How to Take a Drivers Education Course in West Virginia
In West Virginia, drivers ed completion is not required to obtain a learner’s permit or a driver’s license. However, course completion can make it easier for teens who are under the age of 18 to obtain a driver’s license. Regardless of the lack of requirements, completing a course provides adults and teens with numerous benefits, including safe driving knowledge and skills, crash avoidance techniques and potential auto insurance discounts to reduce new driver premiums.
Drivers ed online is available in West Virginia, however, these classes are not recognized the state and can therefore not be used when obtaining a license. While some insurers will accept online course completion for auto insurance discounts, others may require a course to be completed in a classroom. To learn more about drivers education in West Virginia, review the sections that have been provided below.
Who needs to take drivers ed in West Virginia?
Drivers ed classes are not required in West Virginia when applying for a driver’s license or a learner’s permit. However, course completion can make it easier for teens to obtain their first driver’s license. In West Virginia, teens are required to either complete a minimum of 50 practice hours, including 10 nighttime driving hours, with a licensed parent or legal guardian or complete an educational course.
Types of Drivers Ed Classes in West Virginia
WV teen driving school is a viable option for obtaining a learner’s permit before the age of 18 within the state. Courses may be provided by participating in high school programs or through third-party providers that meet state minimum requirements.
Adult drivers ed may be available through select third parties. However, these programs are not required to meet the same curriculum requirements as course completion is not required for a license or learners permit.
While drivers ed online is available in West Virginia, it is important to understand that online courses cannot be used for the purpose of obtaining a teen driver’s license. Furthermore, some auto insurers will not accept course completion through an online provider if you are seeking an auto insurance discount.
What will you learn in a West Virginia drivers ed school?
A West Virginia driver education course will include both classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction. As part of the curriculum for the course, you can expect to learn:
- Safe driving knowledge and skills.
- Collision avoidance techniques.
- West Virginia traffic laws and regulations.
- The influence of alcohol and drugs on driving.
- WV auto insurance requirements.
West Virginia Drivers Education Requirements
To attend a drivers ed course in West Virginia, you must be at least 15 years of age and you must obtain a learner’s permit prior to the start date of the course in order to participate in behind-the-wheel instruction. If you are under the age of 18, you will also be required to obtain parental consent, unless you are married. Married teens are not required to obtain parental consent, but must instead provide a copy of their certified marriage certificates.
Benefits of a West Virginia Driver Education Course
WV drivers ed school offers a number of benefits to adults and teens who choose to participate, including:
- Teens will not be required to complete 50 hours of supervised driving with a parent.
- All participants will have the opportunity to learn safe driving knowledge and skills as well as collision avoidance techniques.
- A number of insurance agencies will provide auto insurance discounts for new driver premiums.
A great number of courses will also include an exam at the end of the course to test your knowledge on the course material that was covered throughout the class.
How to Enroll in a West Virginia Driver Ed School
In West Virginia, drivers education classes can be enrolled in by contacting the third party provider or high school that offers courses. In many cases, you can enroll in a course online, over the phone or in person.
West Virginia DMV Drivers Ed Certificates
After completing drivers ed in WV, you will receive a certificate that provides proof that you successfully passed the course. If you are under the age of 18 and would like to use your certificate to apply for a driver’s license, you must submit your certificate to the West Virginia DMV in person. If you are interested in obtaining car insurance discounts, you will likely also be required to submit your certificate to your auto insurer.
Drivers Ed for New West Virginia Residents
If you completed drivers education outside of West Virginia, you will need to contact your local DMV to inquire as to whether or not your completion certificate will be considered valid when applying for a driver’s license as a teen under the age of 18. Generally, certificates that are acquired outside of the state will still be considered valid when it comes to an auto insurer.
West Virginia Drivers Ed vs. Traffic School
West Virginia drivers ed classes are designed to teach new drivers how to operate a motor vehicle safely as well as familiarize these new drivers with West Virginia traffic laws and regulations. While not required by the state, this beginner course offers numerous benefits and teens who are under the age of 18 will have an easier time obtaining a WV driver’s license.
Traffic school, on the other hand, is completely separate from drivers education. Traffic school, also referred to as a defensive driving course, is designed to provide experienced drivers with a refresher on West Virginia traffic laws and safe driving practices.
West Virginia Driver Education Fees
West Virginia drivers ed prices will vary by provider. It is also worth knowing that, if your auto insurer will accept an online course, online courses are generally cheaper in comparison to classroom courses. Therefore, it is worth taking the time to review the providers in your area in order to determine which provider offers the best price.
- Graduated Driver's Licensing (GDL) from WV.gov
- Level 2 GDL Intermediate Driver’s license from WV.gov