Drivers must complete a CDL renewal in Idaho once their credentials expire. CDL credentials are valid for 4 years in Idaho before they must be renewed. Thereafter, drivers have several months to renew without risking penalties or needing knowledge or skill retesting. There are various components to securing a CDL license renewal. The driver must have a current CDL medical examiner’s certificate as well as a completed self-certification. Other CDL renewal requirements include valid identification and Idaho residency.

When individuals with an endorsement to transport hazardous materials must renew a commercial driver’s license, they are required to submit additional materials to the Idaho Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). HAZMAT drivers must retake the knowledge test for their endorsement with each renewal. Furthermore, motorists who have hazardous material endorsements must submit a background check and fingerprints to the Transportation Security Administration before scheduling a CDL renewal at the DMV. Continue reading below to learn about renewing a CDL in Idaho and what is needed to do so.

When to Renew Your CDL License in Idaho

A CDL in Idaho is valid for 4 years before a driver must renew a commercial driver’s license. Each motorist’s license expiration date is printed on his or her card. Licenses can be renewed within 25 months of the expiration date. This is especially helpful for military members and interstate drivers who must plan their CDL license renewal ahead of time.

Commercial drivers have CDL expiration grace period of 25 months to renew their licenses without having to retake any tests. In order to remain certified after 25 or more months after expiration, these motorists must:

  • Retake the written knowledge test for their standard Idaho driver’s license
  • Pass necessary CDL knowledge tests
  • Pass skills tests for the particular vehicle class
  • Pass knowledge tests for endorsements

CDL Renewal Testing Requirements in Idaho

Most commercial motorists seeking a CDL renewal are not required to retake tests. This is only necessary if a commercial driver’s license was not issued within 1 year of passing the appropriate test.

However, drivers upgrading their CDLs or adding endorsements must take a knowledge test and pay the appropriate CDL renewal cost. Tests must be scheduled and taken prior to renewing a commercial driver’s license.

What do you need to renew your CDL license in Idaho?

Drivers often wonder, “What do you need to renew your CDL license in Idaho?” There are various documents and forms that must be submitted to complete a CDL license renewal in Idaho. All drivers are required to present the following when obtaining any driving license in ID, including a CDL:

  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Idaho residency
  • Social Security Number (SSN)

Those are the minimum CDL renewal requirements needed. Commercial drivers must provide additional information in the form of the following items:

Drivers who possess a HAZMAT endorsement must submit other materials prior to renewing at a DMV. These include:

  • Clearance from the TSA of security threat.
  • Proof of legal presence in the U.S. or citizenship.

CDL Renewal Process in Idaho

The CDL renewal process in Idaho is primarily completed in person at a local Idaho DMV location. However, several aspects of the process can be completed online. For example, commercial motorists can easily self-certify online through the portal. Drivers may be able to submit their DOT medical certification, if required, through this portal as well.

Also, those seeking to add a HAZMAT endorsement can complete the purchase online through Idaho’s Transportation Department website.  However, drivers can also purchase endorsements by mail or at an Idaho Port of Entry in person.

Commercial motorists should come prepared with their identification information in order to initiate their CDL license renewal. They must be able to prove their name, age and Idaho residency to the DMV representative. Drivers should also bring a method of payment with them such a debit/credit card, check or cash.

Idaho CDL Permit Renewal Requirements

Commercial motorists who do not obtain a full CDL license within a certain amount of time are allowed to obtain a CDL permit renewal. This renewed permit can be requested after 180 days from the date it was first issued. Drivers can receive a new permit without having to retake any knowledge tests after the first CDL permit expiration.

This applies as long as the initial test was taken within 1 year of the permit expiration. However, if a second renewal is needed, the individual will have to retake general and endorsement knowledge exams as well as pay the corresponding testing fees.

Hazardous Material Endorsement CDL Renewal Requirements in Idaho

Drivers with HAZMAT endorsements must meet additional CDL renewal requirements. For example, motorists are mandated to retake the hazardous materials knowledge test with each renewal. Commercial drivers without a HAZMAT endorsement are not required to retake any tests.

Furthermore, to renew a commercial driver’s license in Idaho, drivers with a hazardous materials endorsement must be approved by the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) through a background check and finger print analysis. This way, the TSA assesses whether driver is a security threat or not. In addition, hazardous materials commercial drivers must submit proof of their legal presence in the United States if they do not hold citizenship status.

CDL Renewal Fees in Idaho

There are various CDL renewal fees in Idaho depending on the renewing driver’s needs. Commercial motorists who are 21 years of age or older can renew a commercial driver’s license for $40. However, drivers who carry a CDL learner’s permits can renew for $29. Furthermore, motorists seeking to add an endorsement will have to pay $15 for each additional endorsement and $3 for each written test completed.

Those who want to upgrade their license, or remove restrictions, along with their CDL license renewal are required to make a payment of $25. HAZMAT endorsed drivers are required to pay for their threat assessment at each renewal for $86.50 as well as the mandatory knowledge test for $3.

Last updated on Wednesday, March 6 2019.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!