How to Order Your West Virginia Driving Record
A driving record is a detailed and comprehensive document issued by the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles for all residents who have a valid drivers license. Learn all about the type of information and various purposes a WV driving record holds by reading the sections below.
What is on my West Virginia driving record?
Depending on the type of driving record and where you purchase it, your West Virginia driving record may provide either a partial or complete outline of your personal WV driving history. If you order your driving record directly from the West Virginia DMV, it will contain:
- Driver’s personal information, such as:
- Drivers license number
- Status of the driver’s license (active, suspended, revoked or canceled)
- Drivers license expiration date
- Driving violation convictions
- Traffic accidents
- Demerit points for violations
- DUI reports
Did you know? Your personal driving history is a public record. Potential employers, insurance providers, and courts of law can all request a copy of your driving history.
What do points on my West Virginia driving record mean?
Points that appear on driving records issued by the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles reveal traffic convictions and their related number of demerit points. Accumulating 12 points or more on your driving history report will lead to your driving privileges being suspended by the DMV. Infractions and point values that can be found on a driving record from the West Virginia DMV include:
- Improper use of signal or no signal: 2 points
- Following too closely: 2 points
- Improper backing: 2 points
- Careless driving: 3 points
- Driving too fast for conditions: 3 points
- Failure to obey stop sign: 3 points
- Passing violation: 3 points
- Speeding: 3-6 points
- Hit & run: 6 points
- Speeding in a school zone: 6 points
- Fleeing from an officer: 6 points
If you have any incorrect information on your driving history report, fix them by contacting your local WV DMV office. In the event you are nearing a high total of points, then you are encouraged to enroll in traffic school to remove points from your record.
How do points against my West Virginia license affect me?
Points on your West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles driving record can cause you to have your drivers license suspended and may also result in higher insurance rates. Points and suspension periods in West Virginia are as follows:
- 12-13 points: 30-day suspension
- 14-15 points: 45-day suspension
- 16-17 points: 60-day suspension
- 18-19 points: 90-day suspension
- 20 points or more: Indefinite suspension
Points on your driving record can also prevent companies from hiring you due to safety precautions. If you are applying for a commercial driver position, from a delivery person to a truck driver, not having a clean driving history report can negatively affect your chances of getting hired.
How do I remove drivers license points from my West Virginia record?
West Virginia drivers can obtain a three-point reduction on their DMV driving record by completing an approved defensive driving course. Drivers may only participate in this program once every 12 months for point reduction purposes. Enrolling in traffic school can also qualify you for a reduction in your car insurance rates.
How long do points stay on my West Virginia driving record?
Points remain on your West Virginia DMV personal driving history for two years from the date of conviction. The infraction itself remains on your WV driving record for five years.
The only way to have points removed from your WV driving record is to enroll in a driver improvement course. It is recommended that you practice safe driving habits to help keep points off your personal driving record.
West Virginia DUI Records
A DUI record search is recommended for West Virginia drivers who have been convicted of driving under the influence. An official DUI arrest record may be required for court or to enroll in traffic school. Get your DUI record to verify that all of the information is accurate and up to date.
How do I know if my West Virginia driving license is suspended?
To find out if your drivers license has been suspended, order a copy of your driving record. A WV driving history report includes all the information about your suspension, including the reason and how long your driver’s license will be suspended for.
Previous Traffic Violations in West Virginia
Check driving record details to find out which traffic violations are on your personal driving history report. In West Virginia, traffic violations remain on your record for five years from the point of conviction. By obtaining a copy of your driving record, you can verify the information is accurate and up to date.
Why do I need a copy of my West Virginia driving record?
A West Virginia driving record contains detailed information about your personal driving history. Drivers are recommended to order a WV driving record when applying for a job as a commercial driver or to help lower your car insurance rates.
Check for Points in West Virginia
A list of traffic ticket points is included when you order a copy of your WV driving record from the Division of Motor Vehicles. Twelve points or more will result in a 30-day driver’s license suspension.
Thus, if you lost track of the number of points you have accumulated, order a copy of your driving record today. By checking how many points you received, you can enroll in traffic school to get some points dismissed, and even fix any mistakes that may appear.
Applying for a Commercial Driver Position in West Virginia
Having a clean driving record is vital in order to become a commercial vehicle operator in the state of West Virginia. Employers search for the most responsible drivers in order to ensure the safety of their company.
Purchase a copy of your WV driving record to see if there are any violations that you can remove from your record by attending a driver improvement course. It is also important to check that all information is accurate and up to date. If not, take the necessary steps to fix any mistakes before an interview.
Lower West Virginia Car Insurance Premiums
If your driving history includes various violations and/or accidents that you have been involved in, you can expect to receive higher insurance rates. Drivers can for lower insurance rates with coverage providers by ensuring their West Virginia driving record remains clean.
To find out what to expect when you apply for auto insurance in West Virginia, start by obtaining a copy of your driving history report.
Take West Virginia Traffic School to Prevent Points
Enrolling in traffic school can benefit drivers two different ways in West Virginia. The first benefit of completing a drivers ed course is that you may be able to receive a discounted auto insurance premium.
Completion of a state-approved traffic school course can also dismiss a traffic ticket, helping you to avoid points from accumulating on your WV driving history.
Why do employers check your West Virginia driving record?
Employers usually run thorough background checks on all potential employees. Violations such as DUI arrest records or hit-and-runs show up on a criminal background check, and can also be found on your WV DMV driving history. Any position requiring you to operate a vehicle will demand a background check and detailed look into your West Virginia driving record.
If you have suspensions or revocations on your WV driving record, they may affect your chances of getting hired. By obtaining a copy of your driving history report, you can be fully prepared during your application process.
Different Types of West Virginia Driving Records
The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles offers two types of driving records:
- Regular driving record
- Certified driving record
A WV driving record includes personal information such as your full name and address, drivers license number, license class, issue date and status, as well as information about your traffic convictions, citations, violations and point accumulation. A certified driving record is embossed and deemed accurate by a DMV representative.
How do I fix a mistake on a West Virginia drivers history report?
If you order a copy of your driving record and find that an error has been made, contact the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles. Provide as many details as possible to the proper representative to ensure that your request is fulfilled. In general, you are advised to keep all records of tickets and payments to help fix the mistake.
What is not included on my West Virginia driving record report?
Certain important pieces of your personal history are not included in your WV DMV driving record. DMV.com has taken the time to put together a list of resources that you can access for every job interview, car insurance application and more:
West Virginia Vehicle Registration History
If you need information about all of the vehicles that you have registered and owned throughout the years, then you may request a vehicle registration history report. This record features details of all vehicles you registered in West Virginia, including owners and length of registration periods. This may be necessary if you need to show proof of ownership or registration at any point in time.
Driving Record Fees in West Virginia
A driving record in West Virginia costs $7.50.