In order to renew your Tennessee drivers license, you need to complete a number of important steps when applying. In order to simplify the process, you will need to gather the necessary documents and calculate your required fee payment before being able to renew your Tennessee drivers license. Online assistance can help you complete all of these steps quickly and easily by providing you with all of the information you need to know about renew your license. Start simplifying your application process today.
2. By Mail
Rather than get ahead with online assistance and services, some Tennessee residents prefer to handle their DMV transactions via mail. Drivers can complete a few different procedures by mail, but payment methods are restricted, and the transactions have inconvenient and lengthy turnaround times for results.
3. Via a DMV Office
Certain transactions must be completed in person at a Tennessee DMV office. However, before visiting a local branch, be sure to verify that the location offers the service you require. Not all DMV procedures can be completed at every location. Additionally, note that wait times are typically lengthy. So make sure to take advantage of online assistance to prepare for your visit.
Tennessee Drivers License Renewal
To renew drivers licenses in Tennessee, drivers must follow the requirements set in place by the state. Renewing drivers licenses in TN can currently be done online, by mail or in person at your local DMV. Drivers will receive a notice eight to 10 weeks prior to their drivers license expiration, informing them of which drivers license renewal method they are currently eligible for. For more information on how to renew drivers licenses in Tennessee, read on to the following sections.
How to Renew Your TN Driver's License
The TN Department of Safety and Homeland Security requires drivers to renew drivers licenses online, by mail, or in person at a local DMV. The TN drivers license renewal method you are eligible depends on your current license status. Once you have determined which method you qualify for to renew drivers licenses in TN, it is your responsibility to gather the required documents and information. While the requirements may vary, depending on the method used, you may need to turn in any of the following:
- Your current driver's license.
- Proof of TN residency.
- Payment for select fees.
Drivers renewing drivers licenses in TN must pay a set fee, currently in the amount of $19.50. In the event that you are renewing an expired drivers license, you may be asked to pay an additional late fee.
Depending on the type of method chosen to renew drivers licenses, you will be asked to submit payment for the renewal fee by credit card, debit card, cash, check or money order. You may also be required to pay any outstanding fees at this time.
Note: All checks are to be made payable to the "State of TN DMV."
When to Renew Your Tennessee Driver's License
Driving with an expired drivers license in TN is against the law and could result in a fine and points on your record. Tennessee drivers licenses expire every eight years on the driver's birthday. You can expect to receive a renewal notice in the mail prior to expiration, notifying you whether you can renew your drivers license online, by mail or in person at a DMV branch. You are allowed to renew drivers licenses in Tennessee up to 12 months prior to its expiration.
It is against the law to drive with an expired drivers license in TN. However, those with an expired drivers license are still eligible to complete the renewal process. Drivers who are renewing drivers licenses more than thirty days after its expiration are required to pay a late fee and may be asked to take a written exam. If you have an expired credential, you will need to renew it at a local DMV.
Drivers looking to renew drivers licenses after their expiration date may be asked to submit the following:
- Two documents proving identity.
- Proof of TN residency.
Requirements To Renew A Tennessee License
Each method for renewing drivers licenses in Tennessee comes with its own requirements set in place by the state. While requirements may vary depending on the chosen method of drivers license renewal, certain elements and documents are standard. In addition to a current valid drivers license, you must be able to produce some form of the following information:
- Proof of identity.
- Proof of Social Security Number.
- Proof of physical residence in the state of Tennessee.
- Payment for the TN drivers license renewal fee.
Renewing An TN Suspended License
Drivers cannot complete a drivers license renewal if their license is currently suspended, canceled or revoked. In order to renew drivers licenses that fall into any of these categories, you must first reinstate your driving privileges. To reinstate driving privileges, you may be required to pay any outstanding fines, attend a court hearing and fulfill certain test requirements. If you are required to pass a written exam, consider taking a practice test to improve your chances of passing.
TN Drivers License Online Renewal
Drivers can determine if they are eligible to renew drivers license online once they have received their drivers license renewal notice. To begin the online renewal process, you must first visit the TN DMV website. From there you will be required to submit the below details:
- Your current TN drivers license number (as well as its issue date).
- The last four digits of your Social Security Number.
- Your Tennessee mailing address.
- Payment for the $19.50 drivers license renewal fee.
Renewing Your TN Drivers License In-Person
Renewing drivers licenses in Tennessee can be completed in person at a nearby DOS office. Drivers with an expired drivers license or a drivers license renewal notice requiring an in-person renewal must submit their documents at the TN DOS. It is recommended that drivers who have chosen to renew drivers licenses in person first make an appointment to avoid excessive wait times. Once you have made your appointment, you will be asked to submit the following information:
- Your current Tennessee drivers license.
- A completed drivers license form.
- Payment for any fees.
Note: Depending on the current status of your drivers license, you may be required to complete a vision test, road test or vision exam. Drivers who are required to complete a written exam are recommended to first complete an online practice test to better prepare.
Non US Citizen
TN drivers license renewal can also be completed by non US citizens. Non U.S. citizens renewing drivers licenses can do so in person at a Tennessee DOS by presenting a valid residency card, two documents proving residency within the state and payment for the drivers license renewal fee.
Note: Only temporary drivers licenses can be renewed by non citizens. Temporary licenses will last the length of your authorized stay in the country.
Out-of-State Military Renewal
Out-of state military personnel can renew drivers license online in Tennessee or by mail. If renewing drivers licenses by mail, military personnel will be required to send in the following documents:
- A completed Armed Forces Affidavit of Residency.
- A photocopy of your military I.D. card.
- A completed drivers license renewal application.
- Payment for the drivers license renewal fee (if a member of active duty for less than two years).
Out-Of-State Military: Renew Online
Military personnel in Tennessee have the option to renew drivers licenses online or by mail. If you choose to renew drivers license in TN online, you must log on to the official state DMV website and follow the directions provided. Drivers will be required to submit information such as current residency and personal identification, along with payment for the drivers license renewal fee.
Drivers License Extensions
Military personnel are currently the only Tennessee drivers eligible for drivers license extensions. This drivers license extension will allow your expired drivers license to remain valid for an additional 60 days after discharge. In order to receive this extension, active military members must request a Code 30. To request a Code 30, you must submit the following documents by mail:
- Copies of your military ID (must be notarized).
- Your current address.
- Payment for a duplication fee of $8.