Illinois Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
When planning to get a motorbike license endorsement, you must get appropriate motorcycle training. The motorbike training course in Illinois is under the authority of the Illinois Department of Transport (IDOT) and is provided free of charge.

The current mandatory course is called Motorcycle Rider Education Course and is organized at facilities authorized by IDOT.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Illinois

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
Helmets are not required when driving a motorcycle in Illinois, however, it is strongly encouraged in order to practice safe riding and keep your driving recordclean on your motorbike drivers license. More information about helmet standards can be obtained from the Illinois Rules of the Road.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Illinois

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
Not complying with Illinois traffic laws might prevent you from being allowed to renew your car registration in Illinois. Actions that may hinder your ability to apply for a car registration renewal include:

  • Failure to provide adequate car insurance
  • Failure to clear driving record
  • Traffic fines and tickets
  • Unclear tax record

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Illinois

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
In order to submit an official address change in Illinois, you can use the online system or visita Secretary of State Facility in-person to submit the documents from the address change checklist. Both systems record each change separately therefore it is possible that each of the documents can have a different address.

When you submit the address change forms it is definitely advisable to take care of both processes to keep your data updated and keep in line with the 10-day deadline for reporting address changing.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Illinois

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
Some car insurance policies are transferable across states, as many insurance companies have branches nationwide.Drivers are suggested to check with their insurance agents if this option is available for them. Most states have locally adapted legislation and may often require specified policies.

Illinois drivers must take care to release themselves from the financial responsibility they have in their old home by filing the Financial Responsibility Insurance Waiver affidavit.

For more information: How To: Save on Illinois Auto Insurance

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
CDL renewalin Illinois is not currently available online, however, the Secretary of State Facility offers the option of making an appointment to renew commercial driving license at one of the 47 CDL authorized facilities across the state. The online appointment is charged with a $60 fee.

You must allow 48 hours to pass in order to be able to find your appointment online. If you fail the test, you may not reschedule for at least 48 hours. At the time of the actual skills test,CDL license applicants must bring a representative vehicle of the proper class to take the test.

For more information: lllinois Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
Secretary of State Facilities do not offer obtaining police record copies online. Under special parental responsibility and authorization, certain information about minors can be asked for online.

Drivers can, however, ask for police record information in person at a close Secretary of State Facility and via mail by sending your abstract form to the office in Springfield.

It will take at least 10 days for the record to be mailed at the address you have provided.

For more information: All About: Your Personal and Vehicle Records in Illinois

Can I take the DMV written test online?
Taking the test for drivers permit online is not an option in Illinois. All applicants need to adhere to the usual federal instructions and take the test in person at a Driver Services Facility.

If you are a young driver and have attended high school driving education, you are not required to provide any additional driving course certificates prior to taking the test.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Illinois

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
Drivers who have applied to drive interstate and have obtained this license authorization,are eligible to use their license out of the state of Illinois.

Drivers can check state requirements for CDL licenses at a local Secretary of State Facility. DMV locations at other states can be of help to explain local CDL license requirements.

For more information: lllinois Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
Drivers in Illinois can request someone else s car registration renewal online by processing the required forms and paying the applicable fee.Drivers can also mail-in car registration renewals for another person.

To inquire about any limitations connected to personal presence at time of renewalvisit a local Secretary of State Facility.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Illinois

Do boats need to be registered?
All boats and watercrafts in Illinois need to be registered. Boat registration regulations vary and are not as simple as the ones for car registration.

New boats and old boats, as well as boats that are locally purchased and boats purchased out of state, need to satisfy different criteria. Below are the documents that need to be submitted for each of the categories:

  • New watercraft purchased in Illinois:
    • Watercraft Registration/Title Application form
    • Original Manufacturer s Statement of Origin
    • Check or money order payable with registration fees depending on the boat class
    • Tax form is required only for Class 1 boats purchased from a dealer
    • Check or money order for the tax amount due
  • New watercraft purchased out of state:
    • Watercraft Registration/Title Application form
    • Original Manufacturer s Statement of Origin
    • Check or money order payable with registration fees depending on the boat class
    • Tax form
    • Copy of Bill of Sale or Purchase Agreement
    • Check or money order for the tax amount due
  • Used watercraft obtained from an individual:
    • Watercraft Registration/Title Application form
    • Original Manufacturer s Statement of Origin
    • Check or money order payable with registration fees depending on the boat class
    • Tax form only for Class 1 boats
    • Copy of Bill of Sale or Purchase Agreement
    • Check or money order for the tax amount due

Boat registration is completed at the Illinois Department of Natural Resources offices. Registration fees are divided into the following classes:

  • Class 1 fee is $28
  • Class 2 fee is $60
  • Class 3 fee is $160
  • Class 4 fee is $210

For more information: How to Register a Boat or Water Craft in Illinois

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
Getting a motorcycle license is mandatory for moped or scooter riders in Illinois.

Riders of smaller motorbikes have the same accountability as regular drivers in terms of road safety. Federal safety rules for titling and registration apply to a scooter if it has a federal safety certification label and a vehicle identification number (VIN).

Scooter or moped drivers must obey all road regulations and traffic laws that rare valid for bicycles.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Illinois

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
Drivers, who have made a moving violation or have obtained a traffic ticket, may need to attend additional driving education such as adefensive driving course.

On another note,drivers have the option to attend specialized driversed to reduce the points on their drivers license and clean their driving record. Traffic fines will need to be paid accordingly.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Illinois

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
You may need to cancel your car insurance if you are moving out of the state of Illinois. To release yourself from financial responsibility in Illinois, complete and submit the Financial Responsibility Insurance Waiveraffidavit and submit it to the relevant Secretary of State Facility.

This affidavit will only waive off your financial responsibility in Illinois. You must check the auto insurancerequirements of the new state for the rules and regulations that apply there.

For more information: How To: Save on Illinois Auto Insurance

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
If you suspect that you have become a victim of theft, it is recommended that you contact the nearest law enforcement facility in order to be protected from identity theft.

Providing a police report from a stolen drivers licensereport can also waive any applicable fee you may face when requesting a drivers license replacement.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Illinois Driver’s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
Filing a police report for a lost car registration is not a mandatory requirement in Illinois, but drivers are highly advised to do so in order to prevent identity theft.

In some cases, filing a report for a lost or stolen car registration absolves the applicant of fee payment. Applicants will also be protected from potential fraud or other law violations that can come out of misusing of the missing car registration copy.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Illinois

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
There is no specific requirement for drivers movingout of state to return their license plates to the IL DMV.

When you intend to move elsewhere, it is advisable that you check the vehicle registration regulations of the new country to confirm what is needed and avoid being without personal transport.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Illinois

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
To increase driver s safety on the roads of Illinois, the Secretary of State has introduced mandatory high school driving education.

If drivers have not taken a high school driving course, drivers aged between 18 and 20 are required to take six additional hours of an adult drivers education course before obtaining a full drivers license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Illinois

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
No, drivers in Illinois are not required to turn in damaged car titles. Once a car title has been replaced, the old title is declared invalid to avoid any possible fraud related to them.

Illinois has one of the safest systems for issuance of car titles, which uses watermarks, security thread and other security features, making frauds extremely difficult.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Illinois

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
No, in the state of Illinois it is not required to submit a damaged car registration copy to the Secretary of State Facility.

When you get a new car registration, the old copy is declared invalid and will no longer be usable. It is advisable that you keep an eye on the damaged copy in order to avoid having it lost or stolen.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Illinois

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
Motor-driven cycles and motorcycles are required to have a proper car registration and car title in order to be legally operated on the roads of Illinois.

Motorized scooters need to be registered if they fall under the category of carriers of a federal safety certification label, in addition to having a vehicle identification number (VIN). The motorized scooter will get a specificlicense plateas well. If you make a switch to another grade of two-wheel vehicle, you must return the old license plate to the Secretary of State.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Illinois

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
All standard motor vehicles in Illinois qualify for smog inspection unless considered exempt. The smog inspection is done by using a standardized emissions test and is regulated by the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency.

Drivers who own vehicles included in the list below are exempt from smog inspections when they register vehicles:

  • Vehicles that run on Diesel or on electricity
  • Motorcycles and motor-driven cycles
  • Antique vehicles and custom vehicles
  • Vehicles for ceremonial purposes
  • Non-profit vehicles
  • Vehicles older than 1995
  • Farm vehicles and implements of husbandry
  • Vehicles with smog inspection certificate from another state
  • Vehicles with Junking Certificate
  • Vehicles for sporting activities
  • Implements of warfare

Smog inspections are done at Test Stations using the On-Board-Diagnostics System.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Illinois

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
To avoid drivers license suspension in Illinois, drivers must make sure to present the necessary proof of auto insurance whenever it is required. There are a number of occasions in which drivers must satisfy this requirement in order to avoid suspension, which include:

  • If randomly sampled for an insurance questionnaire
  • If stopped for a traffic violation or traffic accident by a law enforcement officer
  • Failing to provide SR22 insurance upon request
  • Failing to provide Financial Responsibility Insurance Waiver affidavit when moving out of state

For more information: How To: Save on Illinois Auto Insurance

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
To get a veteran designation on your identification card, you must prove that you are a veteran under an honorable discharge.

To get an honorable status, visit a local Illinois Department of Veterans Affairs’ Office, take a completed DD-214 document or Form 13038 and have it certified with a stamp. Visit any Secretary of State Facility to have the designation put on your ID card.

Costs that you will need to pay for the veteran marking depend on the point of application. No fee is charged during ID card renewal. Designation at any other point of time costs $10. Seniors over 65 can get the veteran designation free of charge.

For more information: How to Apply for an Illinois Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
A copy of the drivers manual is available online on the Driver Services Department’s website of the Secretary of State in Illinois. Illinois driving manuals are also available at high schools across the state.

The Course Workbook can be obtained at authorized locations for instructors of the Cooperative Driver Testing Program who teachdrivers ed.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Illinois

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
In order to paytraffic finesin Illinois, you can use two different methods:

  • Contact the town or city which issued the ticket
  • Use the Illinois state E-pay system

The city authority will explain and provide information on the payment options available to you. E-pay is run by the Illinois State Treasurer s Office and will be able to offer the online payment option if it is available for your municipality.

By choosing to pay a traffic ticket directly, it is considered that you have pleaded guilty. Drivers also have the option to dispute the ticket by engaging a traffic lawyer.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Illinois

How can I renew my drivers license?
Drivers canrenew drivers licenseusing one of three methods:

  • In person at a nearby Secretary of State Facility
  • Online via the Safe Renewal System, if you have shown a good drivers record in the last four years
  • Out-of-State Renewal option,if you are a military personnel stationed abroad

Each method requires drivers to provide proof of identity and pay the appropriate fees, unless the applicant is fee-exempt. Once all the aforementioned steps have been completed, drivers will be issued a renewed license, which in Illinois has several security features.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Illinois

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
In order to renew your car registration in Illinois, you can use four different methods:

  • Online License Plate Renewal
  • Touch Tone Phone System renewal at 866-545-9609
  • Mail renewal to:Illinois Secretary of StateVehicle Services Department501 S. 2nd. St., Rm. 011Springfield, IL 62756-6666

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Illinois

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
When you are moving to another state, you will need to follow the local rules of the new state you reside in.Out of state car registration almost always has specific rules with localized license plates, registration renewal fees and expiry dates.

For more information:How to Register a Vehicle in Illinois

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
Minimal standards for obtaining acommercial driving license fall under federal regulations with restricted state authority. When submitting aCDL application in Illinois, you must fulfill certain stricter criteria than the ones that are required for a regular drivers license. Additionally, you must present relevant documents and certificates. To get your CDL license, you are required to:

  • Be over 18 to apply for a Commercial Drivers License (CDL) or a Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP) to operate intrastate.
  • Be over 21 to operate interstate or to transport passengers.
  • Possess either a valid Illinois CDL license or regular drivers license.
  • Pay the $50 fee.
  • Take all required written, skills and vision tests.
  • Provide proof of legal presence.
  • Provide Medical Examiner’s Certificate.
  • Self-certify your intrastate or interstate medical driving status.

Specific endorsements fees for CDL licenses may vary.

For more information: lllinois Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
There are three options you can choose from when applying for a disabled person parking placard or plate, including:

To prove qualification for a disabled parking placard or plate, follow these steps:

  1. Provide medical proof of one of the six medical conditions
  2. Submit Persons with Disabilities Certification for Parking Placard/License Plates form
  3. Present a copy of the old car registration
  4. Present ID card or drivers license
  5. Bring car title or Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin for new vehicles
  6. Pay $29 fee

Illinois also operates on an electronic Pick-a-Plate system, which you can use to complete the car registration for the disability placards faster.

For more information:How to Register a Vehicle in Illinois

How do I apply for a drivers license?
To get drivers license in Illinois, drivers must visit a local Secretary of State Facility and follow these steps:

  1. Provide proof of ID
  2. Have photo taken
  3. Surrender any other valid ID card, instruction permit or CDL license
  4. Pass required tests
  5. Pay $30 fee for persons over 21 or $5 for persons between 18 and 20 years old

Drivers license application is done under the Illinois graduated licensing system which means that an instruction permit is issued before obtaining a regular driving license.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Illinois

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
Beginner drivers in Illinois must go through two phases whengetting a learners permit. The first phase is for drivers aged 15 and the second phase is for drivers aged 16 and 17.

To complete your learners permit application for the first stage, visit your local Driver Services Facility and follow these steps:

  1. Submit application with accompanying documents
  2. Pass vision screening, written and driving test
  3. Pass high school drivers education
  4. Obtain 50 hours of driving practice
  5. Pay appropriate fees

The first phase will get you an instruction permit, which you must hold for at least nine months before you take on steps for the second stage. The second phase requires parental approval and entails holding a learners permit for at least nine additional months, in order to be eligible to apply for a full drivers license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Illinois

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
The motorcycle driving license in Illinois can be of two different classes:

  • Class L motorbike license is for motor-driven cycles with less than 150cc
  • Class M motorbike license is for any motorcycle or motor-driven cycle

Drivers who need to get a motorcycle endorsement must successfully pass driving skills test that is adapted to the type of the motorcycle they re riding.

Drivers between ages 16 and 17, must successfully complete a motorcycle course approved by the Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT). Passing the course will obtain them a J09 restriction on their license, which refers to the class M motorcycle license. Drivers over 18, who successfully complete the Motorcycle Rider Education Course, do not need to take additional knowledge exam or driving test at a Secretary of State Facility in order to be designated a class M motorcycle license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Illinois

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
Changing your address on your car insurance documents in Illinois depends on the insurance company that services your policy. To change your address, call the customer service number on your insurance card or policy documents and ask the customer service representative “How to change my address.”

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Illinois

How do I change my address on my car registration?
Drivers can submit anaddress change request for acar registration in Illinois either online, via mail, or in person. Accompanying procedures such as license plate renewals can also be done online.

  • Online address changing can be done when drivers renew registration. Drivers will be required to provide the code and PIN stated on the renewal notice.
  • Address changing via mail can be done using the Address Change box at the end of the renewal notice. Payment can be made as a personal or traveler’s check and submittedalong with form via mail. Take note that you will need to wait for about 30 days for the new sticker to arrive.
  • In order to submit anaddress change request in person, visit a nearby Secretary of State Facility and submit the completed renewal notice along with the appropriate fee.

Fees depend on the type of document that you will need to correct. It is recommended that you check any recent fee changes before you apply, as they may be related to fees about car title changes.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Illinois

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
The process of changing an address on a CDL is the same as the process for changing an address on a regular license. To initiate an official address change, drivers mustsubmit a completed Address Change Form, which can be obtained using any of the following methods:

Make sure to submit one address change request for each record. Each vehicle that you own must be recorded separately. All personal documents for which the address changing can be updated online need to be submitted separately.

To complete the address change on your drivers license at drivers facilities, you also need to add the applicable $5 fee and two additional documents that can serve as proof of identification.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Illinois

How do I change my address on my drivers license?
In order to request anofficial address changein Illinois, you need to submit a completed Address Change Form, which you can obtain using any of the following methods:

Make sure to submit one address change request for each record. Each vehicle that you own must be recorded separately. All personal documents for which the address changing can be updated online need to be submitted separately.

To complete the address change on your drivers license at drivers facilities, you also need to add the applicable $5 fee and two additional documents that can serve as proof of identification.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Illinois

How do I change my address on my ID card?
To change address on your ID card, residents can either visit a Secretary of State Facility or use the online system to submit the following documents:

  • Address Change Form
  • Two documents that serve as proof of identity
  • Payment for appropriate fees:
    • $10 update fee for persons over 18
    • $5 update fee for persons under 18

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Illinois

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
The process to change your name on your car insurance policy may vary according to the rules and guidelines of your car insurance company.

When transferring the insurance policy to your new name, get in touch with your insurance agent. The Illinois Department of Insurance has developed guidelines for types of mandatory insurance that companies need to adhere to.

For more information: How To: Save on Illinois Auto Insurance

How do I change my name on my car registration?
The process to change your name on your car registration must start with the name change on the car title, as they are interrelated.

Car titles can be corrected if you submit an Application for Vehicle Transactions via the Illinois Electronic Registration System, along with evidence of the reason for name change, and data for the odometer reading.

When you get your updated car title, you can submit the petition for name change at the closest Secretary of State Facility via mail or in person and include the following documents:

  • A check payable to the Illinois Secretary of State or a major credit card
  • Your signed renewal notice
  • The corrected title
  • Supporting documentation

You will receive your new sticker that indicates the official name change within 30 days.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Illinois

How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
Name changingin Illinois must be initially done with the Social Security Administration (SSA). To officially change your name at SSA, applicants must submitproof of identity, proof of citizenship proof of age and a completed Application for Social Security Card. Once this procedure is completed, you can request a name change on yourdrivers license at state facilities.

To correct the name on your drivers license as an Illinois citizen, follow these steps:

  1. Visit a Secretary of State Facility
  2. Provide proof of identity
  3. Provide your old drivers license
  4. Pay $5 fee

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Illinois

How do I change my name on my ID card?
As an Illinois resident, you can request a name change on anID card only if you have previously done the change with the Social Security Administration (SSA).

The steps to change your name on your ID card include:

  1. Visit a Secretary of State Facility
  2. Provide proof of identity
  3. Pay relevant fee:
    1. $10 for persons over 18
    2. $5 for persons under 18
    3. Free of charge for persons over 65

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Illinois Driver s License or ID Card

How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
Applicants in Illinois who wish to file aname change requestcan get in touch with the Social Security Administration in several ways including:

  • The official SSA homepage
  • Use your personal Social Security account
  • Use your Social Security Card and Number booklet
  • Call toll-free at 1-800-772-1213
  • Call for hearing-impaired at TTY number 1-800-325-0778

For more information: All About: Your Drivers License and ID

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
If you suspect that someone has illegally accessed your record you should immediately inform the nearest Secretary of State Facility.

You can also choose to instigate legal proceedings and take the person to court for civil action. Apart from this, the person who has done the illegal access will be prosecuted for criminal behavior.

For more information: All About: Your Personal and Vehicle Records in Illinois

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
Although you are not required to file a police report in Illinoisby law, in the eventthat your car registration has been stolen, it is highly recommended that you do so.

Filing a report at an Illinois police station will save you from potential violators who can misuse your car registration, stickers or plates for illegal action. Timely report will keep your driving record impeccable and your car registration history safe.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Illinois

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
Filing a police report is not mandatory in Illinois; however, it is highly advisable to do so in order to better protect you from identity abuse and potential fraud that may come out as a result from the theft. In some cases, filing a police report can also lead to thecar title replacement fee being waived.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Illinois

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
Driverfacilities in Illinois offer the service of purchasing an abstract of the driving record. To get one, you will needto fill in theDrivers Record Abstract Request Form, prepare the $12 fee payment, and submit the form using any of the following methods:

Secretary of State

2701 S. Dirksen Parkway

Springfield, IL 62723

When completing the form, confirm your identity to show that you are authorized to ask for the information. Only one record is issued per request. If you want additional records you need to complete separate forms. Allow for 10 to 15 days to have the information mailed back to you.

For more information: All About: Your Personal and Vehicle Records in Illinois

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
If your ID card has been lost, stolen, or destroyed, you may apply for a duplicate ID card, which is issued in the same format as the original ID card. If you are under 60 and have reported it stolen to the police,theduplicate ID card fee will be waived.

To get an ID card copy in Illinois, you need to:

  • Visit a Secretary of State Facility.
  • Provide proof of identity.
  • Pay adequate fee for your category:
    • $20 for regular duplicate
    • $10 for persons under 18
    • No fee is required for military personnel and for victims of theft (police report is required for persons under 60)

For more information: How to Apply for an Illinois Identification Card

How do I get a hardship license?
To obtain the right to hardship conditions in Illinois, you need to follow the instructions for obtaining a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) by completing and meeting the following requirements:

  • Submit application at a Secretary of State Facility
  • Must not be a multiple offender under Statutory Summary Suspension
  • Must not be under 16 years of age
  • Must prove that the hardship exists
  • Provide medical evaluation and proof of treatment
  • Appear before a hearing officer and prove you are not a danger to public safety
  • Repeat offenders must have Ignition Interlock Device installed and pay applicable fees
  • Pay $50 filing fee

For more information:Suspended License Information in Illinois

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
When working for the military out of the state, you can use the expired drivers license extension privilege, which validates your expired drivers license for a period of 120 days upon your return to Illinois. After the 120 days, you will need to file for a proper duplicate drivers license.

To use this privilege, you must carry your old drivers license copy and a Military Deferral Certificate. To get the required certificate, send back and front copies of your military ID card and data for your current out-of-state address to:

Secretary of State License and Medical Review Unit 2701 S. Dirksen Parkway Springfield IL 62723

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Illinois Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
Driving record contains sensitive information and it is therefore protected. It is possible to obtain a copy of someone else s driving record in Illinois if you have the adequate notarized permission by the person you are asking the record for.

To get a copy of the police record, complete the Drivers Record Abstract Request Form along with the notarized written permission and prepare the $12 fee to purchase the record. You can submit the form in person or, if you are out of state, you can mail it to Secretary of State Facility.

There is an exemption related to getting driving records for minors under 18. Only their legal guardians or close family members can obtain this sensitive information, but they must also have written permission from the person listed on the form. The information you needwill be mailed to you within 10 to 15 days.

For more information: All About: Your Personal and Vehicle Records in Illinois

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
If your registration has been stolen, damaged, or lost, you can apply for a car registration replacement to get new stickers and a new registration card. To complete the application procedure, drivers are required to submit certain documents and applicable fee payments to the Secretary of State Facility using one of the following methods:

  • In person at a local Secretary of State Facility
  • Mail to:
    • Office of the Secretary of StateVehicle Records Processing Division501 S. 2nd St., Room 424Springfield, IL 62756-6666
  • Online

Incomplete applications are returned to the sender. Make sure to include extra fees for replacement plates if you apply for them.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Illinois

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
Drivers in Illinois can apply for acar title replacementat Secretary of State Facilities across Illinois by collecting the required documents and submitting the application with the fees,using one of the following ways:

  • In person
  • By mail:

Office of the Secretary of State Vehicle Records Processing Division 501 S. 2nd. St., Room 424 Springfield, IL 62756-6666

If you are in a hurry to get your duplicate car title, Illinois has established an Expedited Car title Service which gives the option of faster service for an extra $30 fee. You must wait at least 30 days to receive a new title to avoid potential frauds with duplicate titles.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Illinois

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
To obtain a drivers license copy in Illinois, follow these steps:

  1. Visit a nearby Secretary of State Facility
  2. Submit all necessary documents
  3. Pay appropriate fees

Applicants are required to present damaged drivers licenses to the IL DMV along with acceptable proof of identification.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Illinois Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
If you want to transfer a car title in situations in which your vehicle has suffered substantial losses and is severely damaged and dysfunctional, you need to follow the procedure for getting a salvaged car title.

To obtain a salvaged car title in Illinois, follow the steps from the checklist below when you apply online, mail or show up at a nearby Secretary of State Facility:

  1. Schedule salvage inspection
  2. Complete Application for Vehicle Transaction(s) (VSD 190)
  3. Present old car title
  4. Present old registration
  5. Let the rebuilder fill out the Affirmation Supporting Salvage Certificate
  6. Pay $4 salvage certificate fee

The salvage certificate needs to provide evidence for damage to vehicle essential parts.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Illinois

How do I obtain car registration?
Getting a car registration in Illinois can be done using one of the following methods:

  • In person at a nearby Secretary of State Facility
  • Online via the Electronic Registration and Title System (ERT)
  • Call toll free 1-800-252-8980

You can submit the application and the accompanying documents either in person or online.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Illinois

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
Illinois is among the states that do not employ a Habitual Traffic Offender law.This does not mean that repetitive violations are not treated stricter than first-time violations. Repeat offenders get longer periods of drivers license suspension and need to pay additional fees.

For more information: Suspended License Information in Illinois

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
If you have been driving under the influence and you refuse to submit to the chemical test, you will be put under statutory summary suspension. This suspension bears activities and consequences, which you must take care of to reinstate your driving license. You will not be able to obtain a Restricted Driving Permit.

To reinstate driving license, you will need to:

  • Attend a court hearing.
  • Pay all suspension fines.
  • Take an alcohol awareness program.
  • Post bond if required.
  • Attend community service.
  • Get BAAID installed and pay the costs.
  • Pay fines for towing or impounding.

Once you complete each action you may obtain a written notice from a Secretary of State Facility, whichmust be used as proof of your clear driving record when you apply for adrivers license reinstatement.

For more information: DUI/DWI information in Illinois

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
Reinstating a suspended driving license in Illinois can be done in two specific ways depending on the type of suspension you ve been given.

If you have been put under a Statutory Summary Suspension, follow these steps:

  1. Clear all other revocations or suspensions
  2. Pay $250 or $500 reinstatement fee for repeated offenders

If you have been put under a revocation (Statutory Summary Suspension included), proceed with these steps:

  1. Clear driving record
  2. Take an alcohol evaluation
  3. Complete an alcohol awareness program
  4. Appear for a hearing and demonstrate that public safety will not be endangered if driving privileges are restored
  5. File proof of financial responsibility prior to reinstatement
  6. Pay $500 reinstatement fee
  7. Pass all tests
  8. Pay appropriate application fee

For more information:Suspended License Information in Illinois

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
Offenders who want to remove points from their driving license in Illinoisgenerally need to take an 8-hourdefensive driving course at an Illinois traffic school and fulfill all other conditions which have been put upon them with a court order.

Each case is treated individually. If you want to take care of the traffic ticket fines more quickly or efficiently, contacting a traffic lawyer is a good option.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Illinois

How do I renew my driving permit?
If you are under 21, your license will expire three months before you turn 21. Drivers will receive a reminder notice from the Secretary of State usually 60 to 90 days before the instruction permit expires.

Renewals for a learning permit depend on your age and generally require following these steps:

  1. Visit a Driver Services Facility
  2. Provide proof of identity
  3. Pay the appropriate fee
  4. Present evidence for passed tests

If you want to check whether the Safe Renewal option is available online, contact DMV locations for details about your driving record.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Illinois

How do I renew my ID card?
If you are an applicant who has started the process of ID card renewal in Illinois, you only need to submit your current drivers license or ID card to the IL DMV.

If you don t have your drivers license or your ID card at hand, you will need to submit at least one of the following documents:

  • One proof of written signature
  • Two proofs of residency
  • Proof of your date of birth
  • Proof of social security number

Once you have acquired all the required documents, visit a Secretary of State Facility and submit them along with a $10ID card renewal fee. Senior citizens, persons with disabilities, and homeless persons are fee-exempted. Illinois Rules of the Road book contains a carefully compiled list of all personal documents that can serve for the above purposes.

For more information: How to Apply for an Illinois Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you are a member of the armed forces and stationed abroad, you can use anexpired drivers license for 120 days upon your return to Illinois. This is a privilege that extends to your spouse and children, as well.

To utilize this privilege, you must carry your old driving license copy on you along with a Military Deferral Certificate, which you can obtain by sending a copy of your military card stating your out-of-state address to the following address:

Secretary of State License and Medical Review Unit 2701 S. Dirksen Parkway Springfield IL 62723

After the six-month period expires, drivers need to renew their license at Secretary of State Facilities.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Illinois

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
The medical certificate for a CDL license usually expires two years after the date of issuance. Once it expires, all drivers in Illinois must renew the certificate by contacting an authorized medical examiner.

Drivers are required to submit their certification to the Secretary of State Facility either in person or by using any of the following methods:

  • Mail the certificate to:

Secretary of State s Office

Attn: CDL/Medical Card Unit

2701 South Dirksen Parkway Springfield, Il 62723

  • Fax to: (217) 558‐5156
  • Email scanned copy to: cdlmedicalcard@ilsos.net

For more information: lllinois Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
In order to renew a motorcycle licensein Illinois, make sure to visit a DMV facility and follow these steps:

  1. Provide proof of identity
  2. Pay $5 renewal fee
  3. Pass vision test, if required

Fees are subject to change therefore it is recommended to contact your local Secretary of State Facility to check for any recent fee updates. Further details are available in the Illinois Rules of the Road.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Illinois

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
If you are a non-U.S. citizen residing in Illinois, you will need to provide evidence of having a legal status in the state. To do so, you need to submit the following documents:

  • Proof of written signature:
    • I-551 – Alien Registration Card
    • I-766 – Employment Authorization Card
    • I-94 – Arrival/Departure Record with Valid Passport
  • Proof of date of birth:
    • I-551 – Alien Registration Card
    • I-571 – Refugee Travel Document
    • I-766 – Employment Authorization Card
    • I-797A – Notice of Action Status Change
    • I-94 – Arrival/Departure Record with Valid Passport
  • Proof of Social Security Number

The same document from the above-mentioned list can be used for more than one of the purposes above to obtain a new drivers license copy.

For more information:Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Illinois Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
In order to request an IL drivers license replacement from out of state, drivers may contact the Special License and Re-Examination Unit in Illinois by phone at 217-782-6901 to request a 90-day temporary drivers license. In order to be eligible, drivers must be out of state for no more than 90 days and must hold a valid driving license. The temporary license will be mailed to the drivers current address.

For stays out of the state that are longer than 90 days, drivers can get necessary forms for drivers license replacement via mail.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Illinois Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
If you are a new resident to Illinois and you need to transfer your vehicle and your car title to your new home, contact a close Secretary of State Facility within 30 days of your arrival and provide the following documents:

  • Application for Vehicle Transaction(s) (VSD-190)
  • Proof of name and residency of the owner
  • Odometer Disclosure Statement
  • Vehicle description
  • Proof of any lienholders details
  • Original signature
  • Lease purchase agreement
  • Out-of-state car registration
  • Out-of-state car title
  • Manufacturer s certificate of origin
  • Bill of Sale

For more information about Illinois regulations please call 217- 782-6306. If you are moving out of Illinois, get in touch with the local drivers facility.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Illinois

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
Residents of Illinois cannottransfer car titles of vehiclesthat they do not have the original title for. Drivers who have lost the original car title must proceed to apply for a duplicate car title. Only once they get a duplicate title copy can they go ahead and finish the transfer procedure.

Inquiries can be made at:

Secretary of State

VSD Forms Distribution

3701 Winchester Road

Springfield, IL 62707

800-252-8980

312-793-1010

Applications for duplicate titles can only be accepted 15 days after the original title was lost.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Illinois

How do I transfer my car title?
The first thing you must do if you want to transfer your car title in Illinois is prepare the Application for Vehicle Transaction(s) (VSD 190).Once the application is completed, you can submit it use one of the following methods:

Office of the Secretary of State

Vehicle Records Processing Division

501 S. 2nd St., Room 424

If Expedited Title, Room 629

Springfield, IL 62756

  • Online via the Electronic Registration and Title System.
    • This option must be followed by a show-up at a facility within seven days.

You need to support the application for car title transfer with required documents and relevant fees to finish the transaction.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Illinois

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
If you are an owner of a recreational vehicle and you want to transfer a title to a new person,contact a Secretary of State Facility, fill out the Application for Vehicle Transaction(s) (VSD-190) form with correct data, and submit supporting documents along with the appropriate fee. Drivers must accompany the application with relevant documents from each group below:

  • Additional proof of personal circumstances
  • Title-related documents
  • Use tax transaction returns

If in addition, you need to get license plates, make sure to have the correct fee prepared. Plates for smaller trailers cost less and are as low as $18.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Illinois

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
Illinois residents who are members of the military,can drive with an expired driving license 120 days after they return to the country from their place of service.

When applying for renewal, members of the military are required to provide a Military Deferral Certificate along with their expired drivers license. In order to get a Military Deferral Certificate, you must mail in the following documents:

  • Copy of your current drivers license
  • Copy of the front and back of your military ID Card
  • Proof of out-of-state address

To:

Secretary of State License and Medical Review Unit 2701 S. Dirksen Parkway Springfield, IL 62723

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Illinois

How does the DMV check my vision?
The vision screening test required to get a drivers licenseis conducted at any Secretary of State Facility . Drivers are required to show 20/40 vision acuity on the test in order to be issued a certificate which can serve as proof in support to your drivers license application.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Illinois

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
The Illinois has a graduated drivers license system, which all drivers must follow. The GDL system consists of the following two phases:

  • Instruction permit phase: For drivers who are 15 years of age and is valid for two years.
  • Initial licensing instruction permit:For drivers who are 16 or 17 years of ageand is valid for one year.

Both phases of the instruction permit need to be held for at least nine months before drivers can apply for regular drivers license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Illinois

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
Drivers applying for acar title replacementin Illinois must wait at least 30 days for the Secretary of State Facility to begin processing the duplicate car title. This period is allowed for any title-related frauds to be avoided.

Afterwards, drivers must wait at least 60 to 90 days for the duplicate car title to be delivered to the home address provided on the car registration. Faster service is available with the Expedited Title Service for an additional $30 fee. The car title copy will be mailed outusing fast mail services.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Illinois

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
If you are stopped while driving in Illinois and oppose to take the chemical test, the law enforcement officer will issue an immediate driving license suspension for as long as:

  • One year for first offense
  • Three years for second or subsequent offenses

A driver who fails to submit to a blood test may later need to pay up to $500 for the medical costs incurred due to the blood test.

For more information: Suspended License Information in Illinois

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
The Secretary of State Facility personnel will take care to process your ID card application as soon as possible. Reminder notices are sent 60 to 90 days before the expiration of the identification card.

Members of the military or other applicants who are stationed our of the state have the privilege of using their expired ID card for as long as 120 days upon their return to the country.

For more information: How to Apply for an Illinois Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
The number of points assigned to one person s drivers license vary according to the severity of the offense and may range from 5 points to 55 points. Past driving record information also has an impact on the suspension notice.

  • For drivers over 21, suspension or revocation may be put when three or more offenses are committed within 12 months.
  • For drivers under 21, suspension or revocation may be put when two or more offenses are committed within 24 months.

It is at the court s disposal to decide about the suspension.

For more information: All About: Your Personal and Vehicle Records in Illinois

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
Depending on the court order issued by the court, which was in charge of the administrative hearing, you may be assigned to attend additional drivers education. A defensive driving course lasting for eight hours can be ordered to offenders who have been charged with DUI convictions.

When the relevant court of jurisdiction decides that is necessary, you can also be ordered to attend community service or courses that are related to the type of the offense that you have committed. You must fulfill all court order activities to have your driving record cleared.

For more information: All About: Your Personal and Vehicle Records in Illinois

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
There is no fee set for applicants requesting aname change oncar registrations.

Do, however, bear in mind the costs for name changing on the car title as this is a process that comes beforehand. To process the official name change on your car title, you will need to pay the applicable fees which may include:

  • $95 for regular vehicles
  • $30 for ATV vehicles
  • $15 for discounted car titles due to close family circumstances

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Illinois

How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
Name changes on car titles cost $95 in Illinois. Titles for ATV vehicles can be updated for $30.

Discounts for name changing that has occurred due to marriage or other important personal changes can be obtained if you submit a legal proof for the change instigated. The name change request will then cost $15.

For more information: All About: Your Drivers License and ID

How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
In order to apply for an official name change in Illinois, you will need to pay applicable fees, which may include:

  • $5 for corrected drivers license
  • $10 for corrected ID card for persons over 18
  • $5 for corrected ID card for persons under 18

Citizens over 65 are usually allowed to name corrections in documents free of charge.

For more information: All About: Your Drivers License and ID

How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
Commercial drivers license renewals in Illinois is done every 4 years. Renewal for CDLs needs to be instigated prior to the expiration date so that drivers are able to drive for commercial purposes with no restrictions or unnecessary breaks. To renew CDL license, follow these steps:

  1. Schedule an appointment online, via mail, email or by phone
  2. Pay $50 basic renewal fee
  3. Pay additional fees for an L or M class
  4. Provide proof of legal presence
  5. Pass tests for any upgrade of CDL classification
  6. Provide medical certificate for a non-excepted interstate driving

Make sure to pass tests to obtain certificates for driving hazardous materials and notify the relevant CDL authorized Secretary of State Facility of any address changes.

It is also recommended that you check for any variances in fees, which may be applicable for vehicles with certain weight and type of transport.

For more information: lllinois Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
In Illinois, dates for renewing drivers licensesin a timely manner depend on the type of driving license you hold and are as follows:

  • Two or four-year licenses: May renew up to one year before expiry date.
  • One-year licenses: May renew up to six months before expiration date.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Illinois

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
Vehicles left to an heir by a deceased Illinois resident have a slightly different transfer of title process. Heirs to inherited vehiclesneed to apply at Secretary of State Facilities and submit a completedApplication for Vehicle Transaction(s) (VSD 190), payment for applicable fee, and an affidavit of death form which is issued for two different time periods:

Applicants must also submit necessary tax forms (if any), the Odometer Disclosure Statement form and provide the correct VIN number along with the old car title.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Illinois

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
Make sure to renew your car registration as close as possible to the date when you receive your reminder notice in order to avoid any delays or fines you may suffer due to late renewals.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Illinois

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
The Secretary of State in Illinois has an established practice of fee waivers for stolen drivers license as long as certain conditions are satisfied.

Drivers over 60, who have been subject to theft, can ask for a fee waiver without submitting evidence for the filed police report.

Citizens under the age of 60 can also get their drivers license replacement free of charge as long as they accompany the request with evidence of a filed police report.

For more information:Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Illinois Driver’s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
In order to inquire about the type of coverage for car accidents you will need to obtain, get in touch with your insurance company. An agent will be able to provide you withappropriate advice.

If you get into a car accident, collect information about the vehicle damage, about the persons involved, the weather and the road conditions. Keep any photos and ask for personal information of the drivers involved. It is recommended that you don t move the vehicle. Keep the insurance policy with you in the car, as it usually gives particular details about the damage you need to report.

For more information: How To: Save on Illinois Auto Insurance

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
Liability car coverage is mandatory in Illinois. You must always carry it with you in the car to present it as proof upon request. Illinois residents who move out of state need to absolve themselves of financial responsibility by filing an affidavit. Note that when the affidavit is accepted your driver s license will also be canceled.

More details about Illinois car insurance policies can be obtained at:

Illinois Secretary of State

Driver Services Department

Financial Responsibility Section

2701 S. Dirksen Pkwy.

Springfield, IL 62723

Phone: 217-782-3720

For more information: How To: Save on Illinois Auto Insurance

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
Drivers who have lost a traffic ticket for a road law violation in Illinois,can ask for the information again using one of the following methods:

Secretary of State

2701 S. Dirksen Parkway

Springfield, IL 62723

Notarized requests are needed for minors and close family members.Traffic ticket fines can be disputed at court if decide to plead not guilty and if you get in touch with a traffic lawyer.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Illinois

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
In case you have been stationed abroad to reside or work in the military, you can use the extension privilege, which allows for the expired ID card to be used for 120 days upon you return to the country.

To prove your status you are required to carry a Military Deferral Certificate along with the expired copy.

For more information: How to Apply for an Illinois Identification Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
If you have committed a traffic violation under the influence for alcohol, you will have your driving license confiscated by a law enforcement officer who has estimated that your driving skills are impaired and that you will not be able to drive safely on the roads in Illinois.

Driversneed to fulfill the action required by the court order in order to reinstate their driving privileges. This includes:

  • Paying all traffic fines
  • Attending alcohol awareness programs
  • Any additional criminal law consequences

DWI convictions often have several arrangements to them for which professional legal help is often a necessity.

For more information: DUI/DWI information in Illinois

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
Vanity and personalized plates in Illinois are multi-year plates and can be displayed on the following vehicles:

  • Passenger vehicles
  • Motorcycles
  • Recreational vehicles
  • Recreational trailers
  • B-trucks weighing 8,000 pounds or less

In the event that you have lost your personalized plates, you can request a standard vanity or personalized plates by submitting the Vanity & Personalized License Plates Request Form to a local Secretary of State Facility.

Availability of plate combinations cannot be given over the phone. If your plate request is available, you will receive an application to be completedand returned along with the appropriate fees within 45 days.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Illinois

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
Applicants must be over 18 to apply for a Commercial Driver’s License or a Commercial Learner’s Permit to operate intrastate. They must be at least 21 to operate interstate or to transport passengers.

For more information: lllinois Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
Illinois has established some age restrictions to renew divers licenses that concern minors and senior citizens, which include:

  • Drivers under 21 must renew drivers license on or before 21st birthday.
  • Drivers aged between 21 and 80 must renew drivers license after four years.
  • Drivers between 81 and 86 mustrenew drivers license after two years.
  • Drivers 87 or older must renew drivers license each year.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Illinois

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
In Illinois, your vehicle registration must be kept in your car at all times to prove that your vehicle complies with all road and traffic regulations in the event that a police officer requests it.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Illinois

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
The drivers license copy will be mailed to the address you have provided to a nearby Secretary of State Facility.

It is recommended that you keep your address up-to-date and report any changes to driver’s facilities as soon as possible in order to avoid any discrepancies. The Secretary of State Facility will keep your address on your official driving record and will use it for any future correspondence.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Illinois Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
Senior drivers in Illinois have limited driving license validity and need to reapply sooner than younger drivers and are required to retake the vision screening test. Seniors over 75 are also required to take the driving exam.

The licensing renewal system is calibrated into three age categories:

  • From 21 to 80: Driving license is valid for four years and expires on driver’s birthday.
  • From 81 through 86: Driving license is valid for two years.
  • Over 87: Driving license is valid for one year.

Renewal fees are discounted for senior drivers who are applying for drivers license with drivers over 87 being fee-exempt.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Illinois

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
Transferring a car title is necessary whenever there is a change in vehicle ownership. Changes in ownership may be due to:

  • Family inheritance of vehicle due to death of a family member.
  • Receiving a vehicle as a gift.
  • Selling or buying a used vehicle.
  • Vehicle donation.

Vehicle titles in Illinois can be transferred if you get in touch with a nearby Secretary of State Facility.

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
A suspended driving license in Illinois may be the result of improper traffic behavior, which violates road rules, as well as other laws. Some of the most common activities that can break the law and lead to adrivers license suspension include:

  • Driving while intoxicated
  • Refusal to submit to a chemical test
  • Driving without propercar insurance
  • Driving with a suspended license or with no license
  • Speeding
  • Excessive moving violations
  • Failure to appear at a court hearing
  • Failure to provide child support

For more information:Suspended License Information in Illinois

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
Motorcycle licenses in Illinois are issued to drivers who are at least 16 years old.

Drivers under 18 will get an instruction permit, which is valid for 12 months and is intended for use on Class M motorcycles. Drivers who are 18 years of age are eligible to apply for a 24-month valid instruction permit which is intended for Class L motorcycles.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Illinois

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
The CDL endorsements in Illinois are as follows:

  • Hazardous materials
  • Double/Triple
  • Tank vehicles
  • Passenger
  • School bus
  • Combination Vehicle/Tank and Hazardous materials endorsement
  • Charter Bus Endorsement

For more information: lllinois Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
Driving with a suspended drivers license in Illinois will put you through a graduated system of additional suspensions and fines:

  • First conviction:
    • Class A misdemeanor
    • Imprisonment of 10 days or 30 days of community service
    • Fines as high as $2,500
    • Suspension for double the original period or additional revocation of one year
    • Possible seizure or forfeiture of vehicle
  • Second conviction:
    • Class 4 felony
    • Imprisonment of 30 days or 300 hours of community service
    • Suspension for double the original period or additional revocation of one year
    • Possible seizure or forfeiture of vehicle
  • Third conviction:
    • Class 4 felony
    • Imprisonment of 30 days or 300 hours of community service
    • Suspension for double the original period or additional revocation of one year
    • Possible seizure or forfeiture of vehicle
  • Fourth through ninth conviction:
    • Class 4 felony
    • Imprisonment of 180 days
    • Suspension for double the original period or additional revocation of one year
    • Possible seizure or forfeiture of vehicle
  • 10th through 14th conviction:
    • Class 3 felony
    • No probation or conditional discharge
    • Suspension for double the original period or additional revocation of one year
    • Possible seizure or forfeiture of vehicle
  • 15th or subsequent convictions:
    • Class 2 felony
    • No probation or conditional discharge
    • Suspension for double the original period or additional revocation of one year
    • Possible seizure or forfeiture of vehicle

If your license has been suspended because you have been convicted of three moving violations within the last twelve months, you can continue to drive with a Probationary License if you fulfill certain criteria, including:

  • Owning a valid drivers license that is not expired.
  • Being at least 21 years of age.
  • Attending a Defensive Driving Course.

For more information:Suspended License Information in Illinois

What are the different types of driving records?
Police records in Illinois are issued in the same form for all applicants. The Secretary of State Facilities issues two different types of driving records:

  • Certified driving record
  • Non-certified driving record

Certified copies need an additional $2 fee on top of the basic $12 fee. There is a special box on the request form that you must check if you want to get a certified copy.

For more information: All About: Your Personal and Vehicle Records in Illinois

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
Costs associated with an ID card in Illinois depend on whether you are processing a new ID card application, or whether you are applying for an ID card renewal or an ID card replacement.

For each of these procedures there are fees that are associated with certain age and status categories:

  • New ID card:
    • $20 for persons over 18
    • $10 for persons under 18
    • Free of charge for persons over 65, homeless persons or persons with disabilities
  • ID card updates or corrections:
    • $10 for persons over 18
    • $5 for persons under 18
  • Duplicate ID card:
    • $20 for persons over 18
    • $10 for persons under 18
    • Free of charge:
    • Military members and their families,
    • homeless and persons with disabilities
    • applicants whose ID car has been lost or stolen (a police report is required for person under 60)

For more information: How to Apply for an Illinois Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
Costs for the duplicate drivers license in Illinois vary according to the age and the status of the applicant. The reason behind the replacement is also considered.

When getting a copy of a driving license that has been mutilated, stolen or lost,the required fees fall under two categories including:

  • $5 basic replacement fee for regular applicants
  • No fee for:
    • Members of the military and their spouses and children
    • Persons over 60 with stolen drivers license
    • Persons under 60 with stolen drivers license (must add police report)

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Illinois Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
Drivers with a learning permit are required to comply with certain restrictions in Illinois, including:

  • Drivers must have 50 hours supervised driving out of which ten at night.
  • All car passengers must wear safety belts.
  • Drivers can only drive limited number of passengers.
  • Driver must not use cell phone while driving if under 19 years of age, except in an emergency.
  • Drivers must not text and drive.
  • Drivers must not have any convictions during the first nine months.
  • Drivers must not drive during certain hours at nighttime.

Failing to keep in line with these restrictions may result in having harmful consequences to your driving record.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Illinois

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
When submitting a CDL application in Illinois, applicants are required to present two specific medical certificates along with other supporting documents, which include:

  • Medical Examiner’s Certificate
  • Self-certificate for the CDL category that you intend to use:
    • Interstate excepted
    • Interstate non-excepted
    • Intrastate excepted CDL
    • Intrastate non-excepted CDL

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration is the body that is responsible for delivering all regulations that refer to commercial vehicles. Some physical impairments, which affect driver s ability to safely operate commercial vehicles, may require additional medical evidence.

For more information: lllinois Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
The most common reasons for having to request a car registration replacement in Illinois include:

  • Lost registration card
  • Damaged registration card
  • Mutilated/destroyed registration card
  • Stolen registration card

Additionally, do note that changes in car title must be reflected on the car registration.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Illinois

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
Penalties for DUI offenders in Illinois are divided in six tiers, whose severity increases along with the repetition of the behavior:

  • First conviction:
    • Class A misdemeanor, minimum revocation of driving privileges for 1 year (2 years if driver is under age 21), suspension of vehicle registration.
  • Second conviction:
    • Class A misdemeanor, mandatory minimum imprisonment of 5 days or 240 hours of community service, revocation of driving privileges for a minimum of 5 years for a second conviction within 20 years, and suspension of vehicle registration.
  • Third conviction (aggravated DUI):
    • Class 2 felony revocation of driving privileges for a minimum of 10 years, suspension of vehicle registration.
  • Fourth conviction (aggravated DUI):
    • Class 2 felony, revocation of driving privileges for life with no relief available,and suspension of vehicle registration.
  • Fifth conviction (aggravated DUI):
    • Class 1 felony, revocation of driving privileges for life with no relief available,and suspension of vehicle registration.
  • Sixth or subsequent conviction (aggravated DUI):
    • Class X felony, revocation of driving privileges for life with no relief available, and suspension of vehicle registration.

Each of these tiers has more severe fines if the BAC has been higher than 0.16 percent or if children have been included or have been victims of the DUI offense.

For more information: DUI/DWI information in Illinois

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
Illinois will charge you with reinstatement fees, which will be proportionally distributed among various state authorities and funds. The fees depend on the actual suspension or revocation attribution of the suspended drivers license. Suspension reinstatement fees include:

  • For first time offenders:
    • $250 fee, $30 of which goes to an Alcohol Abuse Fund
  • For repeated offenders:
    • $500 fee, $60 of which goes to the Illinois Road Fund
    • $190 to the Drunk and Drugged Driving Prevention Fund
    • $250 to the General Revenue Fund

Revocation reinstatement fees include:

  • $50 nonrefundable filing fee for the court hearing
  • $500 license reinstatement fee

For more information:Suspended License Information in Illinois

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
In Illinois, drivers are required to pay certain fees in order to apply for acar registration. There are two date-related registration categories available in Illinois:

  • Calendar car registration fees
  • Fiscal year car registration fees

Both of these refer to specific vehicle categories including:

  • $101 fee for passenger vehicles
  • $41 fee for motorcycles
  • Pro-rated fees for commercial and farm vehicles

Exact rates for all of the above according to weight are stipulated in the Registration Fees. License plates cost extra.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Illinois

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
To obtain acar title copy in Illinois, you will need to pay the appropriate fees which is unified for corrected and duplicate titles:

  • $95 fee for a regular duplicate car title
  • $30 fee for an ATV

Registration card fee is $101. If you also apply for duplicate license plates, consider fees for replacement stickers and plates, which are $20, and $6 or $9 for one or two plates respectively.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Illinois

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
Driversreplacing a car registration in Illinois, must be prepared to pay certain fees, along with submitting the required documentation. The fees that are required for car registration replacement in Illinois include:

  • Replacement stickers: $20
  • Replacement car registration card: $3
  • Replacement license plates:
    • $6 for one plate
    • $9 for two plates

Drivers who are interested in getting personalized or vanity platescan calla Secretary of State Facility and inquire about the applicable fees. Fees for personalized or vanity plates are usually higher and may require presenting additional documents.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Illinois

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
Basic fees forvehicle registration renewalare the same as for new registrations; however, you will also need to bear costs for license plates renewal.

License plates fees depend on the vehicle category:

  • B-Trucks:
    • Standard $101
    • Personalized $108
    • Vanity $114
  • Motorcycles:
    • Standard $41
    • Personalized $48
    • Vanity $54
  • Passenger vehicles:
    • Standard $101
    • Personalized $108
    • Vanity $114
  • Persons with disabilities:
    • Standard $101
    • Personalized $108
    • Vanity $114
  • RT (Recreational Trailers):
    • 3,000 lbs or less $18
    • 3,001 lbs – 8,000lbs $30
    • 8,001 lbs – 10,000 lbs $38
    • 10,001 lbs and over $50
  • RV (Recreational Vehicles):
    • 8,000 lbs or less $78
    • 8,001 lbs – 10,000 lbs $90
    • 10,001 lbs and over $102

Specialty personalized and vanity plates have specific costs, which can be checked if you get in touch with Secretary of State Facilities.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Illinois

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
The Illinois Motorcycle Operator Manual is issued by the Secretary of State and has useful detailed information about riding tricycles. In order to operate three-wheeled motorcycles in Illinois, drivers will need to pass all required tests and provide certificates as for applications for a regular motorcycle license. You may want to get in touch with the Regional Centers for details on the course requirements and on testing times and dates.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Illinois

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
Drivers who have committed a DUI traffic offense in Illinois may be eligible to obtain a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) if they prove that hardship exists. Below are the eligible suspension conditions, which the driver must complete to get the RDP:

  • Be over 16
  • Appear at hearing
  • Prove that hardship exists
  • Provide proof of treatment
  • Abstain from endangering public safety
  • Have Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device installed
  • Not have committed multiple DUI offenses under Statutory Summary Suspension

When the suspended driver successfully fulfills the above criteria, they may proceed with a request toreinstate suspended drivers licenses.

For more information: Suspended License Information in Illinois

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
To make sure that you are well prepared to take the driving test you should digest the road and traffic rules knowledge from the Illinois Course Workbook issued by the Secretary of State.

If it happens that you fail, you are allowed to take the test two more times with a period of one yearfrom the date you pay the application fee. If you fail three times in a row or if you fail to retake the test within that year, you will need to reapply and pay new fees in order to retake the required exam.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Illinois

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
To get a learning permit in Illinois, you must submit the following documents to your local Driver Services Facility:

  • Notification of state approved drivers ed
  • $20 learning permit fee
  • Proof of identification
  • Proof of written signature
  • Proof of date of birth
  • Proof of social security number
  • Proof of adult supervised fifty hours of driving practice, out of which ten must be at night
  • Affidavit/Consent for Minor to Drive form

Before you apply, it is recommended to check current fees with DMV Illinois and confirm the most recent updates that may have occurred.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Illinois

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
Getting a motorcycle license in Illinois requires applicants to submit the following documents:

  • Certificate for necessary motorcycle drivers test
  • Proof of passed knowledge exam
  • Payment of $10 motorcycle license fee
  • Proof of age and identity

Motorbike drivers education in Illinois is under the responsibility of the Department of Transport and is free of charge.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Illinois

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
Depending of your status of residency in Illinois, there are differences in the set of documents you will need to submit in support to the drivers license application:

  • Illinois residents who apply for drivers license need to present:
    • Proof of identification
    • Proof of written signature
    • Proof of date of birth
    • Proof of social security number
    • Test certificates
    • Old copies of drivers license or ID card
    • Proof of 6-hour adult supervised drivers training
  • Non-citizen or temporary visitors to Illinois need to also add:
    • Authorization for legal residence in the state
    • Proof of one-year legal stay with six months remaining

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Illinois

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
Whenreplacing a car titleat drivers facilities in Illinois, you willneed to submit supporting documents, which serve as proof that your car title has been lost, mutilated or stolen. Acar title replacement can be obtained if you present the following documents:

Applicants must provide the correct address on the application and fill in all the applicable sections. The duplicate car title will be mailed to the address provided.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Illinois

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
Proof of residency in Illinois is often required in two separate formats. The stipulated forms that are acceptable proof of residency are listed below and need to be taken into account when you prepare the address change checklist:

  • Affidavit Certificate of Residency
  • Bank Statement
  • Canceled Check
  • Certified Grade/High School/College/University Transcript
  • Credit Report
  • Deed/Title, Mortgage, Rental/Lease agreement
  • Home Insurance Policy
  • Letter on Official School Letterhead
  • Medical Claim or Statement of Benefits
  • Official mail received from government authority
  • Voter Registration Card
  • Pay Stub or Electronic Deposit Receipt
  • Pension or Retirement Statement
  • Phone Book
  • Report Card from Grade/High School or College/University
  • Tuition invoice/official mail from college or university
  • Utility Bill

Each of these must contain the full address to be taken into account.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Illinois

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
Along with the basic documents that are valid to prove the official address change in Illinois, applicants that do not have permanent residence in the state need to submit additional documents related to their status as non-U.S. citizens.

The valid documents need to serve as proof of identity, proof of age, proof of employment status, proof of student status, or as proof of any other legal residence in Illinois.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Illinois

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
To obtain aduplicate car registration in Illinois,drivers are required to submit the following documents in person at a local Secretary of State Facility, by mail, or online:

  • Application for Vehicle Transaction (VSD 190)
  • Electronic Registration and Title (ERT)
  • $20 replacement fee for stickers
  • $3 for registration card
  • Relevant fees for duplicate license plates
  • Proof of identity
  • Drivers license

Depending on the type of plates you wish to get, license plate fees may vary.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Illinois

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
Drivers applying for a newcar registrationin Illinois are required to submit certain documents, which may include:

  • Application for Vehicle Transactions form (VSD 190)
  • Proof of identity
  • Car title with correct buyer’s name, odometer reading and VIN number
  • Tax Form RUT-50
  • Bill of Sale if purchased from a dealer
  • Sales tax Transaction Return Form if purchased from a dealer
  • Check or money order for tax payment
  • Pay relevant title and registration fee in amount of $101

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Illinois

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
In order torenew an expired car registration, drivers are required to collect and submit the following documents:

  • Application for Vehicle Transaction (VSD 190)
  • Electronic Registration and Title (ERT)
  • Payment for $101 renewal fee
  • Old car registration copy
  • Renewal notice

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Illinois

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
Whenrenewing expired drivers licenses in Illinois, the documents that you need to submit in support to your application depend on the type of renewal you are using and whether you are renewing online, in person or out-of-state. Required documents and steps you need to take in order to apply for a drivers license renewal include:

  1. Carry renewal letter
  2. Present ID card
  3. Pass vision screening test, if renewing in person
  4. Take knowledge exam if you are over 75
  5. Pay appropriate fee:
    • $5 for persons aged 18-20
    • $30 for persons aged 21-68
    • $5 for persons aged 69-80
    • $2 for persons aged 81-86
    • Free of charge for persons 87 and over

Drivers may apply for adrivers license renewal as early as one year before expiration date for two and four-year licenses, and as early as six months before expiration date for one-year licenses.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Illinois

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
When you want to change ownership of vehicles in Illinois, you must present certain documents that validate the reason behind the car title transfer.

To legally transfer a vehicle title in Illinois, submit the appropriate documents from the list below:

  • Application for Vehicle Transaction(s) (VSD 190)
  • Odometer Disclosure Statement
  • Old car registration
  • Tax form:
    • RUT-25 for purchases from dealers
    • RUT-50 for purchases from individuals
  • Poof of personal circumstances:
    • Attorney s affidavit
    • Bankruptcy documents
    • Bill of Sale
    • Conservatorship documents
    • Court order
    • Death certificate
    • Divorce decree
    • Durable power of attorney for property
    • Guardianship papers
    • Letters of office (Testamentary, Administration)
    • Marriage certificate
    • Mobile Home Tax Certification
    • Out-of-state vehicle registration ID card
    • Personal power of attorney
    • Production agriculture affirmation
    • Vehicle registration ID card
    • Will
  • Proof of title-related issues:
    • Illinois certificate of title
    • Lease agreement
    • Lien release
    • Manufacturer certificate of origin
    • Out-of-State title or loan agreement
    • Secure power of attorney
  • $95 fee payment

Not all documents from the above list need to be presented on each occasion. Applicants need to pay attention to provide evidence of the facts that serve their circumstances.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Illinois

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
To get a duplicate drivers license in Illinois,drivers will need to collect and submit the relevant documents to the nearest Secretary of State Facility.

The documents required to apply for adrivers license replacement in Illinois are:

  • Proof of written signature
  • Proof of date of birth
  • Proof of Social Security Number
  • Proof of residency (two documents)
  • $5 fee, unless exempt
  • Old drivers license copy in case it was damaged
  • Police report if you are under 60 and want to be fee-exempt

For more information:Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Illinois Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
Applicants who want to get a motorbike drivers license for the first time and do not own a valid Illinois drivers license, must complete the following tests:

  • Vision screening test
  • Basic written exam
  • Motorcycle written exam
  • Road skills exam

Drivers under 18 will still need to take the drivers exam even if a completion card issued by the IDOT Motorcycle Rider Course is presented. Drivers over 18do not have to take the drive exam if the card is presented upon applying for a motorbike drivers license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Illinois

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
In order to apply for a duplicate car title, drivers are required to complete an Application for Vehicle Transactions, whichis available at Secretary of State Facilities or online. The relevant form serves multiple purposes for various vehicle title and registration issues in Illinois.

Many of the details required for a car title copy do not need special forms. The relevant information can be provided in the main form in the appropriate section.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Illinois

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
Issuing traffic citations for holders of commercial drivers licenses ismuch stricter. CDL licenses have a stronger responsibility attached to them and receive more severe fines.

A commercial motor vehicle driver with a continuous record of committing traffic violations will have their CDL license suspended or revoked. Long period of negligent traffic record might have the commercial driving license revoked for life.

More information on rules and regulations about commercial drivers is obtainable with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, which governs the federal rules applicable for CDL licenses throughout the country.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Illinois

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
Drivers who receive aDUI convictionin Illinois are subject to face stricter penalties than the ones drivers may face with a regular operator drivers license.Penalties include revoked driving privileges and CDL license suspension under the Statutory Summary Suspension, which rules the following suspensions:

  • First offense: One year suspension
  • Second offense: Lifetime suspension

In addition to attending a hearing and passing alcohol awareness program, drivers will also need to pay high reinstatement fees. Check with a Secretary of State Facilityto see if you re required to enroll in the Monitoring Device Driving Permit program.

For more information: lllinois Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
Once a car title has been reported stolen or lost, they are declared invalid and can no longer be restored. Therefore, you will only be able to use the new car title copy. The old car title will no longer serve as proof of vehicle ownership.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Illinois

What information does a driving record contain?
Police records can only contain specific information which is allowed by federal regulations about data protection. Personal address, social security information, and other sensitive personal information must not be put on record. Disclosing such information is a criminal act.

Each person spolice record contains information about past driving history, suspensions and details about:

  • Convictions
  • Withdrawals
  • Crashes

DUI records in Illinois do not get cleared and stay on the person s record permanently.

For more information: All About: Your Personal and Vehicle Records in Illinois

What is an ID card?
An IllinoisID card is an officially recognized document you can use in all official transactions where you need to submit a proof of your identity. ID cards can best serve as photo identification.

There is no age limit to obtain an identification card in Illinois.

For more information: How to Apply for an Illinois Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
Cost for DUI convictions in Illinois rangesdepending on the severity of the offense, the actual alcohol blood amount, and on the repetition of the behavior. The ranges include:

  • For first conviction: from $500 to $2,500
  • For second conviction: from $1,250 to $5,000
  • For third and fourth conviction: from $2,500 to $25,000

These costs relate only to the mandatory fines and do not account for reinstatement fees or any other administrative expenses related to getting your license back.

For more information: DUI/DWI information in Illinois

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
The costs that are allocated to traffic finesin Illinois depend on three factors:

  • Actual driving speed
  • Speeding area
  • Frequency of the offense

The more secure and populated the area, the higher the fines. School or work areas are especially sensitive. In a similar sense, costs get higher with increased speed. First time offenders are treated less severely. Having in mind all these aspects, costs can start as low as $75 and can go as high up as $1,000.

In case you think that the traffic ticket price that you have been given is too high, you can dispute the cost at a court hearing.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Illinois

What is the cost to get a driver record?
Checking drivers record in Illinois will cost you $12 per request. The same fee applies for your own record and for another person s record.

You can only obtain one record information per request. Photocopies cost additional $0.50 per copy and certifications will cost $2 extra for each police record.

For more information: All About: Your Personal and Vehicle Records in Illinois

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
The legal alcohol limit for CDL drivers is 0.04 percent. If caught committing aDUI, CDL license owners may face:

  • Imprisonment.
  • Higher mandatory fines.
  • Having to enroll in an alcohol awareness evaluation and treatment.
  • BAIID related measures.
  • Having to complete community service hours.
  • A lifelong suspension of driving license.

Many of the penalties for the CDL license owners are governed by The Federal Motor Safety Carrier Association and are unified on federal level. The work record of drivers of CMV vehicles will endure permanent consequences, more to the point that these offenses do not get cleared from the driving record in Illinois.

For more information: DUI/DWI information in Illinois

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
Penalties for minors may be a consequence from the Liquor Control Act or from traffic rules and regulations:

  • Drivers under 21, who have violated the liquor act, will have their driving privileges suspended for 6 months for a first conviction, 12 months for a second conviction and have them revoked for a subsequent conviction.
  • Drivers under 21, who have received court supervision for violating the Liquor Control Act for the purchase, possession, receipt or consumption of alcohol, will have their driving privileges suspended for 3 months.
  • Drivers under age 21, which have been charged with DUI conviction, face a minimum 2-year revocation for a first DUI conviction in addition to the penalties that apply for DUI offenders over 21.
  • An offender under age 18 on a statutory summary suspension is not eligible for a Restricted Driving Permit.
  • Drivers under 21, who have been convicted of DUI, may need to participate in the Youthful Intoxicated Driver s Visitation Program and undergo a comprehensive counseling session.

Any additional fines and fees, which are relevant for adult offenders, may apply as decided by the court that has held the administrative hearing.

For more information: DUI/DWI information in Illinois

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
The requirements for car coverage in Illinois that need to be covered when you get your auto insurance quotes include:

  • Liability Minimum Auto Coverage: At least $25,000 per person per accident and $50,000 total per accident for bodily injury, and at least $20,000 per accident for vehicle and property damage.
  • Uninsured Motorist Auto Coverage: $50,000 per accident
  • Underinsured Motorist Auto Coverage: At least $50,000 per accident or higher

Certain discounts are available when you obtain comprehensive coverage or other additions.

For more information: How To: Save on Illinois Auto Insurance

What is the passing score for a written test?
The knowledge test for a learning permit is done in front of computers using random questions. The knowledge tests are in English only and can be partially completed by the applicant in an audio format.

Usual guidelines for passing score on a written test extend to 80 percent of the total attainable score. Applicants need to correctly answer four-fifths of the total number of questions to obtain a passing grade.

Practice tests are available online in order to ensure you are well prepared to pass the knowledge exam on a satisfactory level.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Illinois

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
Motorcycles and scooters in Illinois need to be registered which means that they also need to have a title certificate. All owners of motorized cycles, whose vehicles are subject to registration, need to transfer a car title whenever they transfer ownership.

To do so, submit the Application for Vehicle Transaction(s) (VSD-190) and add:

  • Additional proof of personal circumstances.
  • Title-related documents.
  • Tax transaction returns.

Make sure to have correct data for the two-wheeled vehicle put into the application. Drivers are also required to present the previous car title and prepare payment for the necessary fee. Driver can complete the procedure at one of the Secretary of State Facilities.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Illinois

What languages is the written test available in?
The written test is only done in English. In order to successfully pass the exam, applicants are required to answer 80 percent of 35 random multiple-choice questions,correctly.

To check if there are any additional languages offered, visit DMV substations and ask for your language of choice. Questions can be given to the applicant in an audio format if needed.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Illinois

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
Reinstating drivers licenseasa DWI offender in Illinois assumes that you attend a hearing and take appropriate action that has been assigned to you by court orders.

To reinstate drivers license, you need to:

  • Show up at court.
  • Pay DUI traffic fine.
  • Attend alcohol and drug awareness program.
  • Have an Ignition Interlock Device installed on your vehicle.
  • Attend community service.
  • Serve prison sentence.
  • Pay costs for a Monitoring Device Permit.
  • Pay costs for a Restricted Driving Permit.

Only once the reinstating has shown up on the offender s driving record will it be considered fully valid.

For more information: DUI/DWI information in Illinois

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
If you fail to follow the official address change process, which is required by the Secretary of State in Illinois, you may endure penalties as a result of not having your documents updated on time, such as having to pay additional fees for new documents afterwards.

An address change is relevant for a new CDL license and for insurance policies. Any change of address request must be done as soon as possible in order to avoid any discrepancies with the IL DMV. It is best to submit the address change request within the 10-days deadline to avoid penalties that may arise of using non-valid personal documents.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Illinois

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
The drivers license renewal system in Illinois does not state any specific administrative fees or penalties that come out of late renewals.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Illinois

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
In order to provide proof of car insurance if requested by law enforcement in Illinois, drivers can present any of the following documents:

  • Car insurance card
  • Copy of insurance declarations page
  • Copy of insurance binder
  • Copy of letter from insurance company
  • Electronic view of car insurance information

For more information: How To: Save on Illinois Auto Insurance

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
In Illinois, an auto registration renewal noticebegins processing approximately 30 days after an application is submitted.

Registration renewals that have been applied for later, but need to be issued earlier, will be given priority. The usual date for sending out the registration stickers for the next month is 22nd of the current month.

If you have yet to receive your registrationstickers a week before your old sticker expires, call 800-252-8980 for more information.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Illinois

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
Renewed drivers licenses are usually issued immediately. If you have not received the renewed copy of your expired drivers license on time, you should get in touch with the nearest Illinois Secretary of State Facility and check for the reasons of the delay.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Illinois

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
The education required to obtain adrivers permit in Illinois is arranged under the Cooperative Driver Testing Program, which authorizes driving instructors to provide driving skills, whereas tests are administered by the Office of the Secretary of State in Driver Services Facilities.

Beginner drivers must:

  • Get a combined grade of classes and road skills.
  • Pass theknowledge exam.
  • Pass avision screening test.
  • Pass an instructor-administered behind-the-wheel road test.

Once drivers have completed all the required tests they will become eligible for applying to get adriving permit.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Illinois

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
Drivers applying for acommercial driving licenseare required to pass certaintests including:

  • Vision screening test
  • Knowledge test
  • General (Core) Knowledge written test is a general CDL test required of all applicants to obtain a CLP or transfer a CDL
  • Classification (combination) test
  • Air Brake test
  • Specialized Endorsement Knowledge test depending on the type of vehicle
  • Skills and Drive Test
  • Drive/Road Tests

On top of the basic testing requirements for license classes or endorsements, drivers may also need to fulfill special testing rules and restrictions which refer to third-time fail rule, CDL transfers, CDL renewal and to add or renew a hazardous material endorsement.

For more information: lllinois Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
To get a drivers licensein order to drive legally in Illinois, you will need to successfully pass certain tests, including:

  • Vision screening test
  • Knowledge test
  • Road skills test

Some of the tests need to be retaken depending on the age of the applicant, previous convictions or at renewals.

To look into the option of taking a road test waiver which is at times possible check with a nearby Secretary of State Facility.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Illinois

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
The law requirements for car coverage in Illinois may include three different types of insurance depending on the type of vehicle you operate:

  • Liability insurance:
    • Bodily injury of at least $25,000 per person, per accident and $50,000 total per accident.
    • Property damage coveringdamage to another person s car or property in amount of at least $20,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage with minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance which compensates the difference between your UIM limits and the liability limits of the driver found guilty

Additional premium coverage is often advisable and can cover accidental death benefit, towing costs and rental reimbursement costs

For more information: How To: Save on Illinois Auto Insurance

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
Illinois drivers are required to follow the graduated driving license system. There are five types of driving licenses you can apply for depending on what phase of the GDL you are eligible for, including:

  • Instruction permit for beginner drivers aged 15
  • Initial license for drivers between 16 and 17
  • Full license for drivers over 18
  • Restricted local drivers license to be used in areas of 3,500 sqm or smaller
  • Temporary visitor drivers license for non-U.S. citizens with temporary legal entry

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Illinois

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
All vehicles in Illinois are required to have the mandatory minimum liability car insurance. Operating a vehicle without getting car insurance may lead to the following outcomes:

  • Drivers license suspension
  • Violation fees
  • Impoundment of vehicle

For more information: Filing the Illinois SR-22 Insurance Form

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
Drivers can complete the suspended drivers license reinstatement only after the suspension period expires and after all other reinstatement requirements have been fulfilled. In Illinois, there are two types of suspensions:

  • Statutory Summary Suspension
  • Revocation (Statutory Summary Suspension included)

The reinstatement for each types of drivers license suspension will be valid only when it is entered on the driving record.

For more information:Suspended License Information in Illinois

When does my car registration expire?
Thecar registration system in Illinois is established on an annual basis. The dates from which you will need to calculate the annual period depend on the type of vehicle being registered and on the calendar/fiscal year system discernment. The different car registration expiration dates are as follows:

  • Multi-year plate registrations:For categories with staggered expiration dates, registration expires at midnight one year after the last day of the month of purchase. Passenger vehicles and B trucks expire in December. Company owned B trucks expire in June.
  • Two-year plate registrations: Registration period begins on Jan. 1 of everyeven-numbered year and ends on Dec. 31 of every odd-numbered year.
  • One-year plate registrations: Registration expires at midnight onDec. 30 or at midnight on June 30.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Illinois

When does my ID card expire?
The expiration date of your ID card depends on your age and citizen status in the state. It is customary to receive a reminder notice from a Secretary of State Facility about two to three months ahead.

Illinois identification cards for citizens over 18 are usually valid for five years.

Senior persons over 65 can get ID card with unlimited use.

Persons with disabilities or homeless persons have the advantage of getting an ID card, which is valid for ten years.

For more information: How to Apply for an Illinois Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
To keep in line with state regulations about address changing, drivers in Illinois need to notify the relevant Secretary of State Facility within ten days of the actual event.

Owners of a CDL license that go through the official address change process must additionally apply to get their new commercial driving license in hard copy, within 30 days of changing address when moving.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Illinois

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
The Bill of Sale is a document that needs to be completed when there is transfer of ownership in case of a sale of vehicle.

There is no previously arranged form that is pre-made by the Secretary of State Facilities and that needs to be submitted solely in that format. Buyers and sellers need to compose their own form, put all necessary data in it, and use it as evidence in the procedure to transfer a car title.

Secretary of State Facilities issue only a Junk Vehicle Bill of Sale to be used with a Certificate of Final Disposition.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Illinois

When will I need to renew my license?
Depending on your age, there are several time restrictions you must follow when renewing your drivers license which consist of:

  • If you are under 21 the license will expire when you turn 21
  • If you are between 21 and 80 the license is valid for four years
  • If you are between 81 and 86 the license is valid for two years
  • If you are over 87 you must renew the license each year

Out-of state renewals need to be completed within six months after you return home.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Illinois

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
Drivers applying for a drivers license replacement in Illinois will receive a drivers license copy from Secretary of State Facilities via mailin approximately 90 days.

Drivers must have the correct address information on their official driving record to avoid unnecessary delays.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Illinois Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
In order to check if you have asuspended drivers license due to a traffic violation in Illinois, you may ask for details and request documents about the suspension directly from the:

Department of Driver Services

Abstract Unit

2701 South Dirksen Parkway

Springfield, IL 62723

Information about hearings related to drivers license suspension may be obtained at the:

Department of Administrative Hearings

Support Services

Section 501

South 2nd Street, Room 212

Howlett Building Springfield, IL 62756

For more information:Suspended License Information in Illinois

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
To fulfill certain criteria for obtaining car registration copies, you may need to get in touch with tax offices.

The Illinois Department of Revenue is responsible for tax collection issues and serves to help individuals and companies to file their taxes in compliance with local and federal regulations. The department has a well-developed E-Services online system on which citizens can manage their accounts, file returns and make payments.

Apart from a Taxpayer Answer Center available on 800 732-8866 or 217 782-3336, there are six bigger regional offices in the following cities:

  • Chicago
  • Des Plaines
  • Marion
  • Fairview Heights
  • Rockford
  • Springfield

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Illinois

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
The Secretary of State of Illinois has compiled a document called Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) Terms & Conditions which gives information about the Ignition Interlock device and which is issued by the Breath and Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device Division. The document is divided into nine respective sections, which consist of:

  • Section 1 Permit Requirements
  • Section 2 How the Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) works
  • Section 3 Violations
  • Section 4 Consequences
  • Section 5 Responsibilities/Readings/False Positives
  • Section 6 Removal of Device and/or Opting out of Program
  • Section 7 Fees
  • Section 8 Work Exemption Permit Requirements
  • Section 9 General

Each of these sections will be able to give more information you need on DWI offenses.

For more information: DUI/DWI information in Illinois

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Traffic ticket fines in Illinois are administered via the Secretary of State Facilities.

Secretary of State facilities in Illinois also run driving records system from which you can get information about traffic tickets and violations you ve received. To request a driving record, complete a Driving Record Abstract Request form and either submit it to a nearby Secretary of State Facility or mail it to:

Secretary of State

Driver Analysis Section

2701 S. Dirksen Parkway

Springfield, IL 62723

Additionally, drivers will be required to pay a $12 fee.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Illinois

Where can I find the DMV locations?
Please follow the link below for your nearest DMV location:

Illinois DMV Office Contact Information

Where can I get a new drivers license?
Illinois drivers can obtain a new drivers license at a Secretary of State Facility by following these steps:

  1. Provide proof of ID
  2. Have your photo taken
  3. Surrender any other valid ID card, instruction permit or CDL license
  4. Pass required tests
  5. Pay $30 fee for persons over 21 or $5 for persons between 18 and 20 years old

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Illinois

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
In Illinois, drivers can request aduplicate car titleby mailing the application, supporting documents, and relevant fee payments to the office in Springfield at:

Secretary of State Vehicle Services Department 501 S. 2nd. St., Room 014 Springfield, IL 62756

Drivers can also request a car title copy online using the Electronic Registration and Title System, whichsend out car titles using theExpedited Title Service.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Illinois

Where can I obtain an ID card?
Identification cards in Illinois can be obtained at your local Secretary of State Facility.

If you suspect your ID card has been stolen, filing a police report is recommended. Out-of-state applicants can use their old ID card for 120 days when they come back to the country.

For more information: How to Apply for an Illinois Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
All motor vehicles that require titling and registration need to be properly insured. Mandatory car insurance is a requirement for all registration procedures. The insurance policy needs to be submitted together with the application.

Trailers as recreational vehicles do not need to be insured.

For more information: How To: Save on Illinois Auto Insurance

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
All drivers under the age of 18 must provide parental consent to obtain their learning permit. To provide this approval, parents or legal guardians need to complete and sign the Affidavit/Consent for Minor to Drive form.

The initial consent may be canceled later at any time or for any reason by getting in touch with the Secretary of State. Driving privileges will not be reinstated until the consent is given again or until the driver turns 18.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Illinois

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
When you commit a traffic offense and a traffic ticket is issued to you on the place of the violation, the law enforcement officer must process and report the ticket to the relevant drivers facility. It might take some time before the police report is filed and before it is reflected on the system.

Delays in driving records appearance are generally a question of administrative procedure. It is hence advisable to wait at least ten to fifteen days before you ask for the most recent copy of your driving record.

For more information: All About: Your Personal and Vehicle Records in Illinois

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
A vision screening test in Illinois is mandatory for all applicants who apply torenew expired divers licenses in person at a Secretary of State Facility.

If you are eligible to use the online system as a Safe Driver with a good driving record, you may be exempt from the vision test.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Illinois

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
In Illinois, drivers renewing drivers licenseswill be sent an official reminder letter by the Secretary of State approximately 60 to 90 days prior to the expiry date via mail.

Sending drivers license renewal notices is the regular practice, yet it is not a guarantee. Therefore, if you do not receive a renewal notice, you are still held responsiblefor renewing your drivers license on time.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Illinois

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
Traffic violations in Illinois are calculated within a point-based system. Therefore, depending on the behavior you have displayed, you will receive certain number of points attached to your record. The range varies from 5 points to 55 points. Points can also be accumulated.Precise points assigned to your driving license can be found in the Illinois Traffic Offenses Chart.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Illinois

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
As part of the reinstatement procedure, it is a usual requirement for DUI offenders to pass a professional medical alcohol and drug evaluation, and to take an associated alcohol awareness course.

DUI offenders will need to provide proof of remedial treatment if required. There is a specially designed juvenile program for minor offenders who have been driving while intoxicated.

For more information: DUI/DWI information in Illinois

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
To replace a car registration in Illinois, drivers are required to fill out the Application for Vehicle Transaction(s) (VSD 190). This application is used for car registration, titling changes, and transfers.

Applicants can download the application online and are required to submit a completed copy to a Secretary of State Facility.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Illinois

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
Yes, there is mandatory liability insurance in Illinois which drivers must comply with in order to receive a car title replacement.

Drivers must carry proof of insurance with them at all time while operating a motor vehicle.Any insurance information in Illinois can be asked for at the Mandatory Insurance Division in Springfield:

Office of the Secretary of State Mandatory Insurance Division 429 Howlett Building Springfield, IL 62756-7000

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Illinois

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
The Secretary of State of Illinois will send you a renewal notice usually about 60 to 90 days prior to the registration expiration date. A renewal code and a personal identification number (PIN) code is provided on the back of the notice.

You are still urged to keep track of the expiration date yourself in the event that you do not receive a renewal notice.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Illinois

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
Expiry dates depends on the type of vehicle registration and is connected to calendar dates which are usually as follows:

  • Midnight on Dec. 30 for calendar year registrations
  • Midnight on June 30 for fiscal year registrations

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Illinois