Custom Car Registration in North Dakota
Applying for a custom or antique vehicle registration in North Dakota are procedures that must be completed by owners of these special types of motor vehicles in order to avoid violating the applicable state laws. Applicants can obtain antique and custom car registration documents through the state Department of Transportation (DOT).
Note that both the procedure to register a custom car and the process of registering a vintage car follow different steps than those in the standard car registration procedure. Learn how to obtain a custom or antique car registration in ND by reading the sections below.
Definition of a Custom or Antique Vehicle in North Dakota
Car owners must review the North Dakota historic vehicle registration laws and the regulations related to registering custom car projects prior to undergoing either procedure. Under the current state code, vintage or antique license plates are only issued for vehicles that are at least 40 years old.
Also, these vehicles must not be used for common business operations. Similar to vintage car tags, the state DOT also issues collector license plates for vehicles that are at least 25 years old and used as collector’s items. These vehicles can only be driven to and from car shows, rallies, parades or other similar gatherings.
Custom vehicle registrations, on the other hand, are available for vehicles that were altered and rebuilt by adding, removing or substituting certain components. Under state law, this type of vehicle is termed as a rebuilt or reconstructed vehicle.
Steps in the North Dakota Registration Process
In order to successfully register custom vehicles in North Dakota or obtain an antique auto registration and license plates, applicants will be required to complete several steps, such as submitting certain documents and paying the applicable fees.
Note that the process of registering a vintage vehicle in ND differs from the procedure to request a registration for a reconstructed vehicle. For instance, to obtain antique vehicle tags and register your historic car, you will be required to complete the following steps:
- Complete and submit the Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a Vehicle (Form SFN 2872) through a corresponding DOT office.
- Fill out the Personalized/Special Plate Request (Form SFN 53612) to choose a plate combination of seven characters if not applying for the standard plates.
- Submit the SFN 16783 Affidavit of Use for a Collector Motor Vehicle (if applying for collector license plates).
- Arrange payment for the applicable registration fees.
Unlike the process of obtaining a custom or historic vehicle registration in ND, owners of rebuilt or reconstructed vehicles will be required to complete additional steps when registering their cars. Applicants for custom auto registrations will first be required to submit their rebuilt vehicle to an inspection conducted by a state-approved business.
After verifying that the vehicle abides by the state regulations, the inspector must fill out the Certificate of Vehicle Inspection (Form SFN 2486) and submit it to the state DOT.
Then, to obtain a registration for custom vehicles in ND, car owners will be required to submit the car titles and/or bills of sale for the vehicle’s major components along with the SFN 2872 form and the fee payment.
Fees to Register a Custom or Antique Vehicle in North Dakota
Applicants for custom or vintage vehicle registrations in North Dakota will successfully finalize the corresponding procedure only after providing payment for the applicable registration fees.
The total cost will differ based on whether you are ordering antique license plates or, in fact, registering a custom car in ND, as well as the number of steps you must complete in the registration process. For instance, if you have to apply for a vehicle title prior to requesting a custom car registration, you will be required to pay the title fee of $5 as well as the due motor vehicle excise tax in addition to the standard registration fees.
When applying for ND historic car tags, on the other hand, you will be asked to arrange payment of $10 fee for standard antique DMV license plates or $60 for standard collector plates.
Personalized plates of both types, however, currently cost $100. Note that North Dakota vintage car tags do not have to be renewed. Therefore, you will be required to complete the car registration renewal procedure only if you own a standard passenger vehicle within the state.