A certificate of title issued by the state of Nevada is a document that proves legal ownership of a vehicle. A title must be obtained when an individual purchases a new vehicle. A title transfer must also be completed when a used vehicle is sold or gifted, or when a vehicle changes hands as a result of the death of the vehicle's owner.
OBTAINING A TITLE FOR A NEW VEHICLE:
For new vehicles, the licensed dealer that sold the vehicle typically will accept and submit the required titling information and fees on behalf of the buyer. However, buyers wishing to handle the titling independently can do so. Those interested in applying for a new title without the dealer's assistance should refer to the Buying a Vehicle - Nevada Dealer Sales and the Title and Registration Frequently Asked Questions documents on the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website.
TRANSFERRING A TITLE ON A USED VEHICLE:
Sale/Purchase or Gift of a Used Vehicle
When you purchase a used vehicle, or obtain one as a gift, the title must be legally transferred into your name. This is done by obtaining the following documents, and submitting them along with the appropriate fees to the DMV:
- The current title, with the assignment completed by the seller or donor (signing the title over to you), and notarized. The title must include the federal odometer disclosure, if the vehicle is less than nine years old.
- If the title does not indicate the date of sale and selling price, a completed Bill of Sale signed by both current and new owner, is required.
- If applicable, the original or copy of the vehicle's financing statement or security agreement.
- An Application for a Duplicate Title can be submitted, along with the Bill of Sale, in place of the original title if the vehicle was last titled in Nevada, has no lien, and is more than nine years old.
- A Nevada Vehicle Identification Certificate. completed at a DMV office or by a law enforcement officer is required for out-of-state vehicles.
Along with the appropriate transfer of title documents above, you will need to submit the following fees
- $20 title transfer fee.
- $8.25 title processing fee for new titles.
Please contact your local DMV office
for more information. Acceptable methods of payment
are credit or debit cards, personal checks, money orders or cash (do not send cash through the mail).
Transfer of Title Following Death of Vehicle Owner
In the event of the death of the vehicle owner, the title is often transferred to the heirs or someone else identified in the owner's will. The procedures and fees for this type of transfer are similar to those outlined above. In addition, it is important to determine how the estate of the deceased has been settled by the heir(s).
In some cases, the heirs may need to complete a Transfer on Death - Beneficiary's Affidavit for Title
form, and provide copies of both the death certificate and the will (or a notarized statement of its contents), if there is one.
For more information on title transfers following the death of a vehicle owner, refer to the Department of Motor Vehicles online
, contact the local DMV office
, or call (775) 684 4810.
Appropriate title transfer documents and fees should be submitted to the local DMV office
- Contact the local DMV office if you wish to add, remove or change a name on a vehicle title for reason other than those discussed above.
- If there is an existing lien on the vehicle, there will be additional requirements for transferring the title.
- A valid title provides proof of ownership of the vehicle. However, remember that a title transfer does not entitle the new owner(s) to legally operate the vehicle. For this, refer to the appropriate license and registration information.