If you want to drive your motorcycle legally in the state of Arizona you must purchase an insurance for it. Motorcycle insurance will protect you and your two-wheeled ride should any loss happen in a case of an accident. You can choose from the different types of motorcycle insurance such as comprehensive, collision, liability insurance and several more.

If you want to drive your motorcycle legally in the state of Arizona you must purchase an insurance for it. Motorcycle insurance will protect you and your two-wheeled ride should any loss happen in a case of an accident. You can choose from the different types of motorcycle insurance such as comprehensive, collision, liability insurance and several more.

Establishing Financial Responsibility

In the state of Arizona the easiest and most simple way of showing financial responsibility is to obtain a liability insurance policy from state’s licensed insurance provider. Another option is a self-insurance, but only if you posses 10 or more vehicles. If you want to apply for self-insurance you will have to complete a Certificate of Self-Insurance Application. To ride your motorcycle on Arizona state roads, you will need one of the following:

  • Self-insurance certificate (if you posses 10 or more vehicles).
  • Motor vehicle liability insurance policy.

Types of Two-Wheeled Vehicles

In the state of Arizona the following two-wheeled vehicles are defined as motorcycles, or two-wheeled vehicles:

  • A motorized vehicle which has no more than three wheels and has a seat for the driver is considered as motorcycle. Tractors and mopeds are excluded.
  • A bicycle-like vehicle with pedals and a small engine with less than 50 cc displacement is considered as moped. Its maximum speed is 25 mph and 1.5 brake horsepower (or less).
  • A motorized vehicle with no more than three wheels designed to go faster than 20 mph but with an engine displacement from 49 to 80 cc is considered as motor-driven cycle. (motor scooters are included).

In case you are still not sure how to classify your drive contact the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) at one of the numbers you see below:

  • Phoenix area: (602) 255-0072
  • Tucson area: (520) 629-9808
  • Rest of the state: (800) 251-5866, toll-free

Liability Insurance Requirements

The following are the required minimum amounts of liability insurance:

  • $15,000 bodily injury coverage for one person in one accident.
  • $30,000 bodily injury coverage total per accident.
  • $10,000 property damage coverage per accident.

Be wise and choose the insurance that works best for your motorcycle and financial situation as well.

Helmet Requirements

Currently only riders under 18 have to wear helmets. However, you are obliged to wear some type of goggles or faceplate to protect your eyes.

Proof of Insurance

The MVD can easily find out if you are not insured. In case you can’t present adequate proof of insurance after receiving an inquiry from the Arizona DMV, you could face suspension of your motorcycle registration and even your driving license.

State law requires you to insure only those vehicles that you operate on public roads, including motorcycles, mopeds, and golf carts. But if your vehicle is temporarily non-operational?because you’re restoring it, for instance, or due to seasonal storage?you don’t need to maintain coverage until it becomes operational again.

De-insuring your Motorcycle

That means the MVD won’t suspend your registration or hold you liable when your motorbike is not insured. For your motorcycle to be de-insured, you have to fill out a De-Insured Certificate form. After the form is completed submit it in person at an MVD office or send it to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division
Mail Drop 558M
Insurance Unit
P.O. Box 2100
Phoenix, AZ 85001-2100

As soon as your ride can be operated again, you will have to insure it. If you ride a motorcycle that is de-insured, your registration and possibly your driving license can be suspended.

Penalties

To clear a suspension you will have to do the following:

  • Provide proof of insurance for the period you didn’t have an insurance, or
  • Submit an SR-22 form, which certifies that you have the required liability insurance, and pay a $50 reinstatement fee. The form must be from an insurance provider that has authorization to work in Arizona, and it must be held on file at the MVD for three years.
Last updated on Monday, September 24 2018.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!