Take your DriversEd.com State-Approved Course Online and Ace Your DMV Exam!
Colorado Drivers Education Courses
Drivers ed in Colorado serves to help first-time drivers learn the skills necessary to operate motor vehicles safely so that they may obtain a learners permit. There are various drivers education options available. Read below to find the one that is right for you:
Drivers ed online courses are available to first-time drivers in Colorado who wish to maximize convenience and fulfill state requirements. Colorado drivers education course completion is required to obtain a learners permit within the state and begin behind-the-wheel training. To enroll in drivers ed, keep in mind the following requirements:
- You must complete a driver’s education course to obtain a learners permit and begin in-car training.
- The shortest course allowed by law is 30 hours.
- You must be 14-and-a-half years of age or older to take an online drivers ed course, and 15 years of age to apply for a driving permit through the Department of Revenue.
- You may qualify for extra high school credit after completing online drivers ed.
DMV.com’s trusted partner for online driver’s education is approved by the Colorado Department of Revenue. DriversEd.com is America’s #1 online driving school, offering 100% online courses that come with a full money-back guarantee and a free certificate delivery upon completion. Your recognized certificate of completion will be sent directly to you, so that you can submit it to the CO DOR. After enrolling in our recommended course, you will be able to enjoy all of the advantages of traditional drivers ed on your own schedule and on any computer or mobile device.
2. Traditional Courses With Private Companies:
If drivers ed online courses are not an option for you, traditional driving classes with approved instructors are also available in Colorado through various private companies. First time driving with instructors can be inconvenient for students, as these courses are only offered in certain locations and at certain times of the day. Thus, most students prefer to enroll in online driving courses, because of the inflexibility of private in-person driving schools in Colorado.
3. Traditional Courses at High Schools:
First time driver classes can also be taken in person at various local high schools in Colorado. However, these traditional driving lessons can be even more difficult to fit into your schedule than the private company courses because of the restrictions presented by school hours. Furthermore, because taking driving classes online provides students with the same material as in-person courses, most first-time drivers opt for online enrollment.
Drivers ed classes are offered by the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for first-time drivers who would like to learn safe driving techniques. Drivers ed in Colorado covers important topics such as traffic laws, drug abuse awareness, alcohol safety and more. As part of their driving training, young CO residents are required to complete a certain amount of behind-the-wheel driving lessons in order to be issued a driving permit by the CO DMV. Colorado drivers education courses are required for learners permit applicants who are between 15 and 16 years of age.
Benefits of Taking Drivers Education Courses
Completing a Colorado drivers ed program may benefit you in the following ways:
- First-time drivers will be issued a Colorado learner’s permit.
- Drivers may receive a discount on an auto insurance policy.
- Understanding the road, and the importance of safety.
Drivers Education Course Insurance Discounts
Drivers who complete a state-approved driving training program in Colorado may be eligible for a discount on their auto insurance. First-time drivers usually receive higher car insurance quotes. Colorado DOR-approved programs offered by DriversEd.com come with a free course app and unlimited practice tests. This course, which has a 99.5+% permit exam pass rate, comes with a free certificate of completion and costs only $49.50!
In general, motorists who can demonstrate that they are trained and knowledgeable about safe driving techniques are rewarded with lower insurance premiums by most companies. To find out if you are eligible to receive a discount, contact your auto insurance provider.
Colorado Drivers Ed Curriculum
Driving schools approved by the CO DMV serve to help drivers improve their overall driving skills and possibly earn benefits, such as earning auto insurance discounts. Colorado DMV driving classes are offered in person at public high schools and state-approved third-party driving schools. Drivers ed online courses are also an option for residents and driving license applicants. CO driving courses cover topics, such as:
- Defensive driving skills.
- DUI regulations.
- Colorado traffic laws.
- Road rules.
Did you know? Before applying for a learners permit in CO, drivers must have completed a state-approved drivers ed program within the last six months.
How to Enroll in Drivers Ed
To enroll in driving school classes in Colorado, drivers can contact their local DMV or a third-party drivers ed school that is approved by the state. First-time drivers also have the option to apply to online driving courses through state-approved providers.
Online Colorado Driver Ed vs. in Person
Colorado drivers education courses are available both in person and online. In-person driving classes are offered by public high schools and private third-party providers. Some third-party providers offer strictly online driving courses. Students may enroll in the 30-hour online course if they are at least 14-and-a-half years of age.
Cost of Drivers Ed in Colorado
Driving classes costs in Colorado vary depending on which public or private drivers ed school you choose to attend. Find out how much are driving lessons in your area by contacting many different course providers.
Colorado Drivers Ed Requirements and Eligibility
Drivers ed eligibility in Colorado requires all learning permit applicants between 15 and 16 years of age to complete a drivers education program approved by the state. Though, to enroll in drivers ed online, learners may be 14 years and six months of age. Overall, it is mandatory for first-time drivers younger than 16 years and six months of age to get six hours of behind-the-wheel experience with a state-approved teen driving school in addition to the 30-hour classroom instruction requirement. DriversEd.com offers a CO DOR-approved online course with a full money-back guarantee for all students, which has a 99.5+% permit exam pass rate!
Applicants who are between 15-and-a-half and 16 years of age have the option to complete 30 hours of driving classes or a four-hour driver awareness course. Behind-the-wheel training is not a requirement for drivers in the latter age group.
Drivers Ed Certificates
First-time drivers will receive a drivers ed certificate of completion at the conclusion of the course. Submit this driving school certificate to a local CO DMV office in order to be eligible to take the written exam and obtain a CO license to drive. Residents must attend a state-approved drivers ed program to get a valid certificate of completion.
Finding a Colorado-Approved Drivers Education Course
Drivers can find Colorado-approved driving courses online or by visiting a CO DMV office to obtain more information. Driving applicants can also contact private drivers education providers to enroll in driving classes within the state.