How to Change Your Name on Your Drivers License in Minnesota
Under state law, motorists must apply for a drivers license name change in Minnesota as soon as possible after they change their legal name. Failure to change name on driving license materials is punishable by law and may result in driving penalties or fines. Applicants must submit proof of the legal name change, such as a certified or original marriage license or divorce decree. There is also a fee for a replacement drivers license with the new name.
In addition to applying for a name change on drivers license documents or identification cards, drivers must notify the Social Security Administration (SSA) of their name change and update other identification documents as well, including voter registrations or U.S. passports. To learn more about how to change name on drivers license materials and Social Security cards, review the information below.
Instances Where You Must Change Your Name on Your Minnesota Drivers License
Drivers must apply for a change of name on driving license materials if they change their name after marriage, legal separation, divorce, adoption, civil union, court order or after undergoing a gender change. However, motorists may only apply for a DMV name change in Minnesota if they are older than 18 years of age or if their parent, next-of-kin or legal guardian can apply on their behalf in most cases. Additionally, applicants must reside in the state for at least six months before they may apply for a name change.
Minnesota Drivers License Name Change Time Limits
Under state law, drivers must apply for a driving license name change in Minnesota within 30 days of making the legal name change. Motorists who fail to change the name on a driving license before the 30-day deadline may acquire driving penalties, citations or fines if a police officer stops them for any reason. Additionally, failure to keep driving records up to date may result in driving record discrepancies and delays in receiving future correspondence from the division of Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) under the state’s Department of Public Safety (DPS).
Keep in mind that in addition to applying for a DMV name change after changing your legal name, you must apply for a change of address within 30 days of changing residence.
How to Change Your Name with the Social Security Administration
During the process of changing your name on driving license in Minnesota, you must also change the name on your Social Security card. However, you do not need to change your name with the SSA before you correct your name with the licensing office. Instead, you may change the name on your Minnesota driving license immediately after the name change occurs, regardless of whether your Social Security card displays your new or former name. However, to avoid possible complications regarding your Social Security earnings and work credits, you must report the name change to Social Security as soon as possible.
When you apply for a change of name on your Social Security card, you must complete the following steps:
- Complete an application for a Social Security card and submit the form in person at a Social Security office or by mail
- Provide proof of identity, such as a driver license, passport or state-issued identification card
- Submit an original or certified name change document, such as a marriage certificate or divorce decree
After changing your name through the SSA, the administration sends you the new card in the mail, along with all of your supporting documentation.
How to Change Your Name on Your Drivers License in Person
When changing name on drivers license materials, you must visit a driver license office or vehicle services exam station to request a new driver license, ID or permit in person. You cannot complete drivers license name changes online or by mail, as many DVS locations require you to take a new driver license photograph and provide a new signature whenever you obtain a replacement license. You must submit the following documentation:
- Your current driver license, permit or identification card
- A certified or original marriage certificate, dissolution of marriage decree (must specify name change) or other court order name change document
- Proof of lawful admission if you temporarily reside in the U.S.
- Payment for obtaining a replacement license, permit or ID card
If you change your name after undergoing a gender transition, then you may choose to update your name and gender designation on your driver license. To change your gender designation, you must submit a court order document that changes your name and/or gender or a medical certification from a licensed physician.
If you need to apply for a DMV name change but cannot submit a current driver license, ID card or permit, then you may submit one primary document displaying your full name and birth date and one secondary document. Primary documents include birth records, permanent resident cards and passports. Secondary documents include Social Security cards, birth certificates, or school transcripts. The state DVS does not accept photocopies, fraudulent or laminated documents.
Minnesota DMV Name Change Fees
When applying for a drivers license name change in MN, drivers must pay a $14.75 fee to obtain a duplicate driver license, ID card or permit. However, there is no fee to obtain a duplicate Social Security card from the SSA.
- Change Name on License from MN.gov