Get your free quote

Do you currently have auto insurance?:

Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

In seconds

  • Save up to $415 on your Auto Insurance
  • Apply online
  • 100% free
Image

Before taking your motorcycle/motor scooter out on state’s roads, you’re required to have liability insurance for it, so you can ride legally. There are other types of motorcycle insurance as well, like comprehensive, collision, roadside assistance, rental vehicle coverage, etc.

Two-Wheeled Vehicles

In the state of Hawaii, only motor scooters and motorcycles need to be insured.

  • Motorcycle with a motor that doesn’t have more than five horsepower is a motor scooter. Vespa would be a good example of this type.
  • Mopeds have two horsepower or less. Thus, they are basically bicycles with a motor.
  • Motorcycles have three wheels and more than five horsepower (ATVs and tractors do not belong here).

Motorcycle Insurance Requirements

Before you’re allowed to buy insurance, you must get a motorcycle or motor scooter license. Then, you must purchase a minimum of the following insurance coverage:

  • $20,000/person and $40,000/accident for bodily injury.
  • $10,000/accident property damage.

Before you buy your motorcycle you better find out how much the insurance costs, as it varies by model. As for helmet requirements, riders under 18 years of age must wear a helmet.

Safety goggles also are required in the state, unless your motorcycle has a windshield. After purchasing the insurance you will receive a card including your policy number and other information. Make sure you always carry this card when you ride as a proof of insurance.

Financial Responsibility

The only accepted way as proof of financial responsibility in the state of Hawaii is insurance. Liability insurance is proof that you’re financially responsible to operate a motorcycle, should an accident happen.

Penalties

In case you’re pulled over or involved in an accident, and your proof of insurance is expired or you do not have one, you could be fined and issued a citation.

If you drive without any insurance you will be obliged to return your registration and motorcycle plates to the county director of finance. You can get your plates and registration back, after you pay off all your fines and obtain new insurance.

Last updated on Tuesday, March 12 2019.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!