The issuance of traffic tickets in West Virginia may influence motorists' driving privileges and their driving records. Drivers who received traffic tickets will be required to either fight them by pleading "not guilty" or submit traffic violation payments and admit their guilt. Drivers wondering, "How do you contest a speeding ticket in West Virginia?" are encouraged to continue reading the sections below:
- Fighting a West Virginia ticket.
- Paying a West Virginia ticket.
- Lost tickets in West Virginia.
- West Virginia fines and penalties.
- Points in West Virginia.
- How tickets affect a West Virginia driver's license.
- West Virginia car insurance fines and violations.
Fighting a West Virginia Ticket
Drivers holding WV traffic tickets may choose to fight them in court by pleading "not guilty" on the date written on the tickets. You can find this information written in the bottom of your citation. In addition, drivers who want to dispute traffic tickets may contact the proper court even before the due date. Failure to fight traffic citations in West Virginia will require you to pay the applicable driving fines and possible court fees.
Paying a West Virginia Ticket
Drivers who have received West Virginia traffic citations and who are guilty of charge may immediately submit ticket violation payments. In addition, paying driving fines will be also required from drivers who have fought their traffic citations and lost their trial. Drivers can pay driving tickets online, by mail or in person at the proper court. If you are wondering "How and where do I pay my speeding ticket in West Virginia?" visit the "How to Pay Traffic Tickets" page and find out more detailed information.
Lost Tickets in West Virginia
Losing West Virginia traffic citations may prevent drivers from contesting a traffic ticket and paying fines because you need the information from your ticket in order to settle your citation. Motorists who have misplaced their traffic citation need to contact the court that handles their case and inquire about lost information.
West Virginia Fines and Penalties
Failure to dismiss traffic tickets in West Virginia will require you to pay certain traffic fines and will bring you additional penalties. Drivers may receive either traffic or parking citations. The driving fines for moving violations may vary from $25 for not using a seat belt to $265 for driving without car insurance. The traffic fines for parking violations may range between $5 for expired meter and $105 for parking in a handicap zone. Drivers who fail to contest traffic tickets in front of a WV traffic violation court will receive penalties such as driver's license suspensions.
Points in West Virginia
Traffic tickets in West Virginia will bring you demerit points on your driving record. Accumulating a large number of negative points on your record can lead to more severe penalties such as driver's license suspensions. A varying number of points will be assessed for different traffic violations depending on their severity. Review the list below to find out different misdemeanors and their corresponding penalty points:
- Eluding a police officer - 8 points.
- Speeding in a school zone - 6 points.
- Careless/Reckless driving - 6 points.
- Driving too fast - 3 points.
- Improper turning - 2 points.
Accumulating too many traffic tickets in West Virginia will result in high number of negative points on your driving records, which will result in harsh penalties.
How Tickets Affect a West Virginia Drivers License
West Virginia traffic citations may have various effects on driver's licenses and their records. Accumulating too many traffic tickets will result in high number of demerit points on your driving record which will lead to a driver's license suspension. Motorists may be subject to a driving license suspension of 30 to 90 days if they amass 12 or more negative points on their report. If they accumulate 20 or more penalty points, their licenses will be suspended until the total point count is reduced to 11 or less. Drivers can dismiss traffic tickets in West Virginia by enrolling in a state-approved traffic school, thus preventing an accumulation of too many demerit points on their driving records.
West Virginia Car Insurance Fines and Violations
If you fail to beat a traffic citation in West Virginia, you may get higher car insurance premiums. In the case of several traffic tickets due to driving or non-driving infractions, insurers may consider you a risky driver and increase your rates. Motorists facing an increase in the insurance rates may complete a state-approved defensive driving course and get a discount. Drivers who provide a driving school certificate of completion may be considered eligible for a premium discount.