Drivers ed in Maryland is a requirement for first-time driving license applicants of all ages. Certified driving schools train novice drivers on how to safely operate a motor vehicle under the guidance of a trained instructor. Taking MD drivers ed courses may also qualify drivers for a lower rate on their car insurance. More information on Maryland driver education requirements is included in the sections below.

Benefits of Taking Drivers Education Courses

Taking a driver education course will qualify Maryland drivers for the following benefits:

Enroll in an Online Drivers Ed course today!

Drivers Education Course Insurance Discounts

Maryland drivers ed insurance discounts may be available to residents through their auto coverage provider. Insurance reduction courses may be available to take in person as well as online. To find out if you are eligible, contact your car insurance company.

Maryland Drivers Ed Curriculum

MD driver education courses approved by the Motor Vehicle Administration include both classroom and behind-the-wheel components. Maryland certified driving school curriculum will cover topic such as:

  • Defensive driving skills.
  • DUI regulations.
  • Maryland traffic laws.
  • Road rules.

Did you know? Maryland first time driving school students 25 years of age and older can qualify for a driving license after holding a learner’s permit for at least 45 days. Learner’s permit holders younger than 25 years of age must hold their credentials for at least nine months before being permitted to apply for a provisional driver’s license.

Enrolling in Drivers Education Courses

How to Enroll in Drivers Ed

To enroll in drivers education in Maryland, residents must contact an MVA-approved driving school. MD local driving schools can be found in each county in the state. Click here for a list of certified driving schools to choose from.

Enroll in an Online Drivers Ed course today!

Online Maryland Driver Ed vs. in Person

Maryland drivers ed online courses differ from classroom-based courses. Currently, the MD MVA only approves of local driving schools to help residents meet the requirement for a license to drive. However, taking driving classes online may qualify you for a safe driver discount with your auto insurance company. Contact your car coverage provider directly to find out which type of driver education course you need to take to lower your premium.

Cost of Drivers Ed in Maryland

Maryland driving classes costs are set by the driving school which provides the service. To find an affordable drivers ed provider, contact several schools in your area and inquire about course fees. Getting MD driving school quotes from a variety of sources will allow you to determine which program best fits your budget.

Maryland Drivers Ed Requirements and Eligibility

State law requires MD drivers ed for all first time driver’s license applicants, regardless of their age. A certified driving school course consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction and six hours of behind-the-wheel training. Upon completion of the Maryland driver education course, the provider will submit an electronic certification to the MVD on behalf of the student. In addition to the drivers ed program, students must complete the Practice and Skills Log, certifying that they have completed at least 60 hours of driving with a supervising driver.

Finding a Maryland-Approved Drivers Education Course

Local driving schools in Maryland are approved to provide a drivers education course that fulfills the requirements of a driver license. Certified driving schools are located throughout the state in each county as well as in Baltimore city. To find an MVA-approved driving, click here.

Last updated on Thursday, December 21 2017.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!