Traffic tickets in Louisiana are issued as a result of violating traffic laws and regulations while operating a motor vehicle on public roads within the state. Drivers who receive traffic citations must resolve it by the due date written on the ticket. They are required to either dispute traffic tickets by pleading "not guilty" or to pay driving fines thus admitting their guilt in front of a judge. Drivers who are wondering, "How do you contest a speeding ticket?" can find out more information by reviewing the sections below:
- Fighting a Louisiana ticket.
- Paying a Louisiana ticket.
- Lost tickets in Louisiana.
- Louisiana fines and penalties.
- Points in Louisiana.
- How tickets affect a Louisiana driver's license.
- Louisiana car insurance fines and violations.
Fighting a Louisiana Ticket
A Louisiana traffic ticket defense procedure may be completed by drivers who believe that they are innocent and that they should dispute traffic citations. When fighting traffic tickets in LA, drivers are expected to plead "not guilty" in front of a judge before the due date written on their tickets. Drivers can take traffic ticket to court and prove their innocence on the date when they are requested to make a mandatory court appearance.
Paying a Louisiana Ticket
Drivers are required to pay traffic fines in Louisiana when they are guilty of the charge, or when they have fought in a traffic violation court and have lost the trial. Traffic tickets payments may be furnished online, by mail, by Western Union or in person at a Traffic Court. Paying traffic tickets online is the most convenient and the fastest method for drivers. For more information about paying driving fines in Louisiana, visit the "How to Pay Traffic Tickets" page.
Lost Tickets in Louisiana
When contesting a traffic ticket in Louisiana, drivers need to have their citation information with them. Losing your traffic ticket may prevent you from fighting traffic citations or paying driving fines. Therefore, you must contact the Traffic Court that issued your citation and request the information written on the ticket. Failure to contest a traffic ticket in Louisiana prior to the due date of the citation will result in additional late fee and driver's license suspensions.
Louisiana Fines and Penalties
Drivers who fail to dismiss traffic tickets in Louisiana and those who want to settle from the beginning, need to pay traffic fines to the court that issued their citations. Driving fines and fees may vary depending on the severity of the committed offenses. The fines and fees may amount anywhere between $70 for minor violations such as no seat belt fastened while driving a motor vehicle and $622.50 for wireless texting while driving. Traffic tickets payments may not be required for certain offenses such as driving while impaired (DWI). Instead, you will be required to appear in person at the court that issued your citation.
Points in Louisiana
Traffic tickets usually bring demerit points to driving records. However, that is not the case with LA traffic citations, because Louisiana does not have a point system to evaluate violations and offenses committed while operating motor vehicles. Therefore, drivers who commit traffic violations in Louisiana do not accrue demerit points. Instead, they accumulate LA traffic tickets and offenses on their driving records.
How Tickets Affect a Louisiana Drivers License
Louisiana traffic tickets may affect your driver's license, car insurance and driving record in various ways. For instance, accumulating too many traffic citations or failing to contest a ticket may result in a driver's license suspension or higher car insurance rates. Therefore, contesting a traffic ticket in Louisiana is mandatory if you want to maintain your driving privileges or to avoid paying higher insurance premiums. Note that paying traffic fines prior to the due date on your ticket will help you avoid having the ticket written on your driving record.
Louisiana Car Insurance Fines and Violations
Committing a high number of traffic violations in LA may result in increase of your car insurance premiums. Motorists can avoid a rise in the insurance rates by attending a state-approved traffic school. In addition, drivers can dismiss traffic violations from their Louisiana driving records by enrolling in a Pretrial Traffic Diversion Program, which can be recommended by their court. Among other things, a defensive driving course may also help drivers avoid a suspended driver's license, to satisfy a court requirement, or to help residents become a better drivers.