Motorcycle insurance is the protection against financial loss in case of an accident. Most insurance companies can supply this type of insurance. It works the same as any other type of insurance where you pay a premium and the insurance company agrees to payout on certain criteria should accidents happen. Also, you can save money by using the motorcycle insurance you see at the top of this page.

Financial Responsibility

In the state of Colorado you have two options to establish financial responsibility:

  • Self-service insurance, but only if you own 25 or more vehicles.
  • Liability coverage.

Two-Wheeled Vehicles

  • Any vehicle that has no more than three wheels (excluding farm tractors) is a motorcycle.
  • Any motorcycle and motor scooter equipped with an engine that does not exceed six-brake horsepower is a motor-driven cycle.
  • Any vehicle with two or three wheels, a cylinder capacity not exceeding 50 cc, and an automatic transmission that can’t exceed 30 mph is a motorized bicycle.
  • Any motorized vehicle with no more than three wheels, equipped with a six-brake horsepower or less engine is a motor scooter.

Insurance Requirements

In the state of Colorado the following amounts of liability insurance must be carried:

  • $25,000, per person for bodily injury.
  • $50,000, per accident for bodily injury.
  • $15,000, per accident for property damage.

Helmet Requirements

Every rider of a motorcycle, motorized bicycle and passengers under 18 years of age must wear protective helmets. Riders above the age of 18 are not required to wear a helmet, unless they want to.

Penalties

If you operate a two-wheeled vehicle with no proof of insurance you might be cited with the following penalties:

  • First offense:
    • A minimum fine of $500.
    • Four points added to your driving record.
    • Possible suspension.
  • Second offense:
    • A minimum fine of $1,000.
    • A four-month suspension.
  • Third offense:
    • A minimum fine of $1,000.
    • Community service.
    • An eight-month suspension.

For more information related to liability insurance requirements, and taking care of cited penalties, contact the DMV at (303) 205-5607.

Last updated on Tuesday, March 12 2019.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!