Illinois Defensive Driving
About Illinois Defensive Driving Courses
Illinois defensive driving courses are available to driving license holders. Defensive driving school in Illinois provides drivers with important information and methods to become a better driver. Drivers can enroll in Illinois traffic school in order to remove points from their IL driving record or to earn a car insurance discount. Read below to learn the criteria for state-approved traffic courses and how you can find an authorized course provider.
Benefits of Defensive Driving Courses in Illinois
The benefits of traffic classes in Illinois include the following:
- Earn an IL driver’s license.
- Remove points accumulated on your IL driving record.
- Dismiss a previous traffic ticket.
- Earn an auto insurance discount.
- Reinstate a suspended drivers license.
- Learn how to become a better driver.
What defensive driving courses are offered in Illinois?
Illinois defensive driving courses are offered at community colleges throughout the state on behalf of local circuit courts. The driving courses can be attended by both court-ordered drivers and by members of the community who wish to learn useful driving school lessons or who want to qualify for an insurance discount. The two types of traffic school courses approved by the Illinois Secretary of State are discussed below.
Remedial Drivers Education Course
The Remedial Drivers Education course is available to drivers younger than 25 years of age who have had their driving privileges suspended. Drivers such as these qualify for the remedial defensive driving class if their privileges have been suspended for more than 30 days, or if they have had two or more moving violations in a period of 24 months. Young drivers qualify to have their driver’s license reinstated upon completing the course and meeting the other requirements set by the IL SOS.
Probationary License Program
Taking a certified defensive driving course can qualify Illinois drivers with a suspended driver’s license for a probationary license to drive. Qualifying drivers are those who have been handed a driver’s license suspension for 60 to 90 days because they committed three moving violations within a 12-month period. Prior to signing up for a traffic school course you must have been notified of your eligibility by the Illinois SOS office.
Where to Take a Driver Improvement Class/Traffic School
Driver improvement programs and defensive driving courses are available in various locations throughout the state of Illinois. Driving classes are offered either online or in person at local community colleges.
Why do I need traffic school?
Attending Illinois traffic school can help lower your auto insurance premiums and prevent points from accumulating on your driving record. Drivers who complete defensive driving classes become less of a liability to car insurance companies and will thus receive coverage at a lower cost.
Did you know? You may be required by the court to complete a defensive driving class if you have previously been convicted of a traffic violation in Illinois.
Who can take a defensive driving course in Illinois?
Any licensed driver may enroll in a local defensive driving course if he or she has received a citation or accumulated points on his or her Illinois driving record. Resident drivers can take traffic school courses in Illinois to remove points or tickets from their records. IL SOS students may also complete defensive driving school to help lower their car insurance premiums, or increase their chances of obtaining a job as a commercial vehicle driver.
Dismissing Traffic Points in Illinois
Enrolling in DMV driving improvement classes that are approved by the IL Secretary of State may grant drivers a point reduction on their driving history report. The number of points assigned to an Illinois resident’s driving record varies according to the severity of the offense committed and may range from five points to 55 points. Driver’s license suspensions or revocations are issued in the following circumstances:
- When drivers older than 21 commit three or more offenses within 12 months.
- When drivers younger than 21 commit two or more offenses within 24 months.
Additionally, points on your IL driving record can cause your car insurance rates to spike. Depending on your violation, opportunities may be available to remove points from your driving record.
Illinois Defensive Driving Insurance Discounts
Registering for an Illinois safety driving course may make you eligible to receive an insurance discount. Vehicle insurance discounts are only granted at the discretion of auto insurance companies. The IL DMV does not monitor or control insurance premiums, nor does it have the authority to issue you any discounts or rate reductions.
Did you know? You must present a traffic school certificate of completion to your insurance provider and the IL SOS in order to be eligible for a car insurance discount.
Enrolling in IL Defensive Driving Courses
How to Enroll in a Illinois Defensive Driving Course
Driver safety courses in Illinois vary in their enrollment methods, depending on which driving school you choose to attend. Contact your local IL SOS and ask about all the different DMV defensive driving courses available in your county. Once you obtain the necessary information, contact the school directly in order to register.
Enroll in a state-approved online course today!
Online Illinois Defensive Driving Courses vs. in Person
Illinois defensive driving classes can be completed in a classroom setting or online. The IL driving improvement courses can last anywhere from four to 12 hours and are offered in various locations throughout the state. Choosing to take a defensive driving course in person will give you the opportunity to be taught directly by a qualified instructor. However, if you take the driving course online, you can stop and resume your session at your convenience.
Cost of Traffic School in Illinois
Illinois traffic school cost ranges between $40 and $92 per defensive driving course, depending on which school you enroll in. Whether you choose to take in-classroom or online traffic courses also affects the set fee.
IL Defensive Driving Course Eligibility
The court may order a driver to enroll in a defensive driving class in Illinois if he or she has accumulated a certain amount of points on his or her driving record. Additionally, drivers may voluntarily participate in a driver safety program to receive a car insurance discount or to simply become better drivers.
Defensive Driving Course Certificate
After attending an Illinois defensive driving course, you may receive a driving school certificate of completion via mail. Drivers must present their safe driving course certificate to their vehicle insurance providers to be eligible for a car insurance discount.
Defensive Driving School and Point Reduction
Does an Illinois defensive driving school course remove a ticket?
Yes, attending an Illinois mature driver course may remove a recent traffic violation that you have been convicted of from your driving record.
How many times can I take a defensive driving course in Illinois?
The amount of times you are eligible to take a defensive driving course in Illinois may depend on whether you are enrolling to remove points from a recent traffic ticket. Other situations that might affect how many times you may be eligible to take a driver improvement course include if you would like to earn a car insurance discount or if you intend to reinstate a suspended driver’s license.
Does a ticket still have to be paid after taking a defensive driving course?
After completing an adult driving course with the IL DMV, you may or may not be required to pay a traffic ticket. The payment requirement depends on your traffic violation.
Can I remove a parking ticket if I take a defensive driving course?
Illinois defensive driving course enrollment does not enable an operator to remove a parking ticket from his or her record. Only traffic tickets may be dismissed.
DUIs and Defensive Driving School
Completion of a regular safe driving class in Illinois may not serve to reinstate a driver’s license that has been suspended or revoked due to DUI-related charges. However, DUI offenders who have been convicted of an alcohol- or drug-related traffic violation in Illinois may be required to complete an alcohol/drug evaluation and an alcohol/drug remedial education course or substance abuse treatment program before their driving privileges can be reinstated.
A DUI violator who chooses not to participate in the program and is caught driving a vehicle during the suspension period will be convicted of a Class 4 felony. An IL resident younger than the age of 21 who is convicted of a DUI may be ordered by a judge to participate in the Youthful Intoxicated Driver’s Visitation Program.