How to Replace Your Car Registration in New Jersey
Motorists must replace a lost car registration in New Jersey by completing the proper application form and submitting it to the state’s Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). In general, drivers are required to complete this procedure in person, as no other application methods are offered in the state. Thus, to obtain a copy of a vehicle registration in NJ, applicants must visit their local MVC office, present proof of identification, fill out the proper application form and pay the applicable fee.
To replace car registration stickers such as Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) decals, motorists must visit an MVC branch and apply for a new set of stickers in person. However, once state drivers reach 21 years of age, they no longer need to display decals on their license plates. To learn more about these requirements and explore the different steps that applicants must take when replacing a car registration card, review the information below.
When do you need to get a copy of your vehicle registration in New Jersey?
Replacing a DMV lost registration in New Jersey is an important step that vehicle owners and lessees must take if their original registration card disappears from their possession, sustains damages or becomes illegible. Additionally, motorists must request a duplicate registration credential if the original document is stolen. If drivers cannot present proof of their vehicle’s current registration card when a police officer pulls them over, they may be issued a traffic ticket. Under the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Statutes, if motorists fail to or refuse to present proof of a valid auto registration card when asked to do so, they may be subject to a fine of $180.
How to Obtain a Replacement Vehicle Registration in New Jersey
To obtain an NJ DMV copy of registration, car owners must visit their local motor vehicle agency. During that visit, they must fill out an application form, present proof of identification and pay the applicable replacement fees. If a vehicle has two owners, both owners will be required to visit an MVC office to complete this procedure. Additional information about this process is available in the next section.
How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Person
When applying for a DMV registration replacement in New Jersey, vehicle owners must visit an MVC office and complete this process in person. In general, this process varies slightly depending on whether applicants are vehicle owners or lessees. For instance, vehicle owners must complete the following steps when applying for duplicate credentials:
- Present proof of identification, such as a state-issued drivers license or photo identification card
- In the event that a vehicle has multiple owners, provide a notarized statement of consent from any car owners who are not present for the car registration replacement procedure
- Submit proof of auto insurance coverage or a receipt from a previous registration-related transaction
- Complete and sign a “Vehicle Application Registration (BA-49)” form
- Provide payment for the applicable replacement fee
As a general rule, drivers are not able to get a copy of a car registration in New Jersey through the MVC’s official portal. Moreover, applicants cannot apply for a duplicate credential online, by mail or over the phone.
Furthermore, the duplicate vehicle registration application process is slightly different for motorists who wish to replace these credentials for a leased car. To replace the registration card of a leased vehicle, lessees must:
- Contact their leasing company to obtain a power of attorney (POA) document. To obtain a DMV duplicate registration card from an MVC, the POA form must include the name of the lessee (the operator of the vehicle) and a statement that allows him or her to replace a registration credential, along with the vehicle’s identification number (VIN), make, model and year.
- Apply for a copy of vehicle registration credentials in person at an MVC office. Lessees must submit proof of identification and automobile insurance while applying. Otherwise, they may provide proof of identification and a receipt from a previous registration-related transaction.
- Submit the original POA to a local MVC office. While lessees may submit the leasing company’s POA to the MVC office when they apply for a duplicate credential, the leasing company may choose to fax permission directly to the New Jersey motor vehicle agency.
- Complete an application for a replacement car registration To finalize their request, motorists must complete a “Vehicle Application Registration (BA-49)” form and pay the applicable replacement fee.
Most MVC agencies operate between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5:30 p.m. on Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. Overall, MCV branches are open between 8 a.m. and 7:30 p.m. on Tuesdays, and from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Saturdays.
New Jersey Stolen Car Registration Requirements
While lost car registration papers in NJ do not need to be reported to the police, vehicle owners may protect themselves from potential criminal activities if they notify to local law enforcement that their registration materials have been stolen. Doing so will make it more difficult for the thief to steal the vehicle owner’s identity and engage in fraudulent activities using a motorist’s personal details.
New Jersey DMV Sticker Replacement
Novice drivers must replace a DMV lost registration sticker in NJ if their original credential is stolen, disappears or sustains damages. Probationary drivers, parents or learners permit holders may visit a local MVC office to apply for a new set of decals in person. Once drivers turn 21 years of age, they no longer need to display a Graduated Driver License (GDL) decal on their front and rear license plates.
Note: If probationary drivers operate a motor vehicle without these GDL decals on their license plates, they may need to pay a $100 fine.
New Jersey Vehicle Registration Replacement Fees
To get a DMV duplicate registration card in New Jersey, vehicle owners must pay a nominal fee. However, these fees vary depending on several factors. These different types of fees include:
- The standard cost for replacing a registration card is $5.
- During the first three years of a vehicle’s four-year accelerated registration period, the cost of replacing a certificate of registration is $11.
- The NJ DMV replacement sticker fee is $4 per pair, or $5 for a boat or vessel.
As payment for these fees, the MVC accepts cash, checks, money orders or credit cards.
- Replacing a Lost Vehicle Registration from NJ.us