Motorcycle Insurance in Wyoming
You must insure your motorcycle before taking it on state roads. In other words, you have to prove you can pay for any damages or injuries your ride might cause in the case of an accident. The law in Wyoming says that the at-fault party in an accident is responsible for all the damages that are done. That’s why establishing financial responsibility is very important in this state.
Let’s see Wyoming’s definition for a motorcycle:
- Motor vehicle with a seat for a rider and no more than three wheels. It has an option for a sidecar (for a single passenger) to be attached. Scooters and motorized bicycles belong here. However, mopeds, motorized skateboards, golf carts, or off-road vehicles are excluded.
In case you have any doubts regarding the type of your vehicle call the Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT) at (307) 777-4375.
Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Below are listed the minimum amounts of liability insurance you must purchase to meet the state requirements:
- $20,000 per accident for property damage.
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury.
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury.
These are just the minimum amounts required. Don’t forget that you can always purchase more coverage if you want. Check out the form at the top of the page. You can use it to get insurance for your ride and also to save money on motorcycle insurance for the future.
Motorcycle riders are required to wear helmets while riding. No matter how much insurance coverage you get, it won’t have any effect on Wyoming helmet requirements.
Establishing Financial Responsibility
In the state of Wyoming residents can establish financial responsibility in one of the following ways:
- Get an insurance policy that covers liability.
- Secure a bond with a surety company that is authorized to do business in Wyoming or with at least two individual sureties that own real estate in Wyoming.
- Deposit $25,000 (or securities of equal value) with the state treasurer.
Penalties for not having proof of insurance can vary depending on your situation. If this is your first offense, the fine will be between $250 and $750. In the case of a second offense, the numbers are higher, between $500 and $1,500.
Your vehicle registration and license plates will be taken away by the county treasurer until you have met all obligations. For more information regarding penalties, paying the fines and getting your registration and plates back, contact the DOT at (307) 777-4851.