Missouri DMV Point System
The Department of Revenue (DOR) assigns Missouri penalty points to motorists who violate motor vehicle laws. Demerit points in MO may be added on to driving records for a multitude of driving infractions. The amount of drivers license points generally depends on how serious the misdemeanor is, as well as whether the conviction is under state, county or municipal ordinance. While traffic offenses such as speeding lead to a lower number of points, more serious infractions, including driving with a revoked license will result in more points. The accumulation of too many driver violation points in Missouri will lead to harsh penalties, including license suspensions and specific court-imposed actions, depending on the nature of the violation. Learn more about the state DMV point system and see how to clear your driving record by reading the following sections:
- Moving violations and points in Missouri
- Penalties in Missouri
- How to fix a Missouri driving record
- Disputing a Missouri moving violation charge
Moving Violations and Points in Missouri
The number of MO driving license penalty points associated with state law violations typically varies based on the nature of the committed offense. For instance, two or three speeding ticket points may be placed against your driving transcript if you have been caught driving over the speed limit. The amount of Missouri points for speeding will depend on whether the court handling your case is municipal, county or state court. Other drivers license points resulting from specific offenses are included in the following list:
- Careless and imprudent driving – 4 careless driving points.
- A felony including a motor vehicle – 12 points.
- Driving with a suspended or revoked credential – 12 points.
In addition to the aforementioned list, the Department of Revenue may assign a certain number of DWI points in MO following a driving while intoxicated infraction. Note that state laws are highly strict on motorists driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs, and other penalties will apply in addition to the negative consequences on their reports.
Penalties in Missouri
Drivers with an excess of MO infraction points on their record will be penalized accordingly. The issued traffic ticket penalty will once again depend on the seriousness of the committed misdemeanor. In general, drivers who accumulate too many Missouri driving points within a specific period of time will lose their privilege to drive. For instance, a 30-day license suspension will occur due to the accumulation of eight or more points within 18 months for the first time. A second offense of the same type will result in a 60-day suspension, while a third or any following violation will lead to a 90-day suspension. Motorists who amass 12 penalty points in 12 months or 18 points in a 24-month period will be issued a revoked driver’s license for a period of one year.
In addition to the traffic violation penalties in MO administered by the state DOR, the corresponding court may also penalize drivers with bad driving habits. DWI penalties, for example, may include steep fines ranging from $500 to $5,000, and a jail sentence between six months and 15 years based on the number of prior similar infractions.
How to Fix a Missouri Driving Record
Motorists in Missouri may not be able to enroll into a defensive driving course to reduce the total point count on their driving report at the moment. By successfully completing a driving safety course in MO, drivers can avoid the addition of demerit points on their record following specific traffic offenses instead. Motorists may attend the state-authorized driver improvement program course once in any 36-month time frame. Certain counties do not offer defensive driving courses to licensees who wish to avoid amassing points upon receipt of a traffic citation. Prior to taking such action, contact a local DOR office or the appropriate court to check whether this method is currently available. Also, inquire about the possibility to attend MO traffic school online classes.
You may be able to clear your driving record, thus avoiding the harsh consequences of point-related offenses, by practicing safe driving habits while on the road. Points on your report will be reduced by one-third after one year of safe driving. In order to reduce license points in Missouri by one-half, you will need to avoid any violations within two years. Negative points on your transcript will be reduced to zero after three years of good driving behavior.
Disputing a Missouri Moving Violation Charge
Disputing a traffic ticket in Missouri is a procedure which may be initiated if you believe you are innocent of your infraction. In order to dispute a speeding ticket or other summons, you must complete the Not Guilty Plea form and send it to the office of the Fine Collection Center in Jefferson City. A copy of the issued traffic ticket may need to be mailed along with the plea document . Once your court date is scheduled, you may start preparing your defense. To successfully fight a traffic ticket in MO, practice your testimony, gather any evidence or contact any witnesses to testify on your behalf.