Motorcycle Insurance in Louisiana
If you want to drive your motorcycle legally in the state of Louisiana you must insure it first. Motorcycle insurance will protect you and your two-wheeled ride should any loss happen in a case of an accident.
- Your two-wheeled cycle is a motorcycle if it has:
- An engine capacity of more than 50 cc.
- A motor with more than 1.5 brake horsepower.
- The ability to travel faster than 25 mph.
- Your two-wheeled vehicle is a moped and must be registered and insured if it has:
- A motor with no more than 1.5 brake horsepower.
- An engine capacity of no more than 50 cc.
- The ability to travel no faster than 25 mph.
- Scooters do not need to be insured as they don’t meet the criteria of mopeds, and the safety-equipment requirements for registration. Know that the state of Louisiana doesn’t allow you to ride a scooter on any public roadway or roadway shoulder.
Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
The following amounts of coverage are required in the state:
- $15,000 per person for bodily injury or death.
- $25,000 for property damage.
- $30,000 per accident for bodily injury or death.
The state’s law says that you must provide proof of liability insurance when you register your motorcycle/moped. You can purchase motorcycle insurance for your two-wheeled ride by using the form at the top of the page. The insurance form will also help you save on motorcycle insurance in the future.
Regardless of the amount of liability insurance you have purchased, wearing a helmet is an obligation when you’re operating a motorcycle/moped on Louisiana state roads.
Establishing financial responsibility means that you’re able to cover the cost of damages your two-wheeled ride may cause in an accident. In the state of Louisiana, you can establish financial responsibility by purchasing liability coverage from an insurance company licensed to do business in the state.
Proof of Insurance
You must always carry your proof of insurance with you, in case OMV employee or law enforcement officer requests it. The following items are considered as acceptable proof of insurance:
- Insurance ID card.
- Insurance binder.
- A copy of the actual policy or its declaration page.
- A written statement on your insurance company’s letterhead that includes your vehicle information and agent’s signature.
The penalties for having no proof of insurance for your ride will depending on the particular circumstances.
If you can’t present proof of insurance, a law enforcement officer will issue you a violation, confiscate your license plates, and impound your motorcycle or moped. To restore your driving privileges you must bring proof of insurance to the OMV office listed on the violation within three days.
If you’re unable to provide proof within that period of time, you’ll have to register your motorcycle or moped all over again and get new license plates as well.
You can cancel your motorcycle’s or moped’s insurance without facing any penalties as long as you submit your license plates to your OMV office 10 days before canceling the coverage, and submit a Statement of Non-Use to:
Office of Motor Vehicles P.O. Box 64886 Baton Rouge, LA 70896
Your insurance company can cancel your insurance, too. If this happens, the OMV can place a “flag” on your driver’s license and suspend your registration. To remove the flag and reinstate your license, you’ll need to show proof of coverage effective within 10 days of the cancellation, or show proof you sold, traded, junked, or moved the vehicle out of state.
If you can’t show proof of insurance within those 10 days, the following reinstatement fees will apply:
- 11-30 days: $50
- 31-90 days: $125
- 91 or more days: $225
Contact your nearest OMV office for more detailed information related to this matter.