Nevada Traffic Tickets
Law enforcement officers may issue Nevada traffic citations for a multitude of traffic misdemeanors. Motorists can decide to either dispute traffic tickets in NV or pay citations to settle their case.
Regardless of your action, you must respond to your ticket on time to avoid further penalties and adverse effects on your driving record. If you are wondering about how to resolve your ticket problems or answer to other types of citations, read the below sections.
Fighting a Nevada Ticket
The process of contesting a traffic ticket in Nevada is typically more complex as it may include several steps. In order to fight traffic citations, drivers are generally required to appear in court and enter a plea of “not guilty” on or before the appearance date as stated on the citation.
Some NV traffic violation courts allow motorists to enter their plea by phone or mail, depending on the county of residence. Drivers fighting traffic fines should then expect a pretrial conference or a trial date to be set. At pretrial conferences, licensees will meet with a state prosecutor and discuss resolution of their case.
Typically, drivers are asked to change their plea to guilty, thus earning a lighter sentence. Failure to reach an agreement may lead to a trial in court. When preparing a ticket defense, drivers will need to present evidence and may hire a traffic lawyer.
Specific courts may require motorists to post the allotted fines and fees for bail prior to the trial. In case the judge rules in their favor, the total amount will be refunded. Motorists can also hire a traffic attorney to help them with their cases.
Paying a Nevada Ticket
If you decide to submit NV traffic tickets payment and plead guilty to your violation, you must do so by the due date. Paying traffic tickets online is currently offered by most state courts. You may be able to provide payment for Nevada traffic fines in person, by mail or phone (depending on the presiding court) in case the online method is not available.
Lost Tickets in Nevada
Drivers must have the NV traffic ticket details in their possession to resolve their case properly. Important traffic citation information includes the ticket number, the date by which drivers must enter their plea, the total amount due and more.
If you wish to initiate a Nevada traffic ticket defense, or simply pay your fines but you have lost your ticket, contact the corresponding court (either a municipal or justice court) and inquire about these details. You may also visit their official website and check whether they offer an online case search provider.
Nevada Fines and Penalties
Motorists who choose to pay driving tickets in NV are generally required to submit their payment by the deadline listed on the issued citation. Nevada ticket violation payments may also vary based on the type of the offense and the corresponding court.
For instance, traffic fines set by the East Fork Justice Court in Douglas County range from $400 to $1000 for a first DUI offense, and $750 to $1000 for a second DUI misdemeanor. The fee for failure to provide vehicle insurance is in the amount of $740.
Additional fees and late fines may apply as well. Note that the exact amount due is typically listed on the citation. Keep in mind that driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol can incur greater penalties and result in license suspensions or revocation, depending on the severity of the violation.
Points in Nevada
If you are convicted of a traffic violation in Nevada by the court, a specific number of demerit points will be assigned to your driving record. More serious traffic violations, such as DUIs will not result in negative points.
In such cases, drivers will incur harsher penalties instead. The following list includes several violations that incur traffic fines in NV and their corresponding points:
- Driving too slowly – 2 points
- Following too closely – 4 points
- Careless driving – 6 points
- Reckless driving – 8 points
Drivers who have accrued between 3 and 11 points may earn a 3-point reduction by successfully completing an approved traffic school course (if eligible). The completion of such course may also be required as part of a plea-bargain agreement with the corresponding court.
How Tickets Affect a Nevada Drivers License
In addition to paying driving fines in NV, motorists with an issued traffic citation may face other penalties as well. If you fail to provide payment for your Nevada traffic ticket or appear in court, for instance, you may incur a suspension or revocation of your credential.
If you have been cited for several violations, thus amassing too many negative points on your driving record, the same penalties may apply. An automatic six-month suspension will occur if you receive 12 or more points within any 12-month period of time.
Though you may complete a defensive driving course to remove points from your report, convictions will remain part of your behind-the-wheel history.
Nevada Car Insurance Fines and Violations
If you are unable to challenge speeding tickets in NV or decide to plead guilty by paying traffic citations online or via other methods, you may be calculated higher car insurance premiums. Details pertaining to tickets are generally available to insurance companies, which may use them to raise insurance rates. Contact your coverage provider to inquire about the possibility of earning insurance discounts by graduating from an authorized traffic school.