SR-22 Insurance in West Virginia
While SR-22 rates are often higher than that of general insurance, it is often required within many states of the US after serious moving violations, insurance violations and may be required after the suspension of a driver’s license. Therefore, it is important to learn about this form of insurance as, when required, failing to obtain it can result in the suspension of a driver’s license and, at times, vehicle registration. The same can be said for any lapses or cancellations of the policy.
When determining how to get SR22 insurance, it is first important to understand that this form of insurance is not required within the state of West Virginia for any reason. However, should you move to a state that does have laws regarding this high-risk insurance, you may be required to obtain it for a violation that you committed in West Virginia.
What is West Virginia SR22 Insurance?
When determining who needs SR22 insurance, it is important to be aware that West Virginia does not require motorists to obtain this form of insurance. While many states have adopted this type of “high risk” insurance, West Virginia provides different penalties and legal consequences to moving and insurance violations.
In West Virginia, you are only required to obtain liability coverage that meets state minimums. Moreover, you must carry proof of insurance coverage and register your vehicle’s policy. While not an SR22 policy, you still must meet minimum coverage amounts, which are:
- $25,000 for one cash, one injury
- $50,000 for one crash, two or more injuries
- $25,000 property damage
Even though a SR22 form need not be completed, you must keep proof of insurance on your person whenever operating a motor vehicle. You must also submit to West Virginia’s online insurance verification program.
While SR22 insurance is not required in West Virginia, it is still important to learn what this form of insurance is in the event that you move to another state that will require it for a violation committed in West Virginia. This type of insurance is a “high risk” insurance that can be purchased through most auto insurance companies.
It is required for a set period of time after certain convictions and, sometimes, after a driver’s license has been suspended. Premium rates are often higher for this form of insurance, though it does not offer additional coverage.
Who Needs SR22 Insurance in West Virginia?
While SR-22 rates and requirements is an important subject that you should familiarize yourself with, it is equally important that you are aware of West Virginia law. West Virginia does not require this form of insurance for any reason. However, you may be required to obtain it should you move to another state within a certain period of time following a serious conviction or the suspension of a driver’s license.
Other states may require SR22 insurance if you are convicted of a serious insurance violation, such as being caught without proof of insurance or being part of an accident without any form of insurance. You may also be required to obtain this form of insurance after a serious moving violation, such as driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs or vehicular assault or homicide. Lastly, several states do require an insurance policy after a driver’s license has been suspended.
Reinstating Driving Privileges in West Virginia
While an SR22 form does not need to be completed in West Virginia in order to reinstate driving privileges, you will still need to meet other requirements. The requirements that must be met will depend on your conviction. For example, if you are convicted of a DUI, you will have a required incarceration period and revocation period that must be met before you can apply for a new license.
Additionally, you will have both court fines and reinstatement fees. Other states are similar in the way that they handle serious convictions, with one exception. An SR22 policy will also be required in many other states outside of West Virginia.
How to Get SR22 Insurance
You can obtain SR22 insurance quotes from an insurer that is licensed within the state that is requiring you obtain this form of insurance. Most insurance agencies will file with the state directly while other insurers may provide you with a completed form for you to submit. It is important to know that insurance rates will vary between insurers, so you can shop around for the best price.
Penalties for Not Filing an SR22 Form
If an SR22 form is required, the form must be submitted, and your driving record must be updated before you will be able to request the reinstatement of your driver’s license. Additionally, it is worth knowing that insurers are legally required to report any lapse or cancellation of your policy. If this happens, your driver’s license will be suspended again, requiring you to satisfy all reinstatement requirements before another license will be issued.