Traffic School in Utah
A defensive driving course in Utah can help you in various ways, from improving your driving record to lowering your car insurance costs. However, it is important to make the distinction that traffic school is not the same as regular drivers education classes. Therefore, make sure you are registering for the correct courses as required by your current circumstances. In general, these types of driving safety courses are designed for fully licensed drivers who have committed moving violations and/or might benefit from a refresher course.
Defensive driving school can be beneficial for motorists of all ages and skill levels. It is common for drivers to take a defensive driving course online, as these programs offer more flexibility. In any case, whether you have been ordered by the courts to take a course or are choosing to do so for your own benefit, it is important to understand how to register, what costs are involved and what you will get from a training course like this.
Who can attend traffic school in Utah?
A defensive driving class in Utah is available to all motorists who wish to refresh their knowledge on safety concerns regarding the operation of a vehicle. However, a driving safety course will sometimes be ordered by a local court. Moreover, mature motorists may choose to take one of these courses to qualify for an auto insurance discount. Generally, this discount is offered by insurers to drivers who are 55 years of age or older. Furthermore, an even more common reason to undergo a traffic school program is when motorists wish to reduce the number of points on their driving records.
It is important to note that the defensive driving course required for reducing points on your driving record is not the same program that is ordered by some courts for other infractions. Thus, be sure to attend the correct course based on your needs.
Types of Defensive Driving Courses in Utah
Certain Utah driver improvement course offerings may be broken into age groups. For instance, motorists between 18 and 21 years of age can take programs such as the “Alive at 25” course. Alternatively, drivers who are older than 21 years of age may take a course like the “Driver Awareness” program. Both of these courses are taught in person in a single four-hour session at different locations throughout UT.
Additionally, other offerings of traffic school courses must be taken according to the type of benefit you could receive. While online traffic school options are widely available, it is not a valid offering for mature drivers seeking an insurance discount after completion. Alternatively, taking driving classes to remove points from a record can be done either online or in person. In both cases, you must make sure to register your purpose as being a point reduction.
Classroom vs. Online Traffic School in Utah
A defensive driving online program typically includes seven sessions, taking the average student around four total hours to complete. However, be mindful that you may complete the course on your own time. In any case, you should confirm other deadlines, such as the one detailed in your court order, if applicable.
How to Enroll in a Utah Defensive Driving School
To enroll in a defensive driving class online, you must visit the institution’s main registration page and choose the type of program that applies to your situation. Then, you must follow the steps provided to complete your registration and begin the classes.
On the other hand, when enrolling in an in-person defensive driving course in UT, you may be able to submit an application in person, by mail, over the phone or online. If you submit an application by mail, be sure to include a check or money order, as cash is not accepted.
Benefits of Completing Traffic School in Utah
There are several benefits from taking a defensive driving course in Utah. Overall, these advantages include:
- Remove points from your driving record
- Avoid increases on your auto insurance premiums
- Obtain a car insurance discount
- Fulfill a court order
- Learn safe driving knowledge and skills
Remove Points From Your Driving Record
A point reduction class can be highly beneficial if you have found yourself accumulating points for various moving violations. If you accumulate 200 or more points within a three-year period, you will have to attend a hearing where the court will decide whether to put you on probation, suspend your license or order you to attend traffic school classes. If you successfully complete a defensive driving course, you can remove up to 50 points from your record. However, be mindful that this can only be done once every three years.
Avoid Increases on Your Auto Insurance Premiums
Attending traffic school could help you avoid increases on auto insurance premiums or to lower the current cost of your insurance policy. On the other hand, this largely depends on your insurance provider. Therefore, you should contact your insurer to discuss your options before enrolling in a defensive driving course.
Obtain a Car Insurance Discount
Completing a driver improvement course could help you to get a discount on your insurance costs. Primarily aimed at mature motorists who are 55 years of age and older, this discount is offered by many insurance providers across the country. Check with yours to see if you could qualify for a discount and then be sure to register for the correct type of course.
Fulfill a Court Order
A defensive driving course might be required by a court order based on your driving record and recent moving violations. Thus, if you are required to take a course, remember to include that information when you register and be sure to submit your own certificate of completion as proof at the end of the training.
Learn Safe Driving Knowledge and Skills
Undergoing a driver safety program is beneficial for everyone, regardless of the points you have on your license. Refreshing your memory with a review of road rules and regulations alongside best practices for safety can be a good idea for all motorists.
Utah Defensive Driving Class Curriculum Details
The UT defensive driving program does not include any practical application, whether you take it in person or online. These courses focus on classroom instruction highlighting the following areas:
- Collision prevention
- Driving confidence
- Awareness of hazards
- Improving driving ability
For the online traffic school option, there is an untimed, multiple choice test at the end that you may retake at no additional charge if you do not pass the first time. The online course addresses the importance of attitude in preventing crashes and reinforces good driving skills.
Utah Defensive Driving Certificates
A defensive driving certificate serves as proof that you have completed a course to the satisfaction of a training instructor. Depending on your situation, you might need to submit that certificate of completion to ensure that you receive the proper benefits. Overall, you will not receive a certificate after completing an in-person class. Instead, it should be processed and mailed to you within two weeks.
If you take a point reduction course, the Utah Safety Council will notify the state’s Driver License Division regarding your successful completion. Just make sure to mark point reduction as your reason for doing the course to ensure the information is sent accordingly. If you received a court order or are taking the course for insurance reasons, then you will have to submit your own certificate information to finalize these procedures as needed.
If you take a defensive driving course online, you will be able to print your own certificate and send it to the relevant office. Confirmation of your online completion will not be submitted automatically to any offices.
Utah Traffic School Versus Drivers Education
It is important to make the distinction between driver’s education programs and traffic school in Utah, since they are not the same. Driver’s ed is for motorists who are not yet licensed, while a driver improvement course helps licensed motorists to review relevant rules and regulations.
Utah Defensive Driving Course Fees
For the in-person defensive driving course, the fees are as follows:
- Registration fee: $40 (this is the only fee for the online course)
- Cancellation fee: $10
- First Re-Schedule (prior to your course date): Free
- Second Re-Schedule: $40 (full price)
- Returned checks: $30
- Utah Driver Handbook from Utah.gov
- Driver Point System from Utah.gov