Texas Motorcycle Insurance
To have a motorcycle in Texas, you must have proof of financial responsibility. To most motorcycle owners in the state, this means purchasing motorcycle insurance. It is the most simple and cost-effective way. Nonetheless, there are other options:
- Set up a surety bond with a Texas car insurance provider.
- Make a $55,000 deposit to the county controller.
- Make a $55,000 deposit to the county judge.
- Set up a self-insurance certification with the Department of Transportation if you are an automobile dealer.
The disadvantages of the above options are that you are less likely to afford all the repair bills and medical bills in a bad car accident. In the event that you are responsible for an auto collision and have not paid for all the necessary bills, the other motorist has the right to sue you for the remaining amount. For that reason, it’s most recommended that all motorcycle riders buy insurance for motorcycles.
Information Related to Motorcycle Insurance
- Minimum Requirements
- Types of Motorcycles
- Get Motorcycle Insurance
- Proof of Insurance
- Reporting Accidents
- $30,000 to cover bodily injury or fatality of one person per accident
- $25,000 to cover property damages per damages accident
- $60,000 to cover bodily injuries or fatalities of two or more people per accident
As you may well know, there are different types of motorcycles. The following are required to also have liability insurance:
- Three-wheeled motorbikes
- Motor-driven cycles
For further clarification, if it is a motor vehicle that is driven on Texas state roads and highways, the motorist at fault for an auto collision must be able to pay for damages and injuries. Getting motorcycle insurance is a priority if you have a motorcycle.
There are three ways to look for motorcycle insurance quotes:
- Generating online motorcycle insurance quotes.
- In person at a local motorcycle insurance agency.
- Calling an auto insurance company directly for more information.
The most popular method for getting motorcycle insurance in Texas is by searching online. You can pull up many quotes at once from different motorcycle coverage companies, and compare the applicable policies with ease. When you need more information, the option to then call a motorcycle insurance agent is available.
When caught operating a motorcycle without proper liability insurance, you are penalized with steep fines.
The first time law enforcement charges you with a traffic ticket for not having the required amounts of liability coverage, you are fined $350. You will be responsible for additional court fees as well.
The fines for subsequent offenses can be as high as $1,000, in addition to having your driving privileges suspended for a maximum period of two years.
To register any motor vehicle in Texas, proof of auto insurance is required. Your motorcycle coverage provider will send you an official insurance card which is accepted by all DPS locations. This is not only meant to be used in the aftermath of an accident, but also if law enforcement pulls you over while driving.
The DPS will be informed by your insurance provider if you have cancelled your motorbike policy. If you attempt to register your motorcycle with false information, the DPS will automatically suspend your driving privileges.
Motorcycle drivers who are involved in a motor vehicle accident must follow the steps below:
- Remove your motorcycle from the roadways if possible.
- Get the personal information of the other motorist and witness (if any):
- Plate number
- Drivers license number
- Phone number
- Insurance company name and policy number
- Give your same personal information in return.
- Call the police when the other motorist refuses to provide his or her personal information and/or vehicle insurance company.
Injury or Fatality
The police must be called right away if an accident you are involved in results in injury or fatality. Other instances when the police must be involved:
- After a hit and run
- If you cannot remove your motorcycle from the roadway
- Filing the Texas SR-22 Insurance Form
- Texas Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save
- How to Register a Vehicle in Texas
- In the Event of an Accident in Texas