How to Reinstate Your Suspended Drivers License in North Dakota
Drivers license suspensions in North Dakota occur as a result of failing to obey state road rules and regulations when operating motor vehicles. The ND Department of Transportation (DOT) issues suspended or revoked drivers licenses for driving and non-driving-related reasons. Drivers can reinstate their credentials after fulfilling a set list of requirements.
The steps to reinstate suspended drivers licenses may vary depending on the offenses committed and on the gravity of the violation. If you want to find out the step-by-step procedure for reinstating driving licenses in North Dakota, continue reading the sections below.
Reinstating a North Dakota Suspended License
Motorists need to reinstate suspended drivers licenses in North Dakota in order to regain their driving privileges for operating motor vehicles on public roads within the state. The ND DOT may issue drivers license suspensions as a result of a variety of reasons, such as:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Accumulation of a large number of demerit points
- Refusal to submit to a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) test
- Violation of car insurance laws
- Conclusion that the driver is not medically fit to operate a motor vehicle
How to Reinstate a North Dakota Suspended Drivers License
A suspended or revoked drivers license in North Dakota may be reinstated by completing certain requirements that vary depending on the type of offense drivers have committed. When reinstating suspended drivers licenses in ND, applicants may be required to satisfy certain court requirements, such as completion of an alcohol education program or retake the DMV written and skills tests.
In addition, drivers may also need to submit proof of car insurance and payment for the applicable drivers license reinstatement fees to the ND Department of Transportation. In order to reinstate driving licenses in North Dakota, applicants must find out the requirements that apply to their specific situation.
Suspension Periods in North Dakota
Before applying for a drivers license restoration in North Dakota, motorists may need to complete the required suspension period. The duration of your ND drivers license suspension period may vary depending on the type of violation you have committed and the previous number of offenses. The periods of holding suspended drivers licenses as a result of a DUI offense with a BAC level between .08 and .17 percent, are the following:
- A 91-day suspension for first DUI offense.
- 365-day suspension for second DUI offense.
- Two-year suspension for a third or subsequent DUI offense.
Moreover, DUI offenses that were committed with a BAC level of .18 percent or higher, will bring to drivers a 180-day drivers license suspension for a first DUI offense, a two-year suspension for a second DUI offense or a three-year suspension for a third DUI offense.
North Dakota Point System
North Dakota drivers license suspensions or revocations may happen as a result of accumulating too many demerit points on a driving record. The state Department of Transportation (DOT) has a point system which lists the number of demerit points for each traffic violation or offense.
Motorists may get ND suspended drivers licenses for accumulating 12 or more points on their driving records. Every point gained over 11 points will suspend driver’s credential for a period of seven days. Below is an outline of the violations that may bring you the highest number of demerit points:
- Running away from a police officer in a motor vehicle – 24 points.
- Leaving the scene of an accident which resulted in injury or death – 18 points.
- Leaving the scene of an accident which resulted in property damage – 14 points.
- Aggravated reckless driving – 12 points.
- Racing with a motor vehicle – 10 points.
- Reckless driving – 8 points.
- Careless driving, overtaking a school bus, or failing to report an accident: 6 points.
There are other minor traffic violations that may bring you between one and four demerit points on your driving record. In addition, speeding over the limit may bring you from zero to 15 demerit points, depending on the speed used for operating a motor vehicle. Avoid a drivers license suspension in North Dakota by taking care of the number of demerit points you have accumulated on your driving record.
Traffic School in North Dakota
Drivers holding suspended driving licenses in North Dakota may enroll in state-approved defensive driving schools to avoid accumulating demerit points on their ND driving records, or to earn car insurance discounts. Motorists may be required by a court order to attend traffic school, or they can voluntarily enroll for the purpose of becoming better traffic participants. The traffic school program can help drivers avoid a drivers license suspension by lowering three demerit points once a year, even though it cannot remove them completely.
Types of North Dakota Drivers License Suspensions
Motorists may face revoked or suspended drivers licenses in North Dakota due to a variety of traffic violations or offenses. The ND Department of Transportation may issue drivers license suspensions as a result of:
- Driving under the influence (DUI).
- Accumulation of large number of demerit points.
- Refusal to submit to a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) test.
- Violation of car insurance laws.
- The conclusion that the driver is not medically fit to operate a motor vehicle.
North Dakota DUI Suspensions
An immediate drivers license suspension in North Dakota will be issued to drivers who are found driving under the influence. The ND implied consent law requires drivers to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test, if asked by a law enforcement official. The Department of Transportation issues suspended driving licenses to drivers who commit DUI offenses, or who fail or refuse to submit to a BAC test.
Failing a BAC test has to do with the alcohol content you have in your blood while driving a motor vehicle. Moreover, drivers may get revoked driving licenses if they refuse to submit to a BAC test. The revocation periods may vary between 180 days to three years.
Older Than 21
North Dakota drivers license suspensions will be issued to drivers older than 21 years of age who have submitted to a BAC test and shown results above the limit. Adult drivers are not allowed to operate their motor vehicles with alcohol limit above 0.08 percent.
Younger Than 21
Suspended drivers licenses are issued to drivers younger than 21 years of age who have failed a BAC test and have shown an alcohol level of 0.02 percent or more. North Dakota has a zero tolerance law for drivers younger than 21 years of age who have a BAC result of 0.02 percent or more.
Car Insurance Suspensions
Suspended drivers licenses in North Dakota may be issued to drivers who violate the car insurance laws. North Dakota requires drivers to purchase and maintain a minimum liability car insurance: $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, $25,000 for property damage.
If you fail to maintain car insurance for your motor vehicle, you will have to pay a fine. Moreover, if you participate in a traffic accident and you have no car insurance, you will get 14 demerit points on your record. North Dakota DOT issues drivers license suspensions to motorists who have collected 14 demerit points on their driving records.
Traffic Summons or Failure to Pay
Drivers license suspensions in North Dakota may happen as a result of many traffic violations and offenses. Receiving a traffic ticket in ND requires drivers to either plead non-guilty or plead guilty and pay the citation.
Regardless of the situation, drivers must respond to traffic summons in front of a local county court. Paying a traffic ticket may bring you a high number of demerit points on your driving record. ND suspended drivers licenses may happen as a result of accumulating too many demerit points.
North Dakota Hardship Drivers License
Drivers holding suspended driving licenses in North Dakota are not permitted to operate motor vehicle on state roads. However, before reinstating suspended drivers licenses, motorists may be able to apply for a hardship credential, which is known as an ND Temporary Restricted License (TRL). A temporary restricted license in North Dakota is issued by the state Department of Transportation for the purpose of operating a motor vehicle to work, school or for other crucial life necessities.
Drivers who want to apply for a hardship credential can do so only if they fulfill certain requirements. The applicant for a TRL license must be at least 18 years of age and have not had any previous convictions for violating restrictions, or do not have two or more criminal convictions and have not been violation free for one year. A temporary restricted license will also not be issued to a CDL driver, or to a motorist who has second alcohol offense within a period of five years.
Applying for a North Dakota Hardship License
Drivers with suspended or revoked drivers licenses in North Dakota may apply for a hardship credential, if eligible. They need to complete a Temporary Restricted License Request form and follow the instructions given. Part of the application form offers to update of your address, employment or additional job.
Once the form is completed, drivers need to pay the driving license reinstatement fees and mail or email the documentation to a local ND DOT office. After that, the Department of Transportation has to determine the validity of the information found on the application form and issue temporary restricted credentials to eligible drivers who are holding ND suspended driving licenses.
Note: The North Dakota DOT offers hardship licenses to drivers older than 18 years of age who hold either a Class D or a Class M license.
Fees to Reinstate a North Dakota Drivers License
When applying for a North Dakota drivers license reinstatement procedure, motorists must pay certain applicable fees to the state Department of Transportation. The cost for a drivers license restoration may vary depending on the specific suspension or revocation. For instance, drivers may need to pay the following:
- $25 fee for failure to file a medical and a visual report, failure to meet medical and visual requirements, failure to take or pass tests.
- $50 fee for failure to maintain or provide proof of car insurance, failure to pay child support, failure to pay fines, failure to appear, for the accumulation of over 12 demerit points or for driving with a suspended license.
- $100 fee for BAC results above the limits, for physical control, for implied consent, for refusal of a BAC test, for driving with a revoked license.
Drivers may pay their ND driving license reinstatement fees online, by phone and by mail. When paying online or by phone, drivers need to pay the full amount using a credit or a debit card. However, when motorists decide to pay by mail, they need to send a check or money order to the ND DOT.