Take your DriversEd.com State-Approved Course Online and Ace Your DMV Exam!
Georgia Drivers Education Courses
First-time drivers are required to take a Georgia drivers education course before they can apply for a provisional driver’s license with the Department of Driver Services. Drivers ed in GA covers important topics such as Georgia traffic laws and road rules, vehicle safety and how to react in hazardous traffic conditions. A resident must enroll in a state-approved driving course at 16 years of age to be eligible to receive a learner’s permit. Young drivers in Georgia can enroll in DMV.com’s online drivers education course that is fully approved in GA and satisfies the minimum permit and licensing requirements.
Drivers ed online courses are available to first-time drivers in Georgia who wish to maximize convenience and fulfill state requirements. Georgia drivers education course completion is required to obtain a learners permit within the state and begin behind-the-wheel training. To enroll in drivers ed, keep in mind the following requirements:
- Residents who are 16 years of age must complete a driver education course approved by the state in order to obtain a learner’s.
- Residents who are 17 years of age may complete a driver education course in lieu of completing the 40-hour classroom and six-hour behind-the-wheel requirements with a parent or guardian.
DMV.com’s trusted partner for online driver’s education is approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services. DriversEd.com is America’s #1 online driving school, offering 100% online courses that meet Joshua’s Law requirements, come with a full money-back guarantee and deliver a free electronic certificate upon completion. Your recognized certificate of completion will be sent directly to you, so that you can submit it to the GA DDS. After enrolling in our recommended course, you will be able to enjoy all of the advantages of traditional drivers ed on your own schedule and on any computer or mobile device.
2. Traditional Courses With Private Companies:
If drivers ed online courses are not an option for you, traditional driving classes with approved instructors are also available in Georgia through various private companies. First time driving with instructors can be inconvenient for students, as these courses are only offered in certain locations and at certain times of the day. Thus, most students prefer to enroll in online driving courses, because of the inflexibility of private in-person driving schools in Georgia.
3. Traditional Courses at High Schools:
First-time driver classes can also be taken in person at various local high schools in Georgia. However, these traditional driving lessons can be even more difficult to fit into your schedule than the private company courses because of the restrictions presented by school hours. Furthermore, because taking driving classes online provides students with the same material as in-person courses, most first-time drivers opt for online enrollment.
Benefits of Taking Drivers Education Courses
Completing a GA drivers ed program may benefit you in the following ways:
- First-time drivers will be issued a driver’s license in Georgia.
- Drivers may receive a discount on their vehicle insurance policies.
- Drivers will understand the road and the importance of safety.
DriversEd.com programs are approved by the Georgia DDS and meet Joshua’s Law requirements. The GA online course comes with free unlimited practice tests and has a 99.5+% permit exam pass rate, all for just $19.95!
Drivers Education Course Insurance Discounts
Drivers who complete driving classes in Georgia may be granted a discount on their auto insurance, depending on the provider. First-time drivers usually face higher insurance premiums and can benefit greatly by attending a drivers ed course, which may result in a car insurance discount. To find out if you are eligible to receive a discount, contact your vehicle insurance provider and present your case.
Georgia Drivers Ed Curriculum
Drivers ed classes approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services serve to help drivers improve their overall driving skills and possibly earn a car insurance discount. Whether a student takes their Georgia drivers education course online, or in person, the same topics will be covered. GA drivers ed courses cover topics, such as:
- Defensive driving skills.
- DUI regulations.
- Georgia traffic laws.
- Road rules.
A first-time driver taking a GA drivers education course must pass with a score of 85 percent or better. By taking the drivers ed course online, you have an unlimited number of chances to pass.
Did you know? Young drivers can earn high school credit when they enroll in DMV.com’s state-approved drivers education course.
Georgia Joshua’s Law
Teen driving school requirements in Georgia are mandated under what is referred to as Joshua’s Law. Joshua’s Law requires Class D driver’s license applicants 16 to 17 years of age to complete a minimum amount of classroom and supervised behind-the-wheel training before being issued a driving credential. A state-approved drivers education course is required for provisional driver’s license applicants who are 16 years of age. Beginner drivers who are 17 years of age must complete the same 40-hour classroom and six-hour behind-the-wheel experience requirement as the younger age group but they have to option to do so under the supervision of a parent or legal guardian in lieu of attending driving school.
How to Enroll in Drivers Ed
To enroll in a GA drivers ed program, drivers can contact their local DMV or a third-party driving school that is approved by the state. Georgia first-time drivers also have the option to enroll in a state-approved drivers ed online course. You are required to complete a drivers education course if you are 16 years of age and applying for your first GA driver’s license. America’s #1 online driving school DriversEd.com offers a GA DDS-approved online course that has a 99.5+% permit exam pass rate and delivers a free electronic certificate upon completion!
As a general rule, motorists who are older than 16 years of age are not required to take drivers ed classes to obtain a provisional driver’s license.
Online Georgia Driver Ed vs. in Person
Georgia drivers education courses are available both in person and online. In-person drivers ed classes are offered by public high schools and private third-party providers. Individuals can enroll in a fully-approved online drivers ed course, like DMV.com’s. The program consists of a theoretical portion and a practical portion. The theoretical portion is composed of 30 hours of in-classroom instruction, also known as the Joshua’s Law course. GA driver training courses also include six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction.
Cost of Drivers Ed in Georgia
The cost of drivers education in Georgia varies, depending on which public or private drivers ed school you choose to attend. To find out the exact costs, contact the school of your choosing.
Georgia Drivers Ed Requirements and Eligibility
Drivers ed eligibility in Georgia varies depending on your specific situation. The GA DMV requires all driver’s license applicants who are 16 years of age to complete a drivers education program approved by the state. Residents who are 17 years of age or older are not required to complete a drivers ed course. However, they must complete 40 hours of supervised driving prior to earning a driver’s license. This course can be taken via public or private driving lessons.
Drivers Ed Certificates
First-time drivers who complete a Georgia drivers ed course will receive a driver’s ed certificate of completion. Submit your driving school certificate to a local GA DDS office in order to be eligible to take the written exam and obtain a GA license to drive. Residents must attend a certified driving school to receive a valid certificate of completion.
Finding a Georgia-Approved Drivers Education Course
Drivers can find Georgia-approved drivers ed online or enroll in person by visiting a GA DMV office to obtain more information. Applicants can also contact a third-party private driving instructor to enroll for in classes within the state.