The state of Illinois requires you to have a vehicle liability insurance policy before operating a motorcycle. Knowing that accidents are unpredictable and can cause a financial loss, makes it clear why you must prove your capability of handling such costs.

Types of Two-Wheeled Vehicles

If you are not sure whether your ride meets the qualifications of a motorcycle, contact the Secretary of State’s office at (800) 252-8980. If your cycle has an engine displacement of more than 150 cc, it is a motorcycle. If the engine displacement is less than that, your ride is a motor-driven cycle. So if your cycle needs to be registered, you will have to purchase liability insurance, which will allow you to ride your motorcycle legally on state’s roads.

Motorcycle Insurance Requirements

To satisfy the standards of the state of Illinois you are obliged to have the following amount of bodily and property liability insurance:

  • $15,000 of property damage coverage per accident.
  • $20,000 of coverage for injuries to, or death of one person in an accident.
  • $40,000 of coverage for injuries to, or deaths of more than one person in an accident.

Financial professionals will recommend you to purchase more coverage than this, as to maximize your protection.

Helmet Requirements

In some states wearing a helmet when riding, lessens the financial responsibility requirements. However, in the state of Illinois cyclists don’t have an obligation to wear a helmet.

Financial Responsibility and Proof of Insurance

As for establishing financial responsibility, in this state you are required to have liability insurance to meet the state’s requirements. That’s the only way. You must show your insurance card to law enforcement officials when requested, that’s why you are required to carry it with you when on the road.

Penalties

In case you can’t present proof of acceptable insurance coverage within the timeframe specified by the state, you will face license plates suspension. Moreover, you will be under obligation to pay at least a $500 fine, a $100 reinstatement fee, and provide proof of insurance to get your license plates back.

In case this is your second offense, the suspension will last a minimum of four months. You will be allowed to drive another insured vehicle, but not your own.

Last updated on Tuesday, March 12 2019.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!