In the state of Idaho, you’re required to present a proof of financial responsibility so you can legally operate your motorcycle. Most riders purchase a liability insurance policy to meet with those requirements. However, there are other types of motorcycle insurance you can purchase for your ride, such as collision, comprehensive, medical payments and more.

In the state of Idaho, you’re required to present a proof of financial responsibility so you can legally operate your motorcycle. Most riders purchase a liability insurance policy to meet with those requirements. However, there are other types of motorcycle insurance you can purchase for your ride, such as collision, comprehensive, medical payments and more.

Two-Wheeled Vehicles

  • Motor vehicle that has a seat/saddle, and has not more than three wheels is considered a motorcycle. It must also meet all Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards.
  • A cycle with a motor that produces five-brake horsepower or less and meets all Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards is a motor-driven cycle. This ride must be titled and requires a motorcycle endorsement to operate.
  • A moped has the following characteristics:
    • A motorized or pedal propulsion that cannot exceed 30 miles per hour.
    • Contains an internal combustion engine, it can’t have a displacement of more than 50 cubic centimeters.
    • Has a power drive system which functions directly or automatically without clutching or shifting.
    • It can be powered by electrical energy with a motor which produces less than two gross brake horsepower.

Contact the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at (208) 334-8649 in case you have doubts whether the two-wheeled vehicles you posses needs to be registered and insured after that.

Motorcycle Insurance Requirements

Idaho minimum liability insurance requirements are listed below:

  • $15,000 for damage to property.
  • $25,000 for injury/death to one person.
  • $50,000 for injury/death to two or more persons.

Make sure you compare quotes before making a decision and know that that you can purchase other types of motorcycle insurance, not only the minimum requirements.

Helmet Requirements

Currently, in Idaho, the law says that only riders under 18 must wear a helmet when riding their two-wheeled vehicles. Depending on your carrier you can earn reduced rates or discounts, if you complete Idaho’s Skills Training Advantage for Riders (STAR) safety program.

Financial Responsibility

Here is how you can establish financial responsibility in this state:

  • Purchase a self-insurance coverage. However only drivers/riders who have more than 25 vehicles registered under their name can buy this type of insurance.
  • Get a surety bond from an authorized in-state broker.
  • Liability insurance.
  • Make a cash deposit with the State Treasurer. Call (208) 334-3200 for more information.

Proof of Financial Responsibility

in the state of Idaho you must carry one of the following as acceptable proof of insurance:

  • A surety bond certificate or note.
  • A certificate of self-insurance.
  • An insurance identification card issued by your carrier.
  • A cash deposit certificate or note.

Penalties

If you don’t have a proof of insurance, the costs will be as listed below:

  • First Offense:
    • A fine of $75.
    • Provide proof of insurance for one year.
  • Second Offense (within five years of the first offense):
    • A fine of up to $1,000.
    • Provide proof of insurance for three years.
    • A possible jail sentence for up to six months.
Last updated on Tuesday, March 12 2019.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!