquisition of the proper child safety seat, then the charges may be dismissed. A Nevada police officer can pull over a vehicle for suspected non-use of a child car seat and issue a citation on the spot.
Types of Car Seats
There are various types of car seat options in Nevada to choose from, depending on a child’s age, height and weight. For example, a baby car seat will have guidelines for the weight and height maximum that a child can be in order to be able to ride in the seat safely. The four types of car seat options available include:
- Rear facing car seat – intended for children from birth up to three years of age, depending on the growth of the child
- Forward facing car seat – intended for children one to three years of age who meet the minimum height and weight requirements as per the seat manufacturer. Comes with a harness and tether.
- Booster seat – intended for children four to seven years of age who outgrow the harness and tether
- Safety belts – intended for children who outgrow the booster seat, generally eight to 12 years of age
The best car seats on the market tend to be the ones with the highest ratings in terms of reviews, but also safety. A few of the safest car seats available today are manufactured by brands such as Safety 1st, Evenflo, Graco Wayz, Britax, Cybes, Nuna and Maxi Cosi.
A convertible car seat is a convenient option, as it switches from front- to back-facing. You can also select a three-in-one car seat, which changes from an infant seat to toddler car seat and then to booster seat. It is important to update car seat restraints as children grow.
Car Seat Installation Information
Nevada car seat weight and height recommendations are in place so that each child can have an optimal chance for safety. However, the installation of a car seat is also equally important. According to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), seven out of ten child safety seats are not installed correctly, which means that the children are not receiving the best safety standards they can get.
The good news is, there are various inspection stations located throughout the state so that parents can have their safety seat verified by a certified professional. Parents should visit the Nevada DMV website for more information.
A few helpful car seat installation tips to know before beginning the process, including the following:
- Always read the car seat manufacturer’s manual
- Read the vehicle’s car safety seat instructions also
- Not all car seats fit in all vehicle so find a seat that can be installed properly specific to your vehicle
- Always keep abreast of the booster seat age, as seats expire with time
- The car seat should not more than one inch from side to side
- Rear-facing car seats should always be installed at the proper recline angle