Motorcycle Insurance in Oklahoma
Most Oklahoma residents choose liability insurance as a way to prove that they can cover the damages their motorcycle might cause should an accident happen. In other words motorcyclist must insure their rides so they can legally operate them on state roads.
The State of Ohio defines two-wheeled vehicles as follows:
- Motor vehicle with a seat/saddle for the use of each rider, with not more than three wheels and a combustion engine with a piston or rotor displacement of greater than 150 cc. is a motorcycle. Tractors do not belong in this category.
- Even though mopeds/scooters are generally smaller and pack less punch, some of them require titling, registration, and insurance.
If you’re not certain whether or not your ride requires registration and insurance, call the Oklahoma Tax Commission (OTC) at (800) 522-8165.
Liability Insurance Requirements for Private Motorcycles
The minimum amounts of liability insurance are listed below:
- $10,000 for injury or death of one person.
- $10,000 for property damage.
- $20,000 for injury or death of two or more persons.
Remember that you can always increase your protection with additional types of coverage. You can also use the form you see at the top of the page to buy insurance or save money on motorcycle insurance for the future.
In Oklahoma, helmets are required for riders under 18. However, if you participate in the Oklahoma Rider Education Program the state will offer you a three-year insurance discount. Court-mandated participants are excluded.
Proof of Insurance
Law officials can monitor your insurance status via an online verification system. Be as it may, you still must carry one of the following whenever you ride your motorcycle:
- Proof of a surety bond.
- An insurance identification card supplied by your provider.
- A certificate of self-insurance.
- A certificate of deposit.
- Proof of participating in the Oklahoma Assigned Risk Auto Plan.
If you are caught operating your two-wheeled vehicles without proof of insurance you may face one of the following penalties:
- A fine of up to $250.
- Possibly a jail sentence of up to 30 days.
- Suspension of your registration and license.
For more information on this call the OTC at (800) 522-8165.