Drivers will receive traffic tickets in Tennessee for committing minor offenses and misdemeanors while operating motor vehicles on public states. Motorists may decide to fight traffic citations by pleading "not guilty" at the proper court. An immediate traffic tickets payment may be done by drivers who consider themselves guilty of charge. Find out the steps for the TN traffic ticket defense procedure, or learn how and where to pay traffic fines by reading the sections below:
- Fighting a Tennessee ticket
- Paying a Tennessee ticket
- Lost tickets in Tennessee
- Tennessee fines and penalties
- Points in Tennessee
- How tickets affect a Tennessee driver's license
- Tennessee car insurance fines and violations
Fighting a Tennessee Ticket
The procedure of fighting traffic tickets in Tennessee requires drivers to plead "not guilty" of the offenses they are charged with. Therefore, motorists are encouraged to dismiss traffic citations by the due date on their ticket, if they consider themselves innocent. They may be required to appear in court on the scheduled date of their court hearing. Those who do not wish to deal with the hassle of a court appearance may hire legal representation. Qualified traffic attorneys are available for hire online and can help drivers build the best possible defense. To be matched with an attorney, drivers need to provide a picture of their ticket and respond to a few basic questions. Failure to dispute traffic tickets will require drivers to pay certain traffic fines.
Paying a Tennessee Ticket
Drivers holding traffic citations in Tennessee will be required to either fight them or pay the applicable traffic fines. The available traffic tickets payment methods in TN are online, by mail or in person at the proper court. Paying traffic tickets online is the most convenient and fastest method for drivers who do not want to miss their due date. Drivers wondering "How do you contest a speeding ticket in Tennessee?" are encouraged to visit the "How to Pay Traffic Tickets" page for more information.
Lost Tickets in Tennessee
Drivers who want to dispute traffic citations in Tennessee or pay the applicable fines need the information written on their tickets. Losing a traffic ticket will prevent you from choosing which way you want to settle your specific situation. Drivers need to contact the proper court in order to obtain the information written on their tickets. Requesting TN traffic citation details will require you to provide personal information such as: the citation number, the amount of traffic fine, the mandatory court appearance date or the due date written on your ticket.
Tennessee Fines and Penalties
Failure to dismiss traffic tickets in Tennessee will require you to pay applicable fines and maybe additional fees. The traffic fines may differ based on the type of offense committed. Minor traffic violations such as speeding one to five miles above the allowed speed limit will require you to pay a fine of $42.75. The highest driving fine in TN is $82.75, for failing to yield. Apart from these fines, drivers may be required to appear in court for offenses such as: reckless driving, speeding in school zone, failing to report an accident and others. Those who do not wish to pay fines should hire an attorney and contest their citation. Luckily, knowledgeable traffic defense attorneys are readily available online.
Points in Tennessee
Getting traffic tickets in Tennessee may bring you demerit points on your driving record for committing traffic offenses. Each traffic violation has a determined number of points that go with it. The following list outlines various traffic offenses and their corresponding penalty points:
- Child endangerment - 8 points.
- Reckless driving - 6 points.
- Failure to yield right of way - 4 points.
- Improper passing - 4 points.
- Speeding - 1 to 8 points.
Motorists dealing with traffic tickets and demerit points have the option to attend a hearing and discuss the points assigned, before the DOS takes a specific action against their license. The department also mails advisory letters to licensees who are at risk of exceeding the point limit. Motorists who wish to avoid driving license suspensions in Tennessee or reduce the allotted penalty period may choose to enroll into traffic school.
How Tickets Affect a Tennessee Drivers License
Tennessee traffic tickets may affect driver's licenses issued by the state DOS. Drivers who are 18 years of age or older will receive a notice of driver's license suspension if they amass 12 or more demerit points on their driving transcript within any 12-month period. Minors will also be handed down a TN suspended driver's license for accumulation of six or more points on their record within a period of 12 months. In general, suspended drivers licenses are issued to motorists for an excess of negative points on their driving records. If they request a hearing, however, they may have the option to attend a defensive driving course, thus preventing a Tennessee driver's license suspension. Note that you may attend such course only once in a period of five years.
Tennessee Car Insurance Fines and Violations
Committing Tennessee traffic violations may raise your car insurance rates. Drivers who receive traffic tickets are considered unsafe motorists, which increases their insurance rates. Licensees who graduate from a traffic school may also earn other benefits, including the possibility to reduce their vehicle insurance premiums.