Get your free quote

Do you currently have auto insurance?:

Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

In seconds

  • Save up to $415 on your Auto Insurance
  • Apply online
  • 100% free
Image

In Minnesota motorcycles need to be insured so you can legally operate them. When you register your motorcycle, you are certifying you have a policy that meets all of the state’s minimum insurance requirements, should accident happen.

Two-Wheeled Vehicles

The following are considered as two-wheeled vehicles in the state of Minnesota:

  • Motorcycle is a motor vehicle with a seat/saddle and has not more than three wheels. Motor scooters and bicycles with motor attached belong in this category too.
  • Motorized foot scooter is a vehicle with handlebars designed to be stood or sat upon by the rider; its wheels are no more than two 12-inch or smaller diameter; has an engine/motor capable of a maximum speed of 15 miles per hour, with not more than one percent grade in any direction when the motor is engaged and an internal combustion engine/electric motor that is capable of propelling the device with or without human propulsion.
  • Motorized bicycle is a vehicle propelled by an electric or a liquid fuel motor of a piston displacement capacity of 50 cc or less; has maximum of two-brake horsepower; can reach a maximum speed of not more than 30 mph with not more than one percent grade in any direction when the motor is engaged.

Call the Driver and Vehicle Services Offices at (651) 296-6911 if you have questions about whether your two-wheeled vehicle meets the state’s definition of a motorcycle and thus requires registration and insurance.

Motorcycle Insurance Requirements

Motorcycle drivers in Minnesota must purchase liability insurance, underinsured motorist and uninsured motorist coverage to meet the minimum requirements in the state.

Liability Insurance

If an accident happens and is determined to be your fault, liability insurance will pay for the caused damage. The minimum requirements are listed below:

  • $30,000 for injuries to one person.
  • $60,000 for injuries to two or more people.
  • $10,000 for property damage.

Uninsured Coverage

This type of motor insurance pays for medical expenses if the other driver is responsible for the accident and has no insurance coverage. Here are the minimum requirements:

  • $25,000 for injuries to one person.
  • $50,000 for injuries to two or more people.

Underinsured Coverage

Underinsured motorist coverage pays for medical claims if the other driver is responsible for the accident and does not have the proper amount of insurance. These are the minimum requirements:

  • $25,000 for injuries to one person.
  • $50,000 for injuries to two or more people.

You can purchase insurance right here on this page, by using the form above. It will provide you with instant quotes for auto insurance and can help you save money on motorcycle insurance in the future.

Helmet Requirements

The law in Minnesota says that, riders younger than 18 years of age and those with instructional permits must wear motorcycle helmets.

Financial Responsibility and Proof of Insurance

You can prove you’re financially able to cover the cost of damages caused in an accident, when you get liability insurance coverage. Your insurance card must be with you at all times, in case you need to show it as a proof of financial responsibility in the event of an accident, or upon police officer’s request when you are stopped for a moving violation.

Penalties

Penalties for having no proof of insurance vary depending on whether or not it is your first offense for this violation. Fines can range between $250 and $1,000 with up to 90 days in jail. You can also face license suspension or revocation, although this can sometimes be avoided if you can buy a valid insurance policy before your court appearance.

Last updated on Wednesday, March 13 2019.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!