How to Take a Drivers Education Course in Vermont
Vermont drivers ed must be completed by teens that are under the age of 18 should they wish to obtain a Junior Operators License. If 18 years of age or older, applicants are not required to complete a course. However, there are numerous benefits outside of this requirement that are available to both teens and adults who would like to learn how to drive and ultimately obtain their first driver’s license. Benefits include learning safe driving skills, crash avoidance techniques and earning discounts on auto insurance.
Drivers ed online courses are only available in Vermont when the completion of a course is not required. However, teens required to complete a course must do so in a classroom-based setting. You can learn more about drivers education, including the types of classes that are available and how you can enroll into a class, in the sections that have been provided below.
Who needs to take drivers ed in Vermont?
In VT, drivers ed classes are required of any teen who is under the age of 18 and would like to obtain a junior driver’s license within the state. After the age of 18, this is no longer a requirement. However, regardless of state requirements, the completion of these courses offer a lot of benefits to new drivers in the state.
Types of Drivers Ed Classes in Vermont
Vermont teen driving school is provided by privately owned businesses that have been licensed by the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles and operate under the guidelines and standards that have been set forth by the state. Additionally, courses can be taken through participating high schools.
Adult drivers ed is also available and regulated within the state. These courses are only available through private businesses through the 6+6 Adult Driver Education Course Program. Classes differ from teen classes and require far fewer hours to complete.
Drivers ed online is available through third parties within Vermont, however, the state does not regulate these courses and they do not include any behind-the-wheel instruction. Therefore, if required to complete a class, an online course will not count. Some insurers may also deny an auto discount if you complete an online course as opposed to a traditional one.
What will you learn in a Vermont drivers ed school?
A traditional VT driver education course will consist of a combination of classroom and behind the wheel instruction. For teens, courses must include at least 30 hours of classroom instruction, six hours of observation and six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. For adult courses, these numbers are reduced to a minimum of six hours of classroom instruction and six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. Classroom curriculum must also include information regarding:
- Vermont traffic laws.
- Safe driving knowledge and skills.
- The effects of alcohol and drugs on driving.
- Motor vehicle liability insurance and financial responsibility.
After completing a drivers ed course in Vermont, it is worth knowing that many of the licensed schools are certified by the Vermont DMV to administer the driver license road skill exam at the end of the course. If you successfully pass this exam, you will not be required to complete an additional one with the DMV when applying for your driver’s license.
An online drivers ed course is not state regulated, and therefore curriculum can vary heavily from one issuing company to the next. Tests cannot be provided through these types of courses and insurers may not recognize an online course if you are seeking an auto insurance discount.
Vermont Drivers Education Requirements
Vermont drivers ed school has a few qualifications that must be met before teens or adults will be permitted to attend a state certified course. These requirements include:
- You must be at least 16 years of age.
- You must commit to a 100 percent attendance.
- You must obtain a Vermont learners permit prior to the start date for the course.
Benefits of a Vermont Driver Education Course
Vermont drivers education classes offer a variety of benefits to both teens and adults, including:
- For teens, the ability to obtain a junior driver’s license in Vermont prior to the age of 18.
- Safe driving knowledge and skills.
- Crash avoidance techniques.
- Discount car insurance through participating insurers.
- The ability to complete the DMV driver’s license road skill exam through the course.
How to Enroll in a Vermont Driver Ed School
VT drivers ed is held by high schools and privately-owned businesses that are operating under the standards and guidelines set by state law. Therefore, it is worth taking the time to select a school that is licensed by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
It can also be worth reviewing multiple providers within your area as fees can differ from one provider to the next. Once you have chosen a provider, you may enroll either online through the provider’s website or by contacting that specific provider over the phone or in person.
Vermont DMV Drivers Ed Certificates
After completing drivers education in Vermont, you will be provided with a certificate of completion. This certificate can be provided to the Vermont DMV when applying for a junior driver’s license or to insurers who will provide you with discounts on your auto insurance premium.
If you also successfully completed the road skill exam at the end of the course, you will be provided with an additional certificate that can be provided to the DMV in order to waive the road skill exam when obtaining a license.
Drivers Ed for New Vermont Residents
If you took drivers ed classes outside of Vermont, but did not obtain a license, you may still be required to complete a course within the state if you are required to do so in order to obtain a driver’s license. Therefore, it is important to contact your local DMV in order to inquire as to whether or not the state will recognize your previous course experience.
Vermont Drivers Ed vs. Traffic School
Vermont drivers ed is designed to teach safe driving practices and traffic laws to teens and adults who have never been licensed. It is very different from traffic school, which is taken for completely different reasons and designed to provide experienced drivers with a refresher course on state laws and safe driving practices.
Vermont Driver Education Fees
VT drivers ed prices may vary between providers as the state does not regulate these fees. While online courses are generally notably cheaper than classroom courses, online courses are not accepted by all insurers and will not be recognized by the state if required to complete a course for a license.
- Driver and Traffic Safety Education from Vermont.gov
- Driver Training from Vermont.gov