Missouri Defensive Driving Course
About Missouri Defensive Driving Courses
Missouri defensive driving courses are part of the state’s Driver Improvement Program (DIP). The two terms can be used interchangeably in Missouri. This program consists of driving lessons, which increase the driver’s knowledge on defensive and safe driving techniques. Drivers can enroll in the Missouri Driver Improvement Program to avoid point assessment on their MO driver’s licenses. In certain situations, drivers may also enroll in a driving course to receive a car insurance discount, or for personal voluntary education. Read below to learn more about the Missouri Driver Improvement Program (DIP) and to find an authorized traffic course provider.
Traffic school online options are available to drivers in Missouri who wish to maximize convenience and fulfill state requirements. Online driving courses can be used to dismiss traffic tickets, fulfill court orders and reduce car insurance premiums. To enroll in traffic school, keep in mind the following requirements:
- You may need the name of the county where you received your citation.
- You may need the citation number or court case number.
- The shortest course allowed by law is 4 hours.
- You can only take a driver improvement course once every 3 years.
DMV.com’s trusted partner for online traffic school is approved by the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR). Your certificate of completion will be sent directly to you, and the DOR will be notified electronically. After enrolling in one of our recommended courses, you will be able to enjoy all of the advantages of traditional driving school on your own schedule and on any computer or mobile device.
2. Traditional In-Person Courses:
If you cannot enroll in a digital driving course, traditional traffic classes with instructors are also available through various in-person providers. However, these driving classes are only offered at approved locations within Missouri and may not be offered near your residence. Furthermore, scheduling for in-person traffic school is inflexible, and drivers are expected to attend classes no matter how inconvenient the time or location.
Benefits of Defensive Driving Courses in Missouri
Attending a Driver Improvement Program in Missouri may bring you the following benefits:
- Avoid point assessment on your driver’s license.
- Satisfy court requirements.
- Earn a car insurance discount.
- Increase your knowledge on defensive and safe driving techniques.
What defensive driving courses are offered in Missouri?
Missouri driver improvement programs are offered both online and in classroom settings. A defensive driving course in MO can last from four to 12 hours, depending on the class you sign up for. Note, however, that online driving courses are eight-hour long programs that can only be taken once every three years.
Where to Take a Driver Improvement Program/Traffic School
Traffic schools and Missouri driver improvement programs are available both online and in classroom settings at various school locations. Review a list of state-approved DIP programs before deciding on an MO driving school. Depending on your situation or court order, you may enroll in a driver improvement program to avoid point assessment on your driver’s license or to get a car insurance discount.
Why do I need traffic school?
Attending a Missouri traffic school will help you avoid point assessment on your driver’s license. You may also be eligible to earn a car insurance discount. Defensive driving classes in Missouri can also help you avoid accumulating demerit points on your driving record.
Did you know? By ordering a copy of your MO driving record, you can see if you have any demerit points on your driver’s license.
Who can take a defensive driving course in Missouri?
A Missouri defensive driving course can be taken by licensed drivers who have received a citation or accumulated demerit points on their MO driving records. Defensive driving training can also be completed to receive auto insurance discounts, or to gain further knowledge on safer driving techniques.
Avoiding Point Assessment
Drivers must complete a driver improvement program in MO if they have moving violations, to which they plead guilty to. Note that you will be required to enroll in a defensive driving course within 60 days of your guilty plea. Upon completion of your DMV defensive driving course, a driving school certificate of completion will be sent to the Missouri Department of Revenue.
Defensive Driving Insurance Discounts
Enrolling in a Missouri Driver Improvement Program (DIP) may make you eligible to receive a car insurance discount. Simply submit your driving school certificate of completion to your insurance company for a possible lower premium rate.
How to Enroll in a Defensive Driving Course
Missouri driver improvement programs vary in enrollment methods, depending on the traffic school you want to enroll in. iDriveSafely.com is America’s #1 online driving school. Approved by the Missouri Safety Center at CSMU, the course may help you dismiss your traffic ticket online and even clear points off your driving record. Only $19.95, this online course gives you unlimited tries to take the exam. After you pass, iDriveSafely.com will mail you your certificate free of charge.
Online Missouri Defensive Driving Courses vs. in Person
Missouri driver improvement classes can be completed either in a classroom setting or online. The MO defensive driving course may last up to 12 hours, depending on whether you take it online or in an in-person environment.
Cost of Traffic School in Missouri
The cost of a Missouri driver improvement program is subject to vary. Contact your state-approved provider to find out about exact fees.
Defensive Driving Course Eligibility
In order to take a driver improvement course in Missouri, drivers must meet one or more of the following requirements:
- Have a valid MO driver’s license.
- Have demerit points on their driving records.
- Have suspended driver’s licenses.
- Have the desire to become a better and more responsible driver.
Note that Missouri drivers, who have committed moving violations to which they plead guilty, will be required to enroll in a Driver Improvement Program (DIP).
Defensive Driving Course Certificate
Upon successful completion of the Missouri driver improvement program, participants will get a driving school certificate. Drivers may need to present this official documentation either to the MO DOR, to the court which required you to complete a driving course, or to your insurance company.
Does a Missouri defensive driving school course remove a ticket or reduce points?
Attending a Missouri driver improvement program may assist drivers to get a traffic ticket dismissal or to avoid points from accumulating on your MO driver’s license.
How many times can I take a defensive driving course in Missouri?
Motorists are only authorized to complete a driver improvement course in Missouri once every three years.
Does a ticket still have to be paid after taking a defensive driving course?
The completion of a MO driver improvement class may still hold you responsible for payment of a traffic ticket. However, this will greatly depend on the type of traffic citation you received.
Can I remove a parking ticket if I take a defensive driving course?
Enrolling in a Missouri defensive driving course does not allow drivers to have their parking tickets dismissed.
DUIs and Defensive Driving School
Drivers convicted of driving under the influence are required to complete a DUI course. In Missouri, the Department of Mental Health has created the Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) for DUI offenders who want to reinstate a suspended driver’s license.