Fight Your Ticket Online
Start Fighting Your Ticket
97% Success Rate - WIN or it's FREE - No Going To Court
- Fill out the form below
- Snap a photo of your ticket
- Get matched with a top attorney
Drivers who received a traffic ticket in Vermont will be required to settle their case within 20 days to avoid additional fees and penalties. Motorists must answer to their VT traffic citation by entering a plea of admitted, no contest or denied. Depending on whether drivers decide to fight traffic tickets or pay driving fines, the consequences will be different.
Fighting a Vermont Ticket
Drivers who are interested in contesting a traffic ticket in VT must enter their plea of "denied" within 20 days upon receipt of their citation. To initiate the procedure of fighting traffic citations, motorists are required to state "denied" on the issued ticket, sign the citation and submit the form to the state Judicial Bureau either in person or via mail. Drivers who choose to dispute traffic fines in Vermont will then receive a notice of hearing, stating the exact date, time and location. At the hearing, be prepared to face the law enforcement officer who issued the complaint citation. For a successful traffic ticket defense, you may need to hire a lawyer at your own expense. This is relatively simple, as qualified lawyers can be found online simply by submitting an image of your ticket and answering a few related questions. Also, make sure to gather all credible evidence or contact any witnesses to testify on your behalf. You will not be required to arrange ticket violation payment if the judge rules in your favor. In addition to this, you will avoid accumulation of demerit points on your driving transcript.
Note: Drivers with a VT traffic citation due to a no-insurance offense may contact the police officer who issued the ticket and provide proof of vehicle insurance prior to appearing in court.
Paying a Vermont Ticket
Should you choose to pay speeding tickets in Vermont or other types of citations, you admit your guilt to the offense in question. To initiate the VT traffic tickets payment process, you must mark your plea as "admitted" or "no contest", sign the form and submit it along with the allotted fine to the Vermont Judicial Bureau. Note that you have the option to pay traffic fines online, in person or via mail. For more details about how to pay a traffic citation in VT, visit the "How to Pay Traffic Tickets" page.
Lost Tickets in Vermont
VT traffic citations generally include important details such as the ticket number, payment information, as well as the deadline to enter a plea. Drivers may not be able to beat a traffic ticket or successfully provide their waiver amount or traffic fine without the aforementioned information. Motorists who have misplaced their traffic ticket may contact the Vermont Judicial Bureau and inquire about lost information. Another option is to contact the corresponding police department and ask for a copy of the complaint ticket.
Vermont Fines and Penalties
If you are not able to challenge speeding tickets in Vermont or you admit that you have committed an offense, you will be required to pay the fines associated with your citation. VT traffic fines, which are also referred to as waiver penalties, generally vary based on the type of the offense. For instance, a $220 fee may apply for following too closely, a $335 for failure to obey a police officer or $249 for passing a school bus. Additional traffic citation surcharges which also differ depending on the infraction may be assigned as well. If you fail to answer to your traffic ticket in by the due date then you will face an extra assessment fee in addition to the waiver fine. Consult your ticket for the exact amount due. If you do not wish to deal with fines and penalties at all, your only option is to attempt to challenge the traffic ticket. You may do so by pleading not guilty and seeking legal representation. You can find experienced legal representatives easily and conveniently online.
Note: If you are unable to provide the total amount of your VT traffic tickets payment, you may request an extension of time to pay.
Points in Vermont
An unsuccessful Vermont traffic ticket defense or a voluntary admission of guilt will result in demerit points on your driving record. Each time you are convicted of a traffic violation in Vermont, a specific number of driving points is placed against your report. Review several traffic violations and the points attached to each in the following list:
- Speeding - 2 to 8 points.
- Texting while operating - 2 to 5 points.
- Driving without a valid credential - 2 points.
- Failure to stop for a stop sign/red light - 2 points.
- Failure to obey a law enforcement officer - 4 points.
Note: The accumulation of too many negative points within a specific period of time will result in harsh penalties.
How Tickets Affect a Vermont Drivers License
In addition to paying driving fines in VT, violations of state motor vehicle laws will also have an adverse effect on your licensure. If you have received several traffic citations resulting in 10 or more negative points posted to your driving record within a period of two years, you will incur a driving license suspension. Certain Vermont traffic violations, including parking and defective equipment offenses do not result in penalty points. Though drivers may not be able to dismiss traffic tickets in Vermont or reduce the number of points by completing a defensive driving course, the presiding court may still impose such action as a requirement to settle their case. Consult your ticket or contact the corresponding court for more details.
Vermont Car Insurance Fines and Violations
If you fail to beat a traffic citation in VT, you are more likely to have your auto insurance premiums raised. In general, insurance companies utilize the information displayed on driving records when calculating coverage rates. In case of several traffic tickets due to driving or non-driving infractions, insurers may consider you a risky driver and increase your rates. Contact your insurance company to check whether you can earn an insurance discount by graduating from a traffic school.