Georgia DMV Point System
The demerit point system in Georgia assesses a numerical point value to a driver’s record as the result of committing certain traffic offenses while operating motor vehicles on public roads. The number of demerit points that you accrue depends on the type of the offense you have committed and its severity. The GA driver point system consists of a list of traffic violations and their corresponding driving record points. Find out more information about GA traffic violation points and the additional penalties by reading the sections below:
- Moving violations and points in Georgia
- Penalties in Georgia
- How to fix a driving record in Georgia
- Disputing a moving violation charge in Georgia
Moving Violations and Points in Georgia
The Georgia DMV point system consists of both minor and major traffic violations and their corresponding infraction points. Drivers can accumulate a specific number of driving points on their GA driver’s transcript as a result of committing a certain traffic offense. For instance, the number of demerit points for speeding in GA may vary from two to six, depending on the velocity you used to operate your motor vehicle. In addition, drivers will not accumulate speeding ticket points for driving less than 15 mph over the posted speed limit.
Furthermore, DUI points are not assessed against your driving record because committing a driving under the influence offense will bring you an immediate driver’s license suspension and additional penalties. Below is an outline of the several traffic offenses and their corresponding GA moving violation points:
- Aggressive driving – 6 points.
- Speeding in excess of 34 mph over the limit – 6 points.
- Reckless driving – 4 points.
- Improper passing on hill or curve – 4 points.
- Other moving violations – 3 points.
- Possessing an open container of an alcoholic beverage while driving – 2 points.
- Texting while driving – 1 point.
Note: Accruing more than 15 demerit points on your driving record in a two-year period may result in a driver’s license suspension for at least six months, or a complete revocation of your driving privileges.
Penalties in Georgia
Accumulating a high number of driving license penalty points in Georgia may bring you not only a driver’s license suspension but also additional penalties such as mandatory traffic fines and a certain amount of time in jail. Speeding ticket penalties, for instance, assess demerit points on the GA driver’s records and require drivers to pay a certain amount of money for their driving fines. Both the number of demerit points and the driving fines may vary depending on the how fast a driver was speeding above the posted speed limit.
Furthermore, the DUI penalties in Georgia may vary depending on the age of the driver. In addition, impaired driving penalties may result from refusing to submit to blood alcohol content (BAC) test or from failing it. For instance, there are different fine amounts and suspension lengths for drivers above 21 years of age and for those under that age. However, the general drunk driving penalties in GA are the following:
- Driver’s license suspension or revocation.
- Traffic fines and court costs.
- Jail time.
- DUI school and costs.
- Higher car insurance premiums.
How to Fix a Driving Record in Georgia
Drivers may reduce license points in Georgia by enrolling in a state-accepted traffic school course. Motorists may take a driver improvement course in order to reduce seven points from their driving records within a period of five years. Additionally, drivers who complete a defensive driving course may dismiss a traffic ticket, earn a car insurance premium discount or fulfill a court order which requires you to complete such course. A DMV point reduction will be approved only after you present a certificate of completion from the GA driving safety course in person or via mail to the state Department of Driver Services.
Disputing a Moving Violation Charge in Georgia
To fight a traffic ticket in Georgia, drivers need to plead “not guilty” in court and prove their innocence. However, they must not take any steps on their own, because one wrong move will make them lose the case. For instance, drivers who are fighting a traffic ticket must not pay the traffic fine that is written on their citation, because it will be considered as admission of guilt. Therefore, motorists who are wondering how to fight a traffic ticket in GA are encouraged to contact or hire a traffic attorney in order to get help with the state citation laws and regulations.