Get your free quote

Do you currently have auto insurance?:

Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

In seconds

  • Save up to $415 on your Auto Insurance
  • Apply online
  • 100% free
Image

All resident riders in North Dakota must obey the state’s financial responsibility laws. They are obliged to register and insure their motorcycles before taking them on the road. To meet the state requirements most of them opt for liability insurance.

Two-Wheeled Vehicles

North Dakota defines two-wheeled vehicle the following way:

  • Every motor vehicle with a seat/saddle for the rider and designed to travel on not more than three wheels (excluding farming equipment) is defined as a motorcycle.

All resident riders in North Dakota must obey the state’s financial responsibility laws. They are obliged to register and insure their motorcycles before taking them on the road. To meet the state requirements most of them opt for liability insurance.

If you have doubts whether your cycle requires registration and insurance coverage, call the Department of Transportation at (701) 328-2725.

Motorcycle Insurance Requirements

Here are the minimum requirements you must carry in this state:

  • $25,000 per accident for property damage.
  • $25,000 per person.
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury.

Know that you can maximize your protection through a variety of ways, including taking out different types of insurance coverage. Check the form you see at the top of the page. You can get insurance by using it and also save on motorcycle insurance for the future.

Helmet Requirements

Don’t think that you will get insurance discounts for wearing a helmet. North Dakota law requires only riders younger than 18 to wear helmets while riding. Those older than 18 can decide for themselves, whether they want to don helmets or not.

Financial Responsibility

You have three insurance options to choose from, and they are listed below:

  • Self-insurance coverage. However, to qualify for this you must have at least 26 cars registered under your name.
  • Liability insurance.
  • Insuring yourself under the North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan. Call (877) 251-3200 for more information.

Proof of Insurance

These are considered as acceptable proof of insurance:

  • An insurance identification card, issued by your insurance company.
  • A letter or certificate proving self-insurance.
  • A letter or certificate proving you’re covered under the North Dakota Automobile *Insurance Plan.

Penalties

In the state of North Dakota riding without proof of insurance is considered a Class B misdemeanor. Here are the penalties for that:

  • A minimum fine of $150.
  • The impounding of your motorcycle, if caught a second or subsequent time riding without insurance.
  • License suspension if you are involved in an accident without having insurance.
Last updated on Wednesday, March 13 2019.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!