Idaho Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
Idaho residents under 21 are required to take and pass a motorcycle drivers license training course through the Idaho STAR courses system. Additionally, drivers over 21 getting a motorcycle license may take one of the STAR courses to waive the skills portion of their motorcycle license testing requirements. STAR courses are broken up by difficulty, with Basic I, Basic II and Experienced courses available.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Idaho

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
Idaho state law requires all motorcycle license holders to wear a helmet that meets the requirements of the Department of Transportation (DOT). DOT-compliant helmets allow riders to see as far around teach side as they need to. Helmets are also required for ATVs both on and off-road.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Idaho

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
Idaho residents looking to renew car registrations can do so either online or in person at a local Idaho drivers license center. If you are attempting to renew car registration online and find that you are unable to, there may be a few reasons. You may have a suspended drivers license, or unpaid ticket violations under your car s registration number. In the event that you are stopped from renewing car registrations, you should visit a DMV office to find out how to clear up the holds.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Idaho

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
Idaho residents must have the same address on their driver s license and car registration. Upon submitting a completed Address Change Request form, your official address change will be reflected in the DMV system on both your driver s license and car registration simultaneously. Contact a local Idaho drivers license center to request a duplicate license and registration card reflecting the address changing.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Idaho

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
If the car insurance policy you have from your previous state of residence is from a company that also operates in Idaho, you may be able to transfer the car insurance policy to Idaho. If not, you will be required to cancel your previous policy and apply for car insurance in Idaho. To learn more about how to get car insurance in Idaho, visit the Idaho Department of Insurance website.

For more information: Idaho Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
No, residents of Idaho in possession of a commercial drivers license cannot renew online. To renew CDL licenses, you must visit a local Idaho drivers license center and fill out a CDL application. ForCDL renewals, you do not have to retake any of the tests unless you have a hazardous materials endorsement. CDL licenses are valid for four years.

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
Idaho residents are not able to conduct online police record checks at this time. However, a certified police record checkcan be received by printing and completing an Idaho Driver’s License Record Request form. Fees for certified copies of your police record are $21 ($7 for the police record and $14 for the certification). Additionally, you can check police records online for a fee of $9.56, though the copy will not be certified. Fees may vary.

For more information: Your Idaho Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
At this time, Idaho drivers cannot apply for a drivers permit online. DMV tests must be taken in person at a local Idaho drivers license center. Likewise, all required documentation must be presented in person. A parent or guardian must also sign liability forms for learners permit holders under 17.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Idaho

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
Whether or not you can use an Idaho commercial drivers license outside of Idaho depends on your medical card status. If you self-certified as an interstate driver, you can use your license to drive commercial throughout the country. However, if you self-certified as an intrastate driver, you are restricted to using your CDL license only in the state.

For more information: Idaho Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
Idaho drivers who are unable to visit a local Idaho drivers license center to renew can use a computer or have somebody else use a computer to renew car registration online. Renewing car registrations online requires the vehicle s license plate number and the driver s license number.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Idaho

Do boats need to be registered?
Most Idaho residents who own boats will have to register them with the Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation. Any vessel that uses mechanical propulsion must be registered. To register a boat, bring the proof of ownership and registration fee to one of the many Idaho Boat Registration Vendors.

For more information: How to Register a Boat or Water Craft in Idaho

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
Idaho residents are not required to get a motorcycle license endorsement if they are riding a motorized bike that is considered a moped. To be considered a moped in Idaho, a motorized bike must meet the following requirements:

  • Pedal propelled and electric-powered
  • Top speed: 30 mph
  • Two or three wheels
  • Maximum 50cc engine
  • Direct power drive system

Any motorized bike exceeding these requirements is considered a scooter or motorcycle and required a motorcycle endorsement on your license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Idaho

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
Depending on the county and office that has issued the traffic ticket, you may have to attend traffic school. Whether you will have to attend defensive driving classes or other types of traffic courses depends on the violation itself. DMV traffic schools are regulated by the state, with many options for satisfying the requirement including online traffic school. Defensive driving school is also an option for drivers who would like to reduce the amount of points on their driving record. Contact the county clerk where your ticket was issued to find out more about traffic school registration.

For more information: Idaho Online Traffic School and Defensive Driving Courses

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Most states have their own car insurance requirements as far as what the minimum liability is for insurance for cars. Therefore, you will most likely be required to get car insurance specific to the state that you are moving to. In this event, you will need to cancel your current car insurance prior to getting car insurance in the new state. To apply for car insurance in your destination state, research online car insurance quotes and choose according to your budget.

For more information: Idaho Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
Drivers in Idaho who are dealing with a lost or stolen drivers license are urged to report the theft to local law enforcement before applying to replace stolen drivers licenses. From there, bring the police report to a local Idaho drivers license center. The DMV officials will record the theft on file for identity theft prevention purposes before issuing a drivers license replacement.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
It is not a requirement to report lost or stolen car registrations to local law enforcement. However, the Idaho DMV recommends that all drivers looking to replace lost car registrations file a police report for the loss/theft. From there, bring a copy of the police report to a local Idaho drivers license center to apply for a car registration copy.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Idaho

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
It is not a requirement for Idaho residents moving to a new state to surrender their license plates. However, having a non resident car registration in your new state may cause issues. The Idaho DMV recommends that former residents surrender their plates at a local Idaho drivers license center following their move.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Idaho

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
Idaho residents under 17 getting drivers permits must follow the rules of the Graduated Driver s License Program (GDL). Part of the GDL program includes a requirement for minors to complete an approved drivers ed course. Completing and passing driver safety courses is a requirement for all minors prior to receiving their unrestricted driver s license. Drivers ed classes must consist of 30 hours of classroom instruction, six hours of in-car drivers education and six hours of behind-the-wheel drivers training. Idaho offers many driver school programs through the Department of Education. To register for drivers ed, contact your local Idaho drivers license center.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Idaho

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
Idaho drivers who have a damaged car title should attach the copy to their Duplicate Car Title Application when submitting it to the Ada County Processing Center. Drivers can request a car title replacement by mail or in person. Fees to replace car titles are $14. You can expedite the car title process for a fee of $26.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Idaho

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
Idaho residents applying to replace car registrations due to a damaged car registration copy should bring the damaged copy with them. To learn how to replace car registrations that have been damaged, visit a local Idaho drivers license center.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Idaho

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
Residents of Idaho who own a motorized scooter may have to get a motorcycle registration depending on the specifications of their vehicle. You must register motorcycles, scooters and mopeds that exceed the following:

  • Has pedal propulsion and run by electricity
  • Top speed: 30 mph
  • Two or three wheels
  • Maximum 50cc engine
  • Direct/automatic power drive system

The Idaho DMV requires residents with vehicles that exceed these specifications to process it as if they are registering motorcycles. To find out how to register motorcycles, contact a local Idaho drivers license center.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Idaho

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
Prior to initially registering cars in Idaho, you will be required to have an emissions inspection if your vehicle meets the following requirements:

  • Model year 1965 or newer
  • Registered and driven in Ada county
  • Weighs over 1,500 pounds

If your vehicle meets these requirements, you must have it inspected prior to receiving a DMV car registration.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Idaho

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
Residents of Idaho who own vehicles cannot get them registered with the state DMV without providing proof of car insurance. Drivers who operate motor vehicles without car insurance or allow theinsurance for cars they own to lapse will receive tickets and drivers license suspensions from law enforcement officials. To apply for car insurance, research the various companies available online and request car insurance quotes.

For more information: Idaho Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
Idaho veterans who would like a veteran designation on their ID card must notify DMV officials when completing their ID card application. Veteran designations are a free addition for military veterans who would like it on either their ID card or driver s license. Regular ID card and driver s license fees still apply. To replace ID cards with veteran designations, the fee is $15 (fees may vary).

For more information: How to Apply for an Idaho Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
Residents of Idaho who would like to know more about the process of applying for drivers licenses can refer to the Idaho Drivers License Manual. The Idaho drivers manual is available in PDF format online for your convenience.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Idaho

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
Idaho residents looking to pay traffic tickets they have received can do so by checking the actual traffic fines documentation. The document will state the location where you received your traffic ticket fines. It will also tell you the traffic ticket price and which court is handling the fine. Depending on the county location, you will have the option of paying traffic tickets in person, by mail or online. Contact information for the county court clerk will be listed on the ticket as well.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Idaho

How can I renew my drivers license?
Idaho drivers wondering how to renew drivers licenses can do so up to 25 months before the license expiration date. Residents between the ages of 21 and 62 can apply for either a four- or eight-year drivers license renewal. Prior to renewing drivers licenses, you may have to retake the vision test. If requested, you may also have to take the skills test, written knowledge test and have a medical examination. To renew licenses, visit a local Idaho drivers license center. You may also complete the drivers license renewal form sent in the mail prior to your license expiration date and mail it to the address listed. There is no option to renew drivers license online at this time.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Idaho

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
Idaho residents wondering how to renew car registrations will receive a car registration renewal notice in the mail prior to the expiration date with instructions on how to renew. Typically you will be able to renew car registrations either online or in person. Residents who renew car registration online must provide the Idaho DMV with their driver s license number, EIN filed with the Idaho State Tax Commission (for businesses), their renewal registration notice and a credit or debit card to process the registration fees. Residents applying in person should visit a local Idaho drivers license center.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Idaho

How can I transfer a car title if I have a lien on it?
If the car title you wish to transfer has a lien on it, there will be additional requirements to transfer car titles. If the vehicle was purchased from an out-of-state dealer or from a private party, and a financial institution is recording a lien, that entity may file the application for title. Otherwise, the buyer must file the required documents for transfer of title. Furthermore, out-of-state dealers, lienholders, and leasing companies may also submit a Title Application, however this form is not always required by the The Idaho Transportation Department Division of Motor Vehicles. In any case, when buying of selling a vehicle, always verify that the Title Certificate contains the signature of the lienholder, in addition to that of the seller or buyer.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Idaho

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
Drivers in Idaho who plan on getting out of state car registrationafter a move can do so through the DMV of the state they are relocating to. Once you register a car out of state, you must surrender your Idaho registration and license plates. Registering a car out of state requires certain fees and documentation based on the new state s regulations. To find out more about how to register a car out of state, contact the local DMV office near your new residence.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Idaho

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
Residents of Idaho wondering how to get a CDL license can begin the process at a local Idaho drivers license center.To apply for a CDL, take your current class D drivers license, Social Security card and proof of residence to the license center. Additionally, bring the commercial drivers license fee (fees vary based on the length of your CDL license).

If you are not a U.S. citizen, you will need to supply proof of your lawful presence in the United States before you can receive a license to drive commercial. Additionally, your CDL application will need to include a self-certification of your Department of Transportation medical card status.

For more information:Idaho Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
Idaho residents who are disabled (or regularly transporting disabled persons) and looking to register cars in the state must meet a few requirements. Under Idaho law, a disabled person is considered anybody who cannot walk more than 200 feet without assistance due to impairment. To order disabled license plates and placards, print and complete the Disability License Plates and Placards formand mail it to:

Idaho Transportation Department

Vehicle Services Special Plates

PO Box 7129, Boise, ID 83707-1129

For more information: Information for Disabled Drivers in Idaho

How do I apply for a drivers license?
Idaho residents who would like to apply for drivers licenses can do so by visiting a local Idaho drivers license centerand completing a drivers license application. Documentation requirements for receiving an Idaho drivers license vary based on the age, citizenship and residency status of the person applying. Residents will also need to take a series of tests before they are allowed to get drivers licenses. There is no option to apply for a drivers license online.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Idaho

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
Residents getting drivers permits in Idaho must meet a few requirements in order to receive a learners permit. Drivers must be at least 15 years old at the time of their drivers permit application submission. Additionally, minors between 15 and 17 years old must also enroll in an Idaho driver training program prior to receiving their drivers permit. Once enrolled, minors can then proceed to a local Idaho drivers license center to receive alearning permit. At this time, you cannot apply for a drivers permit online.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Idaho

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
Idaho residents wondering how to get a motorcycle license must apply in person at a local Idaho drivers license center. Obtaining a motorcycle driving license requires you to pass a vision test, written examination and driving skills test. You must also pay the motorcycle endorsement fee of $15. Drivers who are still learning may also apply for a motorcycle drivers license permit, which costs $15 and is valid for 180 days. If you receive a Class M motorcycle license endorsement on your license while you are in possession of a motorcycle permit, the motorcycle license endorsement fee will be waived. Fees may vary.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Idaho

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
Drivers in Idaho can submit an official address change for their car insurance by contacting their car insurance company. To do so, find your insurance documentation, call the customer service phone line and tell the operator you would like to
submit an address change request. Once you have changed your address with your insurance company, request a new insurance card with the official address update.For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Idaho
How do I change my address on my car registration?
Idaho residents who have recently moved must submit DMV car registration address changes within 30 days of moving. There are a few steps to change car registration addresses, beginning with printing and completing a Change of Address Request form. Once you have submitted the DMV change of address registration, your information will be updated in the DMV system for both your drivers license and car registration. From there, visit a local Idaho drivers license center to order a duplicate car registration.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Idaho

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
Drivers in Idaho wondering how to change address on CDL licenses can do so by printing and completing a Change of Address Request form. From there, changing address on CDL licenses requires you to visit a local Idaho drivers license center and order a duplicate CDL license. CDL address changes must be verified in person and accompanied by the Internet Application for Replacement Drivers License form.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Idaho

How do I change my address on my drivers license?
Residents of Idaho wondering, “How do I change my address with the DMV?” can do so by printing and completing an Idaho Change of Address Request form. Residents can change address on drivers licenses as well as their vehicle registration using the same DMV address change form. A motor vehicle change of address is required within 30 days of your move date. Once you have completed the form, submit it using one of the following methods:

  • Mail to Idaho Driver Services (address provided on form)
  • Bring in person to a local Idaho drivers license center
  • Fax to: 208-287-3860
  • Email to:dmvadintctl@itd.idaho.gov

Once you have submitted the form and change address on DMV records, you can apply for a duplicate license to reflect your new address.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Idaho

How do I change my address on my ID card?
Idaho residents who have recently had an official address change must submit a request to change address on ID cards within 30 days of their move date. An ID card address change can be initiated by printing and completing an Idaho Change of Address Request form. Once you have submitted the form, an identification card address change can be finalized by ordering a duplicate ID. Print and complete an Internet Application for Replacement Idaho Identification Card. Submit the form to the DMV by mail, fax, email or in person at a local Idaho drivers license center. Duplicate ID fees will apply.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Idaho

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
Drivers in Idaho going through theprocess to change names are required to update their car insurance cards. To do so, locate your car insurance documents and dial the number for customer service printed on them. Once you are connected, ask the operator “How to change my name on my official insurance documents.” You should also request a new insurance card with the legal name change.

For more information: Idaho Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How do I change my name on my car registration?
To initiate an official name change on car registrations, Idaho residents must first change their names with the Social Security Administration (SSA). From there, drivers can visit a local Idaho drivers license center with one of the following name change documents:

  • Certified marriage certificate
  • Certified divorce documents
  • Adoption record
  • Court name-change documents

Once the name change request is finalized, you will have to apply for a duplicate car registration with your updated name.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Idaho

How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
If you are an Idaho resident wondering how to change your name legally, you can request a name change on drivers licenses through the Idaho DMV. Prior to making a DMV name change request, you must first change your name with the Social Security Administration (SSA) by visiting the SSA website. Once you have changed your name with the SSA, you should bring one or more of the following documents (with your new name displayed) to a local Idaho drivers license center:

  • Certified marriage certificate
  • Certified divorce documents
  • Adoption record
  • Court name-change documents

You will have to pay the duplicate driver s license fee prior to receiving your replacement license.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I change my name on my ID card?
Idaho residents wondering how to change name on identification cards must do so in person at a local Idaho drivers license center. However, prior to requesting the legal name change, you must first go about changing your name with the Social Security Administration. Once you have changed your name on your Social Security, visit a DMV office with one or more of the following documents:

  • Certified marriage certificate
  • Certified divorce documents
  • Adoption record
  • Court name-change documents

You will have to pay the duplicate ID card fee prior to receiving your replacement ID card reflecting your new name.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
Prior to submitting a name change request with the DMV, you must first request a name change with the Social Security Administration (SSA). To do so, print and complete an Application for a Social Security Card and attach one of the following documents to the application:

  • Certified marriage certificate
  • Certified divorce documents
  • Certificate of Naturalization (with new name)
  • Court name-change documents

From there, mail the documents to a local SSA office. You may also submit the documents in person.

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
Under Idaho non-disclosure laws, driving records are only available for the individual the record pertains to and other organizations authorized to check driving records under certain circumstances (i.e. criminal background check). If you believe your driving record has been accessed illegally, you should notify the Idaho DMV. The DMV can be contacted by email at:

driverrecords@itd.idaho.gov

You can also contact the Idaho DMV Driver Services section by phone at 208-334-8736, or visit a local Idaho drivers license center.

For more information: Your Idaho Driving Record

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
Residents of Idaho dealing with lost or stolen car registrations should report the loss/theft before applying for a car registration replacement. To report a lost car registration, visit a local law enforcement office and ask to file a police report. Once the report is filed, you should bring a copy to a local Idaho drivers license center and present it to the DMV officials when applying to replace lost car registration.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Idaho

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
Residents of Idaho who are dealing with stolen car titles should report the theft. To do so, visit any local law enforcement agency and ask to file a police report. Once filed, attach a copy of the report to your Duplicate Car Title Application and bring it to the Ada County Processing Center to get a replacement for your stolen car title.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Idaho

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
Idaho drivers who would like to check driving records can do so either online or by mail. To check your driving record by mail, print and complete the Idaho Driver’s License Record Request form and mail it along with the associated drivers record fees (check or money order only) to the following address:

Driver Services

Idaho Transportation Department

PO Box 34

Boise ID 83731-0034

Residents checking driving records online should visit the Idaho Transportation Department s online driving record page. Complete the online form and pay the online driving record fee of $9.56 to receive an electronic copy. Fees may vary.

For more information: Your Idaho Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
Idaho residents with lost, damaged or stolen ID cards must order an ID card replacement in person at a local Idaho drivers license center. When ordering an ID card copy, you must present certain identification documents to the DMV officials, including:

  • Proof of identity (i.e. U.S. passport, Certificate of Naturalization, military ID, etc.)
  • Proof of Idaho residency (i.e. utility bill, correspondence with government agency, phone bill, etc.)
  • Proof of legal U.S. presence (i.e. birth certificate, employment authorization card, foreign passports)
  • Name change documents (if applicable)

You must also pay a small fee for a duplicate ID card.

For more information: How to Apply for an Idaho Identification Card

How do I get a hardship license?
Idaho drivers with suspended drivers licenses may be eligible to receive a restricted driving permit that allows them to drive to and from essential destinations (i.e. work, home, grocery store, medical centers, etc.) To apply for a restricted permit, visit a local Idaho drivers license center. For suspended drivers licenses due to alcohol or drug-related violations, you must apply for a restricted permit through the court that issued the drivers license suspension. You must also pay all fees to reinstate suspended drivers licenses, as well as the $60 restricted permit fee.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Idaho

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
Idaho residents who are active military members deployed out-of-state can replace lost or stolen drivers licenses by printing and completing an Internet Application for Replacement Idaho Driver’s License or Identification Card. From there, include a check, money order or credit/debit card number for the $15 duplicate drivers license fee and mail the package to:

Idaho Transportation Department

Driver s License

PO Box 7129

Boise, ID 83707-1129

You may also fax the drivers license replacement application to: 208-334-8586, or scan the application and email it to: DLMail@itd.idaho.gov.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
The potential to have a traffic ticket dismissed in Idaho exists, but is not guaranteed. To attempt to have a dismissal, you should not pay traffic fines. Instead, elect to have a court date set to argue your case against the traffic ticket fines. In certain situations, drivers can prove that they have corrected the action that got them the ticket in the first place, resulting in a dismissal. Drivers can also elect to hire traffic fines lawyers who will argue their case for them with varying results.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Idaho

How do I know if my license was mailed after it has been restored?
The best way to find out if your drivers license has been mailed out is by contacting the Idaho Transportation Department Division of Motor Vehicles directly. You can do so by calling their toll-free number at 208-334-8735. You can also make an in-person visit to any of the Idaho drivers license centers. Find a ITD location near you using our DMV locator. For more information: Suspended License Information for Idaho
How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
Idaho residents wondering how to check driving records for other people can do so under certain circumstances. Under Idaho law, personal information such as a drivers record can only be issued in certain cases, such as:

  • For Government background check
  • For Driver or vehicle safety checks
  • Legitimate businesses checking background of client, employee or other associate
  • To check background for court purposes in civil, criminal, administrative or arbitral court proceedings
  • Legitimate research activities requiring researcher to lookup backgrounds of certain individuals
  • Insurance companies conducting background investigations for claims

To receive a certified background check, print and complete the Idaho Driver’s License Record Request form and mail it with the associated fees. Otherwise, you may also conduct an online background check using the online driving record page.

For more information: Your Idaho Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
Residents of Idaho dealing with lost, damaged or stolen car registrations should apply for a car registration copy as soon as possible through the Idaho DMV. To replace car registrations in Idaho, you will need to visit a local Idaho drivers license center with the following:

  • License plate number
  • Driver s license
  • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
  • Duplicate car registration fee

Car registration replacement fees may vary.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Idaho

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
Idaho residents looking to replace car titles should print and complete a Duplicate Car Title Application. Once you have the form completed, mail or bring it in person to the Ada County Processing Center at:

Ada County Processing Center

9115 Chinden Blvd

Garden City ID 83714

You will have to pay the car title replacement fee as well as a lost car title search fee if you do not have both the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and title number.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Idaho

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
Drivers in Idaho dealing with stolen, damaged or lost drivers licenses must order a drivers license replacement through the Idaho DMV. To replace lost drivers licenses, print and complete an Internet Application for Replacement Idaho Driver’s License or Identification Card. From there, you can bring the completed drivers license copy application to a local Idaho drivers license center. Idaho residents living out of state can apply to replace DMV drivers licenses by mailing the form in to the following address:

Idaho Transportation Department

Driver s License

PO Box 7129

Boise, ID 83707-1129

The fee to replace drivers licenses is $15 (fees may vary).

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
Drivers in Idaho who would like to obtain a salvage car title must first make sure the automobile they are seeking a new car title for is actually a salvage vehicle. A salvage vehicle is defined under Idaho state law as a vehicle with damage expenses that exceed the sales value of the car. If your vehicle meets this requirement and you would like to learn how to get car titles for the salvage, print and complete a Salvage Certificate Of Title Application. You will also need to print and complete a Vehicle or Hull Identification Number Inspection Certification. Bring the forms and the $14 salvage car title fee to a local Idaho drivers license center to receive your salvage title for cars.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Idaho

How do I obtain car registration?
Residents who would like to learn how to register cars can do so through the Idaho DMV. New car registrations in Idaho are available to residents and businesses located in the state. To receive a DMV car registration, your vehicle must first be titled in Idaho as well. To register cars, visit a local Idaho drivers license center with the required documentation and car registrationfee. There is currently no option to register a car online.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Idaho

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
daho drivers who are deemed habitual traffic offenders may receive a revoked drivers license as a result. As part of the suspended drivers license reinstatement process, you may be required to take a traffic course for Aggressive Drivers and Habitual Offenders. The defensive driving classes are meant for excessively aggressive drivers and drivers who have received several ticket violations in a short period of time. DMV traffic school requirements are in addition to any other penalties. Check with the Idaho DMV website for online traffic schooloptions. For more information: Suspended License Information for Idaho
How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
Drivers in Idaho who are stopped for a possible DUI or DWI citation and refuse to submit to a BAC test will automatically receive drivers license suspensions. For a first offense, you will receive a mandatory one year suspended drivers license. For two or more offenses, the suspension period is two years. Additionally, you will be charged $250 in fines. Depending on the decision of the court that handles your case, you may be allowed to drive with a restricted license as long as an IID is installed on your vehicle.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Idaho

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
Idaho residents with current drivers license suspensions must wait for the suspension period to end before they can reinstate. Once the period has ended, you may reinstate suspended drivers licenses by paying any associated fines and attending any traffic school or defensive driving courses required by the court. Suspensions resulting from certain offenses (i.e. reckless driving, DUI, DWI, etc.) will also require you to show proof of insurance for three years after reinstating suspended drivers licenses.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Idaho

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
Idaho residents who have excessive points on their drivers license can face suspensions if they accumulate enough in a short period of time. To reduce the amount of points on your license, you can elect to take traffic classes sanctioned by the Idaho DMV. The DMV allows drivers to take traffic school and defensive driving courses once every three years to reduce the amount of points on their driving record by three points.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Idaho

How do I renew my driving permit?
Idaho residents who are in possession of a drivers permit must have it for six months under the Graduated Driver s License Program prior to receiving their underage driver s license. Learners permits are not renewable, though drivers who have had their learning permit suspended are required to apply for a new one and start the six-month training period over again.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Idaho

How do I renew my ID card?
Residents of Idaho who would like to renew ID cards should do so before the expiration date. Depending on your age and the length of validity of your ID (four-year or eight-year) you will have a different ID card renewal date. You can go about renewing ID cards either by mail or in person. Residents whose last identification card renewal was by mail are required to renew identification cards in person at a local Idaho drivers license center. You must also pay a fee to renew expired ID cards.

For more information: How to Apply for an Idaho Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
Idaho residents who are active duty military members can renew driving licenses up to 25 months before the expiration date. If your expiration date is approaching and you have been deployed, complete an Application for Extension of Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card and submit it to the Idaho DMV to extend your expiration date up to four years.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Idaho

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
Idaho residents seeking a commercial drivers license must self-certify their medical status when visiting a DMV office to apply for a CDL. Most CDL license holders are required to possess a medical card, unless their particular position is exempt. Physical exams and the resulting medical cards are valid for up to 24 months. Once a medical card has expired, you candownload and print a new Medical Examination Report and have it filled out by a medical examiner during your new physical exam. From there, bring the form to your local Idaho drivers license center.

For more information: Idaho Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
Idaho motorcycle licenses are simplyClass M Motorcycle licenses endorsements added to your license. As a result, there is no need to renew motorcycle licenses in the state. An expired motorcycle license is also an expired drivers license, and requires you to follow the drivers license renewal procedures. As you renew your drivers license, you will also renew Class M licenses.

For more information: How to Renew/Replace a Motorcycle License in Idaho

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
Residents of Idaho who are not U.S. citizens and need to replace lost drivers licenses can do so by printing and completing an Internet Application for Replacement Idaho Driver’s License or Identification Card and bringing it in to a local Idaho drivers license center. Non-U.S. citizens should also bring with them proof of lawful presence (i.e. naturalization documents, foreign passports, etc.) and the drivers license replacement fee of $15 (fees may vary).

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
Residents looking to replace lost drivers licenses when they are out of state should print and complete an Internet Application for Replacement Idaho Driver’s License or Identification Card. Once you have the form completed, mail it in to the following address with the $15 duplicate drivers license fee:

Idaho Transportation Department

Driver s License

PO Box 7129

Boise, ID 83707-1129

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
Each state has its own laws concerning how to transfer car titles. If you are attempting to transfer car titles to Idaho from another state, you will need the following:

Bring the documents to a local Idaho drivers license center to initiate the transfer of title. To transfer car titles out-of-state from Idaho, contact the DMV of the state you are moving to.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Idaho

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
Residents looking to complete a car title transfer for a vehicle when they have lost the original car title must first apply for a duplicate car title. To do so, print and complete a Duplicate Idaho Title Application and submit it to a local Idaho drivers license center. From there, complete the Idaho transfer car title process.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Idaho

How do I transfer my car title?
Idaho drivers wondering how to transfer car titles in the state may have different requirements depending on their reason for initiating the car title transfer. If you are purchasing a vehicle from a private dealer, you will need to visit a local Idaho drivers license center with a completed Application for Certificate of Title and other required documents. You will also need to provide the fee to transfer car titles. If you are selling a vehicle, you will need to fill out the certificate of title under the transfer of title portion and give it to the buyer.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Idaho

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
All vehicles undergoing a car title transfer in Idaho must go through the same Idaho DMV procedures. Residents should bring the following documents to a local Idaho drivers license center:

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Idaho

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
Idaho residents who are active-duty military members and are wondering how to get a motorcycle license must go about getting a motorcycle license before their deployment date. Once you have obtained your motorcycle license endorsement, you will have full privileges for operating a motorcycle. Renewing motorcycle licenses and driver s licenses while deployed requires military members to print and complete an Application for Extension of Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card. You may extend the expiration date of your motorcycle driving license for up to four years using this form.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Idaho

How does the DMV check my vision?
Part of the drivers license application process for Idaho residents is to undergo a series of drivers license tests. The testing process includes a vision screening to test your ability to see properly while driving. The minimum standard for eye sight is 20/40 vision in at least one eye, with or without contact lens.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Idaho

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
Under Idaho s Graduated Driver s License Program, drivers under 17 are required to have at least six months of supervised instruction during which they possess a learning permit. While in possession of a drivers permit during the six-month period, minors must remain violation-free.

If you are convicted of any traffic abuse, violate any restrictions or have your permit for driving suspended during the learners permit period, you will have to reapply for a new learning permit to start the process over.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Idaho

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
Idaho drivers looking to replace lost car titles cannot order a car title copy online. Replacing car titles requires drivers to print and complete a Duplicate Car Title Application and submit it to the Ada processing center. Car title replacements will arrive in the mail in a few weeks. To expedite the process, drivers can pay a Rush fee of $26.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Idaho

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
Idaho residents who refuse to take a chemical Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) test during a traffic stop will automatically receive a suspended driving license and have their license seized by the arresting officer. Officers may then issue a temporary driving permit for seven days, during which you must request a court hearing. If the court upholds the officer s claims, your drivers license suspension will remain in effect for one year for a first offense and two years for any subsequent offenses. The suspended driving license is in addition to any other alcohol-related penalties.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Idaho

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
The length of time it will take for you to receive ID cards depend on the county where you apply for ID cards. To get ID cards, visit a local Idaho drivers license center with the required identification documents and complete an ID card application. Once your information has been verified and you have paid the ID card fees, you will either be issued your DMV ID card right there or it will be mailed to you.

For more information: How to Apply for an Idaho Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
Idaho s driver violation point system assesses a driver s violations and includes demerit points to your driving record based on the type of violation. Point assessments for violations range from one to four points. Drivers who accrue 12 to 17 points on their DMV driving records within a single year will face a 30-day drivers license suspension. Drivers who accrue 18 to 23 points within two years will face a 90-day drivers license suspension. Drivers who accrue 24 or more points within three years face a six-month drivers license suspension.

For more information: Your Idaho Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
Idaho residents who have accumulated violation points on their driving record can elect to take a Defensive Driving Course (DDC) to reduce their point total by three points. DDCs can only be taken to reduce points on their driving record once every three years.

Additionally, drivers may have the option of taking a Traffic Safety Education Course (TSC). TSCs are offered at the discretion of law enforcement officers at the time of the traffic violation. The driver must accept the course at the time of the violation, and completion of the course will remove points associated with the violation that caused the traffic stop.

For more information: Your Idaho Driving Record

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
Residents of Idaho who have submitted a name change request with the DMV must order replacement documents reflecting the name change. One of the documents on the name change checklist of DMV documents you must replace is your vehicle s registration. Once your name change request has been approved, pay the car registration renewal fee to receive a new registration. Fees for registration renewals are based on the age and size of the vehicle, as follows:

  • Passenger vehicles:

o $48 for cars aged one to two years old

o $36 for cars aged three to six years old

o $24 for cars ages seven or more years

  • Motorcycles: $15
  • School buses: $24
  • RVs: varies by age and market value
  • Off-road vehicles: $12
  • Boats: $30 for first 12 feet, $2 for each additional foot

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Idaho

How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
To request a duplicate Idaho title that reflects your name change request, you must be either the owner or lien holder of the vehicle. You must also have the VIN and title number of the car, found on the vehicle s registration. If you don t have that information, you will have to submit anIdaho Motor Vehicle Record Request form and pay the $7 request fee. From there, print and complete a Duplicate Idaho Title Application and pay the $14 duplicate title fee to receive your updated car title.
How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
Once you have submitted a petition for name change to the Idaho DMV, you will have to pay certain fees associated with the documents you need replaced. DMV name changing fees are as follows:

  • Drivers license (CDL, Class D and motorcycle): $15
  • ID card: $10 for four-year, $20 for eight-year
  • Car registration:

o $48 for cars aged one to two years old

o $36 for cars aged three to six years old

o $24 for cars ages seven or more years

  • Motorcycle registration: $15

Fees may vary by county.

How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
Commercial drivers licenses for Idaho residents are valid for a period of four years. When you visit a DMV office to apply for a CDL renewal, you will not be required to retake your initial CDL license tests (with the exception of CDL license drivers with Hazardous Materials endorsements).

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
Residents of Idaho wondering how to renew drivers licenses and how soon they can do so should contact a local Idaho drivers license center. Residents renewing drivers licenses can renew up to 25 months prior to their expiration date.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Idaho

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
Residents of Idaho who have recently had a family member die and leave them a vehicle must initiate a car title transfer before they can legally claim ownership. Inherited vehicles are tax exempt, so you should first print and complete a Sales Tax Exemption Certificate form. Bring the form and any documentation pertaining to the vehicle and the deceased (i.e. car title, death certificate) to a local Idaho drivers license center to transfer titles.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Idaho

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
There may be late fees associated with renewing car registrations in Idaho after the expiration date. To find out how to renew car registrations that are expired, contact the county assessor in the county where your car is registered. You can also contact the Idaho Department of Transportation at 208-334-8649.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Idaho

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
Currently, Idaho DMV does not have a policy for waiving the fee to replace driving licenses due to a theft. However, drivers are still urged to file a police report before applying to replace licenses. Drivers are also urged to report lost drivers licenses as well. Bring the police report toa local Idaho drivers license center to put the report on file for identity theft protection.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
In the event that you have been in a car accident in Idaho, you must report all property damage to both your car insurance company and the Idaho DMV. Drivers who do not report property damage may be assessed fines. Drivers who get in car accidents and don t have insurance for cars being driven on the roads will be assessed fines, as well as be required to provide proof of car insurance to the DMV for a certain period of time. To apply for car insurancein Idaho, research various online car insurance companies and request car insurance quotes to find the best and most affordable policies.

For more information: Idaho Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
Drivers who operate vehicles in Idaho are required to get car insurance and keep it at all times. Drivers found without insurance for cars they own will be assessed fees, drivers license suspensions and possible jail time. To find out how to get car insurance, visit the Idaho Department of Insurance website.

For more information: Idaho Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
Idaho residents who have lost their traffic tickets should first remember which county they received the ticket in. Once you have determined the county where you received the ticket, visit the county website to retrieve the court s contact information. From there, contact the court and ask the county clerk to look up the information for you. Many county websites will also give drivers information, such as the cost of traffic tickets online. Some even give drivers the option to pay speeding tickets online too.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Idaho

If I own multiple vehicles, am I required to have them all insured?
Idaho requires that every vehicle operator in the state have at least the minimum amounts of basic liability car insurance. Therefore, if you own multiple vehicles, all of them must have auto insurance coverage. Most insurance companies in Idaho offer discounts for insuring more than one vehicle on the same insurance policy. However, bear in mind that terms and benefits offered by insurance companies vary, so make sure to check with your vehicle insurance provider first to get the best rates and auto coverage.

For more information: Idaho Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
Residents of Idaho dealing with stolen, damaged or lost ID cards while they are out-of-state can apply for ID card renewals by mail if they did not renew ID cards by mail during their last expiration period. If your last ID card renewal was by mail, you will need to contact a local Idaho drivers license center to inquire about other options for ID card replacements.

For more information: How to Apply for an Idaho Identification Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
Drivers in Idaho found by law enforcement officials to be either driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) will receive a suspended driving license. Depending on whether or not a DWI or DUI citation was the driver s first, second or third offense, the length of their drivers license suspensions varies. A first offense DWI or DUI ticket will result in a 90- to 180-day suspended drivers license. A second DUI or DWI ticket within 10 years will result in a minimum of one year revoked drivers license. Three or more DWI or DUI citations within 10 years will result in as long as five years before you can reinstate suspended drivers license. You will have to pay a range of fees as well before your license can be reinstated.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Idaho

If my drivers license has been lost or stolen, how can I get it flagged with the DMV?
The Idaho DMV might flag your license number if another driver is pulled over by the police and presents your driving license as your own. Also, a DMV clerk might suggest that you apply for a duplicate driving license. However, to be on the safe side, immediately report your drivers license as lost or stolen at your nearest Idaho drivers license center. For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card
Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
Idaho residents who would like to learn how to replace car registrations and lost personalized plates should contact a local Idaho drivers license center. At the center, speak to a DMV official and ask him or her about replacing car registrations and personalized plates. A lost car registration fee will apply.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Idaho

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
Yes, all residents of Idaho completing CDL applications must be at least 18 years old. You must also have at least one year of driving experience before you can apply for a CDL. It is possible to take the regular driver s license tests and the commercial drivers license tests at the same time.

For more information: Idaho Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
Residents between the age of 21 and 62 have the choice of applying to renew drivers licenses for four or eight years. Drivers between 18 and 21 will have an expiration date five days after their 21st birthday and cannot renew driving licenses until that time. Likewise, drivers 15 to 17 years old will have an expiration date five days after their 18th birthday and cannot renew licenses until then.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Idaho

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
Residents of Idaho getting car registration must carry the registration in the vehicle at all times. If you are ever stopped by law enforcement officials, you will have to show them both your car registration and drivers license. Drivers who would like to learn how to register cars in the state can contact a local Idaho drivers license center.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Idaho

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
Residents of Idaho who would like to apply to replace drivers licenses must print and complete an Internet Application for Replacement Idaho Driver’s License or Identification Card. From there, bring the form into a local Idaho drivers license center (or mail it in if out-of-state). A drivers license copy will be sent to the mailing address listed on the application.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
Idaho seniors who are applying for drivers license renewals may have to satisfy a few requirements before receiving their new drivers license. Depending on the DMV office they visit, seniors may have to submit to retesting for vision, written drivers tests and skills driving exams. Testing fees will apply.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Idaho

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
Residents of Idaho can find themselves transferring car titles for a number of reasons, including:

  • Purchasing a vehicle
  • Selling a vehicle
  • Receiving a vehicle as a gift
  • Inheriting a vehicle after the death of a spouse or family member
  • Removing a lien from a car title
  • Change, add or delete names from car title
  • Correcting information on car title

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Idaho

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
Idaho drivers can receive a drivers license suspension for a number of reasons. The length of time a resident will have a suspended driving license depends on the violation. Common reasons for suspended or revoked drivers licenses are as follows:

  • DUI/DWI
  • Committing felony during act of driving
  • Leaving accident scene
  • Reckless driving
  • Driving with a suspended drivers license
  • Refusing a chemical DUI test
  • Failing to pay fines for traffic violations
  • Misusing drivers license
  • Failing to have car insurance
  • Failing to pay child support

For more information: Suspended License Information for Idaho

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
Idaho residents under 21 who are wondering how to get a motorcycle license must complete a few requirements first. Drivers under 21 must take an Idaho DMV STAR course (either Basic I, Basic II or Experienced). Once the course is passed, you have one year to apply for a Class M motorcycle license endorsement. Drivers under 17 who are getting a motorcycle license must pass an Idaho DMV-approved driver education course prior to enrolling in a STAR motorcycle license course.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Idaho

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
There are six different CDL endorsements drivers can request when they apply for a CDL. CDL endorsements include:

  • Double/Triple (CDL T endorsement): CDL license holders pulling two or three trailers
  • Hazardous materials (CDL H endorsement): CDL license holders transporting hazardous materials (requires background check)
  • Passenger (CDL P endorsement): CDL license holders driving vehicles that carry 16 or more passengers (driver included)
  • School bus (CDL S endorsement): CDL license holders transporting school children to and from home, school and school-sponsored events
  • Tank vehicles (CDL N endorsement): CDL license holders transporting liquid or gaseous material in tank(s)
  • Tank Vehicles/Hazardous Materials (CDL X endorsement): CDL license holders driving combination of tanks and hazardous materials

For more information: Idaho Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
Idaho drivers who fail to reinstate suspended drivers licenses are restricted from all driving privileges. If you are caught driving with a suspension, the length of time you must wait before reinstating suspended drivers licenses will be extended. Additionally, you will receive a number of fines on top of the fines for the initial drivers license suspension.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Idaho

What are the different types of driving records?
Idaho residents looking to check driving records can request a police record check online or by printing, completing and mailing an Idaho Driver’s License Record Request form. There are two types of driving records you can request: certified or non-certified. Online police records are non-certified, while mailed police record requests can be certified for an additional $14 fee (fees may vary).

For more information: Your Idaho Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
Idaho DMV ID card fees vary based on the length of the ID card validity and how old the resident is. For residents ages 21 and under, identification cards are $10. For residents over 21, ID cards are $10 for a four-year and $20 for an eight-year. The fee to replace ID cards is the same price as the original ID card fee.

For more information: How to Apply for an Idaho Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
Drivers in Idaho who are dealing with a lost, damaged or stolen drivers license must apply for a duplicate at a local Idaho drivers license center. When applying, make sure to bring the required documents along with the drivers license copy fee of $15 (fees may vary). If your license has already expired, you will need to pay the drivers license renewal fees to receive a new license.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
Idaho residents who possess a permit for driving have a few restrictions they must follow. Restrictions include:

  • Must drive with a supervising adult 21 years old or older who possesses a valid driver s license (adult must be in the front passenger seat)
  • All occupants must wear seatbelt and/or child restraints
  • Driving permit must be on your person
  • Observe all alcohol and intoxicating substance laws and regulations

Residents getting drivers permits must accumulate at least 50 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel training in the six-month period of their drivers permit before they can move on to their restricted license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Idaho

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
Idaho residents submitting CDL applications must self-certify their medical card status with the Idaho DMV. To self-certify for your CDL license, you must either visit a local Idaho drivers license center or visit the self-certification page on the Idaho DMV website.

To apply for a CDL self-certification,commercial driving license holders must declare whether they will be conducting interstate (multi-state) or intrastate (strictly within Idaho state borders) commerce. Additionally, you will have to declare whether or not you are exempt from Department of Transportation (DOT) medical card requirements.

Commercial drivers licenseapplicants can acquire a DOT medical card after undergoing a physical exam conducted by a qualified medical examiner. Medical exams are valid for up to 24 months, and must be submitted to the Idaho DMV before residents can receive theirlicense to drive commercial.

For more information: Idaho Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
Idaho drivers are required to have their license and car registration on them at all times while operating motor vehicles in the state. If you no longer have your car registration, you will need to apply for a duplicate car registration. Common reasons residents no longer have their registration include:

  • Lost car registration
  • Stolen car registration
  • Car registration damaged beyond legibility

To learn more about how to replace car registrations, contact a local Idaho drivers license center.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Idaho

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
Drivers in Idaho who have learners permits are subject to stricter penalties for traffic ticket fines than drivers with full licenses. In addition to receiving a revoked drivers license, learners permit holders will receive the following:

  • First fine: warning letter
  • Second fine: 30-day suspended drivers license
  • Third fine: 60-day suspended drivers license

Once the drivers license suspension has been lifted, learners permit holders will have to start their restriction period over again.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Idaho

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
DUI convictions in Idaho come with a wide range of penalties including fines, jail time and drivers license suspensions. The list of penalties for being convicted of DUIs is as follows:

  • First DUI conviction:
    • Misdemeanor
    • Up to six months jail time
    • Up to $1,000 in fines
    • Drivers license suspension for 90 to 180 days
  • Second DUI conviction (within 10 years) or first offense over 0.20 percent:
    • Misdemeanor
    • Up to one year jail time; 10 days mandatory
    • One year mandatory license suspension
    • IID installation required
  • Third DUI conviction (within 10 years) or second offense over 0.20 percent (within five years):
    • Felony
    • Up to five years jail time; 30 days mandatory
    • Up to five years license suspension; one year mandatory
    • IID installation required

If an injury is caused during an incident that results in you being convicted of DWI or DUIs, you will be assessed an Aggravated DUI conviction with harsher fines and penalties.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Idaho

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
Once an Idaho driver s suspension period has ended, he or she is eligible for suspended drivers license reinstatement. Fees to reinstate revoked drivers licenses run anywhere from $25 to $285 depending on the violation that caused the suspension. For serious violations, other restrictions will apply before you are allowed to apply for a suspended drivers license reinstatement.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Idaho

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
Idaho residents looking to get car registrations in the state must present DMV officials with a few required documents and fees. Required fees vary based on the type of vehicle you are registering. Car registration fees are as follows:

  • Passenger cars/Motor homes: between $35 and $60 depending on the age and size
  • Motorcycles: $15
  • Boats: $30
  • RVs: $9 (must also purchase an RV sticker which costs $8.50 for the first $1,000 of the RVs market value and $5 for each $1,000 increase)

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Idaho

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
There are a few fees Idaho residents must pay when applying to replace lost car titles. The initial car title replacement fee is $14 and must be paid by all drivers requesting a car title copy. Additionally, if you do not have both the VIN and lost car title number, you will have to pay a $7 car title search fee. Residents who would like expedited service in receiving their duplicate car title must also pay an additional $26 fee (fees may vary).

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Idaho

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
Idaho residents looking to replace lost car registrations can do so by visiting a local Idaho drivers license center. There are associated fees with replacing car registrations, though fees vary depending on the county you reside in. To find out how much duplicate car registration fees are in your area, contact the DMV office near you.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Idaho

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
Idaho residents looking to renew expired car registrations will have to pay a fee based on the size and age of their vehicle. Passenger cars weighing less than 8,000 pounds have annual car registration renewal fees as follows:

  • Cars one or two years old: $69
  • Cars three to six years old: $57
  • Cars seven or more years old: $45

The fee for renewing car registrations on RVs is based on the size and weight of the vehicle. Contact a local Idaho drivers license center for information on how to renew expired car registrations on RVs and other types of vehicles.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Idaho

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
Idaho residents who own three-wheel motorcycles must meet the same requirements for getting a motorcycle license as they would for a two-wheel motorcycle. To learn more about the different types of motorcycles and their certification requirements, refer to the Identification Chart for Motorized Vehicles with Two or Three Wheels.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Idaho

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
Most Idaho residents with a suspended driving license are eligible for a restricted drivers license as awarded by the court where the suspension was ordered. Drivers with restricted drivers licenses are allowed to drive to and from essential locations such as school, work and medical centers during their drivers license suspension period. In the case of a DUI, restricted drivers licenses may require drivers to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Idaho

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
Idaho residents looking to get drivers licenses must undergo a vision screening, written drivers test and skills driving test. If you fail either of the DMV drivers tests (written or skills), you will have to retake the tests. Residents who fail either of the drivers tests must wait three days to retest. Drivers will also need to pay the drivers exam fees again as well.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Idaho

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
Idaho residents seeking a permit for driving must provide a few documents during the drivers permit application process. Required documents include:

  • Social Security card
  • Certified birth certificate
  • Photo ID
  • School enrollment paperwork (for minors)

Minors will also need a parent or guardian present to sign a release form before they will be issued a drivers permit.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Idaho

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
Getting a motorcycle license in Idaho requires you to provide a few documents at the local Idaho drivers license center. Required documents include:

  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of residency
  • Proof of date of birth
  • Proof ofSocial Security Number
  • Proof of completion of STAR motorcycle driving license courses (if applicable)

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Idaho

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
Residents of Idaho who are applying for drivers licenses must present a few required documents at a local Idaho drivers license center. To receive a license to drive, you must bring the following:

  • Proof of age and identity
  • Social Security card (or simply the number)
  • Proof of Idaho residency
  • Proof of lawful presence in the U.S. (if applicable)
  • Foreign driver s license (if applicable)
  • Visual or medical certification (if applicable)
  • Driver training completion documents for minors under 17
  • Liability signature from parent or guardian for minors under 18
  • Verification of School Compliance (VOC) if under 18

For specific details on each of these required driving license documents, contact the Idaho DMV.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Idaho

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
Residents of Idaho replacing car titles must print and complete the Duplicate Car Title Application. If you will be mailing the application in, you will also have to get it notarized. Additionally, residents must include the car title copy fee, as well as the car title search fee (if applicable).

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Idaho

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
Idaho residents who have recently had an official address change can submit an address change request with the Idaho DMV by printing and completing an Address Change Request form. Residents are not required to submit any proof of residency documents when submitting their address change forms.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Idaho

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
While Idaho residents are not required to submit proof of identity forms when completing an Address Change Request form, the steps to change address do require certain identification documents when you are requesting a new drivers license or ID card. Non-U.S. citizens can order duplicate drivers licenses with their official address update by submitting one of the following documents:

  • Valid U.S. passport or foreign passport
  • Military ID card
  • Naturalization documents

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Idaho

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
Idaho drivers with stolen, damaged or lost car registrations wondering how to replace car registrations should contact a local Idaho drivers license center. When replacing car registrations, you will need to provide certain items to the DMV officials, including:

  • License plate number
  • Driver s license number
  • VIN
  • Duplicate car registration fee

There are no options at this time to replace car registration online.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Idaho

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
Residents of Idaho getting car registrations must visit a local Idaho drivers license center to apply. Registering cars in the state requires residents to present DMV officials with certain documents including:

  • Valid driver s license
  • Social Security Number
  • Proof of insurance
  • Proof of residency
  • Registration fee

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Idaho

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
Drivers in Idaho renewing car registrations must provide a few documents to the Idaho DMV for identification purposes. Required identification documents include the following:

  • Idaho driver s license number
  • Social Security number
  • Physical address
  • Mailing address

To renew car registration online, you will also need a credit or debit card.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Idaho

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
Idaho drivers with expired drivers licenses can renew either by mail or in person at a local Idaho drivers license center. When attempting to renew expired drivers licenses, you may be required to submit to a vision test, written knowledge test or skills test. If applying through the mail, you will need to submit the application to renew drivers licenses that was sent to your address by the Idaho DMV.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Idaho

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
If you are purchasing vehicles in Idaho from a private seller, you will need to go about transferring car titles for the vehicles after purchase. There are a few required documents you must provide when visiting a local Idaho drivers license center to transfer titles, including:

To find out where to transfer car titles or where to submit documents by mail, contact your local DMV office.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Idaho

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
Residents of Idaho looking to replace licenses must first print and complete an Internet Application for Replacement Idaho Driver’s License or Identification Card. Once you have the duplicate drivers license form completed, bring it in to a local Idaho drivers license center along with the following required documents:

  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of residency
  • Duplicate drivers license fee ($15)

To replace stolen drivers licenses, you should also report the theft to local law enforcement and bring the police report to the DMV when applying.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
Idaho drivers who would like to receive a motorcycle license endorsement must apply in person at a local Idaho drivers license center. At the center, you will be required to take and pass the motorcycle endorsement written exam and driving skills test. The skills portion of the motorcycle drivers license exams can be waived if you complete one of the STAR motorcycle license courses. The written exam must be taken by everybody getting a motorcycle license, and consists of 25 questions of which at least 20 must be answered correctly. The fee for the written test is $3, while the fee for the skills test is $10.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Idaho

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
Residents of Idaho looking to replace car titles must print and complete a Duplicate Car Title Application. Once the form is completed, you should have it notarized if you plan on replacing car titles through the mail. If submitting the form in person, you will only need to bring the duplicate car title fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Idaho

What happens if I don’t pay for my traffic ticket from another state?
Certain traffic violations, including speeding and other moving violations, are automatically reported to the Idaho Department of Transportation’s Driver Services Division and Idaho in turn, routinely provides information concerning traffic ticket convictions to other states.

If you get a traffic ticket in another state, it will be treated as if it were received in your home state. Therefore, failure to pay an out-of-state traffic citation in the state of Idaho may result in points being added to your driving record or even a suspended driving license. Keep in mind that not all traffic violations result in points being added to your driving record and that different violations are assigned different point values.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Idaho

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
Drivers in Idaho who have a commercial drivers license face stiffer penalties for traffic ticket fines. The following types of infractions can result in a suspended drivers license for CDL holders:

  • Major traffic violations
  • Railroad crossing violations
  • Violations causing CDL license to be put out-of-service (i.e. DUI, DWI, leaving scene of accident, etc.)

Additionally, CDL holders are required to report traffic fines to their employer.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Idaho

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
CDL license holders in Idaho who are convicted of DUIs will be disqualified from commercial driving license privileges for one year for the first offense. If you have a license to drive commercial, transport Hazardous Materials and are convicted of a DUI, you will be disqualified from driving privileges for three years. A second DUI conviction will disqualify drivers from all CDL license privileges for life.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Idaho

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
If you believe you are dealing with a lost or stolen car title, you should apply for a car title replacement as soon as possible. Once you receive a car title copy, that copy will be your primary car title. If you happen to find the lost car title at a later date, you should destroy it or surrender it to an Idaho DMV office.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Idaho

What information does a driving record contain?
Idaho drivers checking driving records through the DMV can do so either by mail or online. Online driving record checks contain the same information as mail driving record checks, though only mailed requests to check driving records can be certified. Information on DMV driving records includes:

  • License Suspensions
  • License Restorations
  • All driver s license data
  • Demerit points assessed

For more information: Your Idaho Driving Record

What is an ID card?
An Idaho ID card is a non-driver form of identification issued by the Idaho DMV to state residents with no other state-issued ID card, driver s permit or driver s license. DMV ID cards are used to prove identity, age and where you reside within the state. Identification cards are valid for either four or eight years depending on the ID card you receive when you apply.

For more information: How to Apply for an Idaho Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
The cost of receiving DUI citations in Idaho varies depending on the number of DUI offenses you have on your driving record. Drivers found to be driving over the legal limit of 0.08 percent BAC for the first time will pay fees of up to $1,000, while drivers with a first offense BAC over 0.20 percent will face fines up to $2,000. Drivers with a second offense over the legal limit will pay up to $2,000 in fines. If on a second offense (within five years) your BAC is above 0.20 percent, your fees will be up to $5,000. If you are convicted for a third time of driving under the influencewithin 10 years, your fees will be up to $5,000 and include mandatory jail time.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Idaho

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
To find out how much is traffic tickets in Idaho, check the documentation handed to you at the time of the violation. The traffic ticket price will be listed on the ticket. The cost of traffic tickets are also available on certain county websites when you enter your drivers license or license plate number into the system. Some sites even allow you to pay traffic tickets online.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Idaho

What is the cost to get a driver record?
The fee for checking police records with the Idaho DMV varies depending on the type of driving record you are requesting. To simply look up police records, residents can complete the online driving record page and pay a fee of $9.56. To request a DMV driving record by mail, print and complete the Idaho Driver’s License Record Request form and pay the $7 fee. For a certified driving record, the fee is $14 in addition to the initial $7 drivers record fee. You can also check your driving record and receive copies of all your filed documents (i.e. suspensions, citations, etc.) for $14 through the mail. Fees may vary.

For more information: Your Idaho Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
Driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated in Idaho results in harsher penalties when you possess a commercial driver s license than when you have a regular license. A CDL driver who is stopped and has a BAC of less than 0.04 percent but detectable alcohol in their blood will be put out-of-service for 24 hours. Commercial drivers found to have a BAC over 0.04 percent will be assessed a mandatory one year license suspension for a first offense (three years if they were transporting hazardous materials). Commercial drivers assessed a DUI ticket for a second offense will lose their CDL for life.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Idaho

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
Drivers under 21 are assessed stiffer penalties for DWI and DUI citations in Idaho. Drivers found to be driving above the legal BAC limit will receive a one year driver license suspension and up to $1,000 in fines for a first offense. If you are under 18, you will lose your license privileges until you are 21. Second and subsequent DUI and DWI offenses face more penalties, including higher fines, longer suspensions and potential jail time.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Idaho

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
Drivers in Idaho are required to have insurance for cars they own at all times while operating the vehicles. When applying, drivers must get car insurance that meets the minimum liability coverage requirements in Idaho. Minimum car insuranceliability requirements include:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury (one person, single accident)
  • $50,000 for total bodily injury (two or more people, single accident)
  • $15,000 for property damage

Additionally, Idaho insurance for cars must include coverage for uninsured and underinsured motorists you may get in an accident with. To get car insurance in Idaho, research the various companies and policies available in the state for a range of car insurance quotes. Many companies offer online car insurance, so you can take care of all your insurance requirements from your computer.

For more information: Idaho Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the passing score for a written test?
Minors in Idaho who possess a drivers permit for at least six months can graduate to a restricted drivers license provided they pass the required drivers ed tests. Drivers license tests consist of a written exam and drivers exam (behind-the-wheel). The written drivers test consists of 25 questions, of which at least 20 must be answered correctly.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Idaho

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
Idaho residents asking themselves “How do I transfer car titles for motorcycles or scooters?” should follow the same procedures as it pertains to all motor vehicles in the state. Residents wondering where to transfer car titles should contact a local Idaho drivers license center to initiate a car title transfer.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Idaho

What languages is the written test available in?
The written drivers test portion of Idaho s drivers license test requirements must be completed and passed before an Idaho resident can get drivers licenses in the state. Idaho written drivers tests are available in a number of languages,including:

  • English
  • Arabic
  • Chinese
  • Farsi
  • French
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Serbo-Croatian
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
  • ASL (AmericanSign Language)

Written drivers tests consist of 40 questions, of which at least 34 must be answered correctly.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Idaho

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
Drivers in Idaho convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) who would like to initiate a suspended drivers license reinstatement must wait for their suspension period to end. You will also have to pay fees ranging from $1,000 to $5,000 depending on how many DWI or DUI tickets you have received in the past. Once you have waited the required period, print and complete a Drivers License Reinstatement Application. From there you can either bring the completed application and associated fees in to a local Idaho drivers license center or mail it to the following address:

Driver Services

PO Box 34

Boise ID 83731-0034

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Idaho

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
If you are an Idaho driver relocating to a new address, update moving change address within 30 days at the Idaho DMV. Drivers wondering “what happens if I don t change my address” should contact their local law enforcement agency for specifics. Penalties for failing to submit an official address update can include fines and potential license suspensions. For an address change checklist, visit the Idaho DMV website.For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Idaho
What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
Drivers in Idaho who fail to renew drivers licenses will have their license suspended until they visit a DMV office. To renew expired drivers licenses, you may also have to retake the vision test, written knowledge test ($3 fee) and skills test ($24 fee). Drivers license renewal fees are $30 for a four-year license and $55 for an eight-year.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Idaho

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
When you apply for car insurance you must pay a premium to receive coverage. Once you get car insurance, you will be issued a car insurance card, policy number and accompanying documentation. You can also request an SR22 insurance certificate from the company. Bring the insurance card, policy documents or SR22 insurance certificate to the Idaho DMV when registering your car to satisfy the proof of insurance requirements. To learn more about how to get car insurance in Idaho, visit the Idaho Department of Insurance website.

For more information: Idaho Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
Idaho drivers should receive their renewal notices a few weeks before they are set to renew expired car registrations. Likewise, you should receive your stickers and new registration card within a few weeks of renewing car registrations. If you have not received your stickers or car registration card, contact a local Idaho drivers license center.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Idaho

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
If you are applying to renew licenses at a local Idaho drivers license center, you will receive your drivers license renewal at the time of application. If you apply for a drivers license renewal by mail, you should receive your new license within 10 business days. If you have not received your license in that time, contact a DMV office for an inquiry. There is currently no option to renew drivers license online.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Idaho

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
Minors in Idaho who possess a learners permit must have it for six months without any violations before they can graduate to a restricted license. Prior to receiving the restricted license, learners permit holders must be at least 15 years old and pass the required DMV drivers tests: both the written drivers test and skilled driving test. Drivers who fail the written test and/or skilled drivers test must wait three days before they are allowed to retest.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Idaho

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
To apply for a CDL, Idaho residents must take a knowledge test based on the type of commercial drivers license they are applying for. Additionally, CDL applications require you to take a skills test to assess basic vehicle control and on-road driving skills. Available knowledge tests include:

  • General knowledge: Required for all CDL applications
  • Passenger: Required for all bus driver CDL applications
  • Air brakes: Required for all CDL applicants driving vehicles with air brakes
  • Combination vehicles: Required for all CDL applicants driving combination vehicles
  • Hazardous materials: Required for all Hazardous Material CDL applications (initial and renewal)
  • Tank vehicle: Required for all tank driver CDL applications
  • Doubles/Triples: Required for all CDL license holders pulling double or triple trailers
  • School bus: Required for all bus driver CDL applications

CDL practice tests are available on the Idaho DMV website and in the Commercial Drivers License Manual.

For more information: Idaho Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
Idaho residents getting drivers licenses for the first time must take a series of driverstests at a local Idaho drivers license center as part of the drivers license application process. Required tests include a vision screening, a written drivers test and a skills driving exam. DMV drivers tests must be taken on-site at the DMV centers. The skills drivers exam fee is $24, while the written drivers test fee is $3. Minors applying for drivers licenses will be required to take drivers ed tests as part of their successful completion of a drivers education program.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Idaho

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
All Idaho drivers are required by state law to have minimum basic liability car insurance to operate motor vehicles in the state. When getting car insurance, ask to receive the minimum requirements of bodily injury, total bodily injury and property damage coverage. To apply for car insurance, research and visit the various companies on the Internet. Most companies will provide quick car insurance quotes online. Many will even allow you to receive an online car insurance policy, so you never have to leave your computer.

For more information: Idaho Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
Idaho residents who do not plan on driving commercially will need to apply for a Class D drivers license. To do so, visit one of the local Idaho DMV locations with the required documentation and drivers license fees. You will need to take a series of driving tests prior to getting drivers licenses in the state.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Idaho

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
Drivers in Idaho who fail to get insurance for cars they own are not allowed to operate these motor vehicles. Likewise, when operating a motor vehicle while you have car insurance, you must carry proof of insurance on you and provide the proof to law enforcement officials when asked. Drivers found to be driving without getting car insurance will be assessed fines and penalties as follows:

  • $75 for a first offense
  • Up to $1,000 for second and subsequent offenses
  • Requirement to provide SR22 insurance certificates to the Idaho DMV to put on file
  • Up to six months jail time

For more information: Idaho Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
You will be eligible to reinstate your suspended drivers license after you have completed all the terms of your suspension period. These requirements vary, depending on the conviction or traffic violations on your driving record. To reinstate their suspended driving license, Idaho drivers must pay all applicable fees, provide proof of insurance (SR-22 form) and proof from the court that they have paid any fines imposed on them. For more information: Suspended License Information for Idaho
When does my car registration expire?
Idaho residents must renew car registrations by the expiration date listed on their car registration card. Expiration dates are typically a year from the date when you last went in to renew expired car registrations. You will receive a car registration renewal notice prior to the expiration date.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Idaho

When does my ID card expire?
Idaho DMV ID cards are valid for a period of four or eight years depending on the ID card you receive during your application. Residents under 18 at the time they get ID cards, will see their ID cards expire on their 18th birthdays. Residents between 18 and 21 while in possession of identification cards will have an ID card expiration date on their 21st birthdays.

For more information: How to Apply for an Idaho Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
Residents of Idaho are responsible for changing address when moving at the DMV within 30 days of moving. Residents wondering “how to change my address” can do so by printing and completing a Change of Address Request form. Address changing is a fairly simple process, with the address change request form covering both drivers licenses and car registrations. Visit the Idaho drivers license center locator to find out where to change your address in person.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Idaho

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
When buying or selling a vehicle in Idaho, the Idaho DMV will require you to submit a bill of sale to complete the car title transfer under certain circumstances. A bill of sale for car transfers is required when the sale price is not printed on the car title itself. When submitting a car title bill of sale, it must include the following information:

  • Complete vehicle description
  • Sales price
  • Full name of buyer
  • Seller s signature
  • Date of sale/buy

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Idaho

When will I need to renew my license?
Idaho residents should renew driving licenses by the expiration date listed on their license. This date will be one, three, four or eight years following the date you last applied or renewed your license. To learn more about how to renew drivers licenses, contact a local Idaho drivers license center.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Idaho

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
Drivers in Idaho who would like to replace DMV drivers licenses can apply at a local Idaho drivers license center. Once your application to replace drivers licenses is processed, you should receive your drivers license replacement within three weeks. If you have not received your duplicate drivers license in that time, contact the Idaho DMV.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
Idaho residents who would like to check if they have a suspended drivers license can do so by contacting a local Idaho drivers license center. Residents can also check their drivers license suspension status with the Online Driver License Status form.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Idaho

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
Residents looking to replace car registrations must do so through the Idaho DMV. To do so, contact a local Idaho drivers license center.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Idaho

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
Residents of Idaho convicted of DUI or DWI may be allowed to obtain a restricted license after a period of drivers license suspension. In this event, drivers will most likely be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on their vehicle to prevent them from driving under the influence. The Idaho DMV has a list of approved IID manufacturers on the DMV website. While the IID manufacturers are located outside of Idaho, they do have installation centers in various Idaho locations.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Idaho

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Depending on the Idaho county that you received your traffic ticket fine in, you will have the option to pay traffic tickets online, in person or by mail. If you have lost the ticket, visit the county clerk website for the county you received the ticket in. Many counties also have options on their websites to view traffic ticket fines online, schedule court dates and make payments.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Idaho

Where can I get a new drivers license?
Residents of Idaho whowant a license to drive must visit a local Idaho drivers license center to apply for drivers licenses. Initial driving licenses require a number of document submissions as well as a few driving tests. There is currently no option to apply for a drivers license online or by mail.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Idaho

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
Residents looking to apply for a car title replacement should print and complete a Duplicate Car Title Application. Once completed, you can either bring the form in person to the Ada County Processing Center or mail it to the following address:

Ada County Processing Center

PO Box 140019

Garden City ID 83714

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Idaho

Where can I obtain an ID card?
Idaho residents who would like to apply for ID cards can do so by visiting a local Idaho drivers license center. To get ID cards, you must present DMV officials with both proof of identity and proof of residence documents. Idaho identification cards are subject to a fee based on the length of the ID card s validity.

For more information: How to Apply for an Idaho Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
All motor vehicles registered in Idaho are required to have insurance. This includes both cars and motorcycles. Motorcycle insurance is provided by a number of companies. To find out how to get car insurance, research the various policies available in the state. To find out how to get motorcycle insurance, check out the various online motorcycle insurance policies available. Many companies will even offer motorcycle insurance quotes from the comfort of your home computer. Insurance for motorcycles may be a bit more expensive than getting car insurance. However, getting motorcycle insurance can go a long way towards making your riding experience safer.

For more information: Idaho Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
Minors in Idaho completing a drivers permit application must bring a parent or guardian at least 18 years old to a local Idaho drivers license center during the application process. The parent or guardian must sign a liability form before a drivers permit can be issued. For this reason, you cannot apply for a drivers permit online.

If the person signing for the drivers permit is not a parent, he or she must provide legal documents proving he or she is a guardian of the minor in question. Minors who are married can have their spouse sign for their driving permit, provided the spouse is at least 18 years old.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Idaho

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Idaho resident checking police records in their name with the DMV should peruse the document thoroughly to make sure it is accurate. If there are any discrepancies (i.e. information that shouldn t be there, or information that should be there that isn t), contact the DMV and inform officials of the mistake.

For more information: Your Idaho Driving Record

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
Whether or not you must take a vision test to renew expired drivers licenses depends on the Idaho DMV official processing your renewal and how long your license has been expired. Drivers renewing drivers licenses that have been expired for 25 months or more will be required to retake the vision test, written knowledge test and skills tests.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Idaho

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
Residents of Idaho with an expired drivers licenseshould have received a drivers license renewal notice in the mail prior to the expiration date with renewal instructions. If you have not received a notice, contact a local Idaho drivers license center and make sure the Idaho DMV has your correct address on file.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Idaho

Will I get any points on my record if I received a traffic ticket from another state?
Unfortunately for Idaho residents, if you get a traffic ticket in another state, the DMV will count that ticket on your driving record. Certain traffic offenses, including speeding and other moving violations, are automatically reported to the Idaho Department of Transportation’s Driver Services Division and Idaho in turn, routinely provides information concerning traffic ticket convictions to other states. As a result, the ID DMV will put points on your drivers record for traffic convictions you receive in other states. Keep in mind that not all traffic violations result in points being added to your driving record and that different violations are assigned different point values.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Idaho

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
In Idaho, most violations that require you to pay traffic fines also come with points added to your driving record. A few common violations with associated points are as follows:

  • Failing to stop at railroad crossing: 4 points
  • Exceeding maximum speed limits:

o One to 15 miles over: 3 points

o 16 or more miles over: 4 points

  • Commercial Vehicle failing to slow down at railroad crossing: 4 points
  • Driving below minimum speed: 3 points
  • Violating special speed limits:

o One to 15 miles over: 3 points

o 16 or more miles over: 4 points

  • Exceeding work zone speed limit: 3 points
  • Exceeding school zone speed limit: 3 points
  • Failing to yield pedestrian s right-of-way in crosswalk: 3 points
  • Obedience to and required traffic control devices: 3 points
  • Failing to follow Stop sign: 3 points
  • Failure to yield at signed intersections: 3 points
  • Failing to stop for accident involving damage to a vehicle: 4 points

To learn more about how to pay traffic tickets, consult the county clerk in the area the traffic fines were received.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Idaho

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
While alcohol awareness programs are not a specific requirement for DUI or DWI citations in Idaho, you may be obligated to take one. Depending on the court and county where you receive your DUI or DWI ticket, the judge may make taking an alcohol awareness training program part of your suspension requirements. Alcohol and drug awareness programs can be found at various locations around the state. To find an alcohol awareness program in your area, contact a local Idaho drivers license center.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Idaho

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
Idaho residents looking to replace car registrations will have to apply in person at a local Idaho drivers license center. There is no car registration copy application. Residents should speak to a DMV official upon arrival and ask for a car registration replacement. Officials will ask you to present the required documents and information prior to issuing a duplicate car registration.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Idaho

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
Residents of Idaho looking to replace car titles must print and complete a Duplicate Car Title Application. Once completed, submit the form and car title copy fee to the Ada County Processing Center to replace lost car titles. You do not need to present proof of insurance when replacing car titles.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Idaho

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
Idaho residents with approaching expiration dates on their car registration will receive notices in the mail with specific instructions on how to renew car registrations at their residence. You will typically have the option to renew car registration online or in person at a local Idaho drivers license center. If you do notreceive a car registration renewal notice, contact the DMV to make sure they have your correct address on file.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Idaho

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
Car registrations in Idaho expire on the date listed on the registration card. Car registration renewal dates are a year from the last time you renew expired car registrations.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Idaho