How to Reinstate Your Suspended Drivers License in Vermont
Following a Vermont driving license suspension or revocation, drivers license restoration is required for drivers to regain their driving privileges. Drivers license suspension and revocation issues are handled by the VT Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) under the Agency of Transportation. Reinstating drivers license privileges requires a driver to complete the period of suspension or revocation and comply with the stipulations set forth by state law.
Requirements vary and are determined by the type of suspension or reasons why a license was revoked. To learn more about the requirements and procedures for reinstating suspended drivers licenses in VT, read the following sections outlined below.
Reinstating a Vermont Suspended License
Drivers can check drivers license suspension status by reviewing their VT driving records to determine if they need to take steps to regain motor vehicle privileges. Vermont drivers license suspensions are categorized by a reference code system set forth by state law that labels offenses by groupings that range from A to Z.
For example, all offenses related to drug and alcohol convictions are codified with the letter A followed by a number to differentiate the specific violation. To reinstate drivers license privileges, each suspension offense requires different conditions be met.
How to Reinstate a VT Suspended Drivers License
While each Vermont suspended drivers license reinstatement process has different conditions, many have common requirements that drivers need to complete before a license can be restored. Drivers license reinstatement may require proof of insurance and/or an SR 22 certificate, medical clearance, completion of an alcohol course that is court-ordered, payment of fees, satisfaction of court requirements and retaking a driving skills and knowledge exam with a passing score.
Suspension Periods in Vermont
VT drivers can receive a suspended drivers license status for various types of offenses, each with its own penalty duration. A drivers license suspension for minors who misrepresent their age on an identification card for the acquisition of alcohol will last 90 days for the first offense. Accumulation of 10 or more points on a driving record within two years will result in a suspension ranging from one month to more than one year.
A Vermont suspended driving license for a DUI charge will last for six months for a first offense and 18 months for a second offense. For the offense of driving while uninsured, a motorist’s license will be suspended or revoked until proof of financial responsibility is provided to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. Drivers license suspension and revocation duration is determined by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles in cases of drunken driving, as well as reinstatement conditions.
A revoked drivers license will result from the circumstance of a habitual violator, which is defined as a motorist who is convicted of eight or more moving violations that produce six or more points on a drivers record within five years. The revocation period for a habitual violator is two years.
Furthermore, be mindful that Vermont is one of the participating states in the Nonresident Violator Compact, which dictates that out-of-state drivers will be subject to the traffic laws of the state of VT. A revoked driving license or suspended license can ensue in a driver’s home state if he or she fails to comply with Vermont’s stipulations concerning a traffic offense.
Vermont Point System
VT drivers license points are assessed when motorists engage in unsafe driving behaviors and commit traffic violations. An accumulation of 10 or more points in a two-year period results in a suspension of driving privileges and can lead to revocation as well. Points on license history are added through a system of set values for each violation, ranging from two to 10. Below are a few examples of moving violations that can accrue points:
- Making an illegal turn at an intersection – 2 points.
- Following a car too closely or “tailgating” – 3 points.
- Failing to yield to pedestrians – 4 points.
- Driving while texting – 5 points.
- Driving more than 30 miles over the posted speed limit – 8 points.
- Attempting to elude law enforcement – 10 points.
Reviewing the VT traffic point system can help a motorist determine if he or she is at risk of license suspension or revocation.
Traffic School in Vermont
A driving license suspension or revocation may require you take a traffic school course due to a court mandate. As a resident of the state of VT, you have the option to take a driving course online to satisfy the requirements of license restoration. Enrolling in VT driving school also affords you the opportunity to display a sense of responsibility and enhance your driving ability so as to avoid future repercussions and traffic violations.
A suspended driving license can lead to higher insurance rates, therefore it would benefit you to take a defensive driving course in Vermont, as to avoid the increase in premium from the violation on record. Upon completion, a driving school certificate will be issued for you to use as proof of enrollment and passing the course.
When recommended by the court to take a driver retraining course for committing traffic violations, it is up to the discretion of the presiding judge whether or not to follow through with penalties or dismiss incurred costs.
Participating in traffic school may not dismiss a ticket or moving violation from your record, therefore penalties incurred from a traffic ticket might still need to be paid. Completion of VT driving school may not help driving license reinstatement in the case of suspension or revocation due to a DUI or DWI.
Types of Vermont Driver’s License Suspensions
A VT suspended drivers license can result from a number of different traffic and non/traffic-related violations. An accumulation of 10 or more points automatically leads to suspension. The types of violations that assess points on a VT driver’s record are following too closely, failure to obey traffic signals, texting while driving and speeding.
A drivers license suspension can ensue when a motorist attempts to evade the police, as such a violation is worth an immediate 10 points on a driving record. Vermont motorists can experience a suspended driving license from the most common types of violations below:
- Driving under the influence with a specified BAC level.
- Hit and run with varying degrees of damage.
- Leaving the scene of an accident before the police arrive.
- Providing false information on an ID card.
- Failure to meet financial responsibilities.
- Reckless driving.
- Habitual traffic offender.
A VT revoked drivers license can follow if a motorist is driving with a suspended license and is stopped by the police. Multiple driving license suspensions also may lead to revocation or added time to the suspension. Failure to meet financial responsibilities is classified as a refusal to pay child support, not paying a ticket for a traffic citation and driving without insurance and proof of economic means, among other examples.
Vermont DUI Suspensions
Being charged with a DUI leads to drivers license suspension or revocation in the state of Vermont. State law sets a limit to the blood alcohol content (BAC) level at 0.08 percent for drivers over the age of 21, at 0.02 percent for drivers under the age of 21 and at 0.04 percent for commercial drivers.
Drivers at least 21 years of age will have suspended driving license privileges for six months in the event of a first offense DUI charge. A second offense leads to driving license suspension of 18 months. Three DUI offenses may result in loss of driving privileges for life. VT revoked driving license privileges of one year are caused by four or more DUI offenses, as motorists who commit the violation multiple times are considered aggravated offenders.
All levels of a DUI traffic violation require a motorist to attend an alcohol and drug rehabilitation program. To reinstate revoked drivers license privileges resulting from refusal to take a breathalyzer test, a motorist must at least complete the six month revocation period. VT participates in the law of implied consent, therefore refusal to take a test will lead to automatic revocation.
Vermont Hardship Drivers License
A Vermont provisional drivers license intended for work or hardship is not provided by VT law. For non-DUI suspended drivers licenses, the state offers the Driving with License Suspended (DLS) Program. The program is designed to help drivers restore driving privileges while paying off fees and fines incurred from committing traffic violations. Reinstating drivers license privileges through the DLS program is made possible because of a court-approved contract that allows the driver to meet suspension requirements that lead to restoration.
Motorists with a DUI conviction can apply for provisional driving license privileges in the form of an ignition interlock device restricted license (RDL). Participating in the ignition interlock program grants a driver a temporary restoration with stipulations set forth by Vermont law.
Applying for the VT DLS Program or an RDL
If driving with a suspended license in Vermont is your plan, then you must first apply for the DLS program so as not to incur further repercussions. Eligibility is determined by a driver’s compliance with the suspension requirements, which include not serving for a DUI-related charge.
Drivers wishing to reinstate suspended drivers license privileges must meet with a Diversion staff member and examine the reason for suspension, review the motorist’s financial circumstances, go over the steps necessary for restoration and the facilitate a payment plan for administrative penalties.
Reinstating a drivers license through the DLS program requires the motorist to pay the $300 program fee, with a down payment of $25, as well as submit a financial proclamation outlining the individual’s income and bills and attend follow up meetings. Vermont drivers license reinstatement plans may include agreeing to conditions such as participating in community service.
For provisional driving license privileges granted through an RDL, VT motorists must not currently hold suspension status for driving under the influence of drugs, hold a learner’s permit, have a Junior Driver’s License or be under suspension for a non-DUI-related offense. If eligible for conditional Vermont drivers license reinstatement, motorists must pay the restoration fee and provide proof of insurance and installation of an IID. Rental cars without an ignition interlock device (IID) do not qualify for permitted vehicles a driver with an RDL can operate during his or her suspension.
Throughout the duration of drivers license suspension, a motorist with an RDL must renew his or her provisional license annually. A 30-day notice will be sent to the motorist prior to an RDL’s expiration date along with the renewal application. The provisional license application for RDL renewal and appropriate fee must be returned to the DMV within the set time, otherwise, a suspension is placed on the driver’s license and will remain until the application and reinstatement fee are provided.
Fees to Reinstate a Vermont Drivers License
A driving license reinstatement process costs $82 and can be submitted online. Traffic tickets associated with a VT suspended drivers license must also be paid prior to restoration of driving privileges and can be paid through the Vermont Judicial Bureau.
If participating in the driving with license suspended (DLS) program, motorists must make a $25 down payment for the $300 program fee. Each individual’s financial situation is taken into consideration when participating in the program. Drivers license reinstatement for a suspension incurred by a DUI charge costs $40.
Drivers License Reinstatement Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Drivers License Suspensions from Vermont.gov