While Massachusetts does not require motorcycle riders to purchase personal injury protection, residents must still make sure to get motorcycle insurance if they want to drive legally. Thus, it is important that you are familiar with the MA insurance for motorcycle minimums and how to get them in Massachusetts.

Minimum Requirements for Motorcycle Insurance

Before you even take a look at motorcycle insurance quotes in Massachusetts, it is imperative that you know about all of the minimum coverage requirements of the state. Every motorcycle rider must have the following:

  • $5,000 for property damage
  • $20,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $40,000 for bodily injury per accident

If you fail to maintain these minimums or you do not have proof of coverage, you face a number of penalties:

  • A traffic citation
  • Higher motorcycle insurance premiums

How to Get Motorcycle Insurance in Massachusetts

To make sure that you don’t get penalized for not having the appropriate coverage, it is important that you know the two ways for getting motorcycle insurance in MA. You can go in person to different auto insurers and ask for rates, or you can browse motorcycle insurance quotes online. In both cases, make sure that you follow these steps for a seamless process:

  • Keep your motorcycle information on hand, as you will be asked for:
    • Make
    • Model
    • Year
  • Consider extra coverage options:
    • Repair shop networks
    • Roadside assistance
    • Accident coverage
  • Compare various premiums and policies

If you want to save time and some gas money, it is recommended that you first look into purchasing online motorcycle insurance. With the help of the trustworthy online marketplaces, you will even be able to compare the plans side by side from your most comfortable spot at home.

Last updated on Tuesday, March 12 2019.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!