SR-22 Insurance in Vermont
Before learning how to get SR22 insurance in Vermont, it is important to learn who is required to obtain this type of insurance as well as filing requirements and what this high-risk insurance entails. SR-22 rates are often higher than normal liability insurance, but since it is required, then maintaining this form of insurance is the only way that you can retain your driving privileges. Failing to obtain SR22 when required to do so, or canceling your insurance policy prematurely, will result in the suspension of your driver’s license. Consequently, a new license will not be issued until you have gained a policy.
Essentially, a SR22 form is the state’s way of monitoring your insurance and making sure that you are compliant with Vermont state law regarding insurance coverage. Therefore, your insurer will be responsible for reporting any lapses in your coverage or the complete cancellation of your policy immediately following the occurrence.
What is Vermont SR22 Insurance?
SR-22 rates are generally more expensive as opposed to general auto insurance due to the fact that motorists who are required to obtain this form of insurance are considered “high risk.” Therefore, this form of insurance is also commonly referred to as “high-risk insurance.” This insurance is required even if you do not own a vehicle, in which case you would need to obtain a non-owner policy.
An SR-22 form is filed by an insurance agency in order to provide the state with proof of your financial responsibility. Like any other form of auto insurance, it must meet state minimum liability requirements. Those requirements include:
- $25,000 per person minimum
- $50,000 per accident minimum
- $10,000 property damage minimum
SR22 insurance must be maintained for a three-year period. It is worth knowing that your insurance agency will report any changes to your policy, including a lapse in your policy and the cancellation of your policy, to the Vermont DMV.
Who Needs SR22 Insurance in Vermont?
It is important to be aware of who needs SR22 insurance in order to be better prepared for certain convictions that may result in a high-risk insurance requirement. If you are convicted of an insurance violation, you will automatically be required to obtain this form of insurance. An insurance violation refers to being caught driving without auto insurance that meets Vermont state minimums as well as if you are in an at-fault accident and you do not have valid insurance.
An SR22 form is also required for certain moving violations, such as the conviction of a DUI or DWI. You may also be required to file for high-risk insurance if your license is suspended or if you have several repeat traffic offenses within a short period of time.
Reinstating Driving Privileges with SR22 in Vermont
SR22 may be required as part of the reinstatement of your driver’s license, depending on your conviction. Serious offenses such as driving under the influence, vehicular manslaughter and reckless driving generally result in having to obtain high-risk insurance as part of your reinstatement.
If required to obtain SR22 insurance, your insurance agency must file with the Vermont DMV prior to your attempt to reinstate your driver’s license. Other common requirements for a driver’s license reinstatement include:
- Satisfying any and all court requirements.
- Retaking and successfully passing knowledge tests and/or driving skill exams.
- Paying a reinstatement fee.
- Obtaining medical clearance.
- Completing alcohol courses, as ordered by the courts.
Remember, if an SR22 form is required, you must maintain your insurance for three years in order to avoid further drivers license suspensions and additional fines.
How to Get SR22 Insurance in Vermont
SR22 insurance quotes can be found through most motor insurance agencies that are certified to do business within the state. Once you have selected an insurance agency, you must notify the agency of your insurance requirement.
An SR22 form must be written through an insurance company and before filed. If you are temporarily out of state, your insurance company can provide the Vermont DMV with your proof of insurance on your behalf.
Penalties for Not Filing an SR22 Form in Vermont
Despite SR-22 rates, it is important that you file for high-risk insurance immediately after being required by the state. Failing to do so will likely result in the suspension of both your driver’s license and your vehicle’s registration. If a suspension occurs, you will be required to pay additional reinstatement fines before a new license or registration will be issued. In cases where your driver’s license was already suspended or revoked, a new license cannot be issued until you provide proof of financial responsibility.
You must maintain SR22 insurance for the entire three-year period in order to maintain your driving privileges, even if you no longer own a motor vehicle. If you change your insurance provider within the three years, the new provider must file immediately after providing you a policy. Your previous insurance provider will inform the DMV of any lapses or cancellations of your high-risk insurance policy. If you do have a lapse in coverage, your license will be suspended immediately.
When determining how long an SR22 policy must be kept, it is important to determine when the suspension period of your offense ended. For example, if you were issued a ticket for a DWI on 02/01/2010 and you received a 90-day suspension that ended on 05/31/2010 — you will be required to maintain your insurance for three years from 05/31/2010.