Get your free quote

Do you currently have auto insurance?:

Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

In seconds

  • Save up to $415 on your Auto Insurance
  • Apply online
  • 100% free
Image

To legally operate your motorcycle or scooter in the state of Tennessee you must have an approved form of insurance. That way you will assure the state that you have established financial responsibility and you are capable to cover any damages caused by your motorcycle in the case of an accident.

To legally operate your motorcycle or scooter in the state of Tennessee you must have an approved form of insurance. That way you will assure the state that you have established financial responsibility and you are capable to cover any damages caused by your motorcycle in the case of an accident.

Two- and Three-Wheeled Vehicles

  • A motorcycle is any two- or three-wheeled vehicle with an engine of 126 cc or more. These rides must be registered and insured.
  • Scooter/motor-driven cycle is a two- or three-wheeled vehicle with an engine of between 51 cc and 125 cc. These also require registration and insurance.
  • A moped is any two- or three-wheeled motor-driven cycle with an engine under 50 cc. Mopeds can only be operated into certain areas and you don’t have to register or insure them. But, the DOS strongly suggests you get both, registration and insurance for your moped if you plan to operate it where allowed.

If you have doubts whether your two- or three-wheeled vehicle needs to be registered and insured, contact the DOS at (866) 903-7357.

Motorcycle Insurance Requirements

In Tennessee your insurance policy must include at least:

  • $15,000 for property damage for one accident.
  • $25,000 for one injury or death.
  • $50,000 for all injuries or deaths.

You can purchase insurance for your motorcycle right here on this page. All you need to do is to use the form at the top of the page. You can provide insurance for your ride and save on motorcycle coverage for the future.

Helmet Requirements

The rule in this state says that you must wear a helmet whenever you operate or ride along on a motorcycle, scooter, or moped.

Financial Responsibility

Here’s how you can establish financial responsibility in Tennessee:

  • Purchase liability insurance from a licensed company to sell auto coverage in the state.
  • Post a cash deposit or bond with the Department of Safety (DOS). Make sure you are allowed to establish financial responsibility this way, by contacting someone at the DOS for details.

Proof of Insurance

You will be required to show proof of insurance if you are involved in an accident or upon a police officer’s request. So make sure you have one of the following whenever you ride your bike:

  • Insurance card, binder, or declaration issued by your insurance provider.
  • Certificate from the DOS that state you’ve posted a cash deposit or bond in the amount required.

Penalties

Having no proof of insurance for your motorcycle or scooter is a Class C misdemeanor and can result in the following penalties:

  • Paying a fine of up to $100.
  • Having a STOP against your vehicle file (this prevents you from renewing your motorcycle registration).
  • License suspension.

Contact the DOS at (866) 903-7357 for more information regarding penalties and what you should do about them.

Last updated on Wednesday, March 13 2019.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!