Motorcycle owners must register and insure their motorcycles, so they can legally operate them on New Jersey roads. Most residents opt for liability insurance in order to establish financial responsibility.

Two-Wheeled Vehicles

In this state two-wheeled vehicles are defined as:

Motorcycle owners must register and insure their motorcycles, so they can legally operate them on New Jersey roads. Most residents opt for liability insurance in order to establish financial responsibility.

Two-Wheeled Vehicles

In this state two-wheeled vehicles are defined as:

  • Motor bikes and bicycles with a motor attached, and all motor-operated vehicles of the bicycle or tricycle type that have a saddle/seat with driver sitting astride, or upon it, or a platform on which the driver stands, are defined as motorcycles. If you still have doubts whether your ride must be registered thus insured call the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) at (888) 486-3339.

Motorcycle Insurance Requirements

Here are the minimum liability insurance requirements that you must carry:

Basic    
  • $5,000 for property damage.
  • $10,000 as an option for injury/death to more than one person.

Note: Bodily injury liability for one person is not offered under Basic. This policy is generally geared towards young drivers with limited assets.

Standard    
  • $5,000 for property damage.
  • $15,000 for injury/death for one person.
  • $30,000 for injury death to more than one person.

Remember you’re not limited to minimum liability requirements. You can increase insurance protection through the addition of various coverage options. One of your options is to get insurance by using the form at the top of the page. It will provide your with quotes and can help you save on motorcycle insurance in the future.

Helmet Requirements

Every motorcycle rider in New Jersey is required to wear a helmet regardless of their age.

Establishing Financial Responsibility

Here is how you can establish financial responsibility in New Jersey:

There are two liability choices:    
  • Basic: Minimum coverage that barely meets the state’s legal requirements.
  • Standard: Offers more coverage options than Basic and the opportunity to add extra protection. This ranks as the state’s most popular insurance plan.
You can choose self-insurance, but only if you have more than 25 vehicles registered under your name.    

Proof of financial responsibility

You must carry one of the following whenever you ride your motorcycle:

  • A certificate of self-insurance.
  • A valid insurance identification card.

Penalties

If you don’t have proof of insurance you are facing the following penalties:

  • First Offense:
    • A $300 fine.
    • A suspended license for one year.
    • Community service.
  • Second Offense:
    • A $500 fine.
    • A suspended license for two years.
    • 14-day jail sentence.
    • 30 days of community service.

If you want more information related to this subject call the MVC at (888) 486-3339.

More…

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!