How to Apply for a New Identification Card in New Jersey
Residents can get New Jersey state ID credentials through the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). IDs are meant for those who cannot obtain driver’s licenses, but wish to obtain non-driving credentials for identification purposes. To obtain an ID card, however, residents must meet age restrictions and present proof of age, identity and state residency as part of the application process. Once residents obtain the non-driver identification credential, they will be able to use their cards as proof of identity for a total of four years.
While the current NJ identification card does not comply with federal security standards under the REAL ID Act of 2005, the MVC will provide residents with the opportunity to purchase this type of credential in the spring of 2019. However, REAL ID-compliant cards are optional, and individuals do not need to upgrade their current credentials unless they wish to do so. To learn more about these requirements, review the information below.
New Jersey DMV ID Requirements
As part of the DMV state ID requirements in New Jersey, all applicants who wish to obtain a non-driver identification credential must be at least 14 years of age. To register as organ donors at the same time, however, residents must be at least 18 years of age. If applicants cannot register as organ donors during the time of application, they may update their organ donor designations at any time, by completing a Change of Status application (DRM-25) and mailing it to the following address:
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission P.O. Box 137 Trenton, NJ 08666
Moreover, all MVC ID applicants must reside in New Jersey, and they may not hold a driver’s license at the same time. If a motorist receives a driver’s license suspension and can no longer drive, however, the or she may downgrade to a non-driver identification credential until the driving suspension period ends.
Note: To meet the state’s ID card requirements, customers must surrender an existing driver’s license to a local motor vehicle agency before they may obtain a non-driver identification credential.
What do you need to get an ID in New Jersey?
“What do you need to get a state ID in New Jersey?” is a common question that residents may ask before visiting a local motor vehicle agency to begin the application process. To obtain a New Jersey non-driver identification credential, instruction permit, driver’s license or boat license, all customers must pass the state’s Six-Point ID Verification Program. To pass the verification program, applicants must provide a Social Security Number (SSN) and additional documents such as:
- One or more primary document. Several documents needed for state ID eligibility include at least one of the following: Acceptable four-point documents, such as a certified copy of a birth certificate, U.S. passport or passport card, state-issued driver’s license, foreign passport, or current alien registration card; three-point documents, such as a current employment authorization card and Social Security card; or two-point documents, such as a current alien registration card and a temporary resident card.
- At least one secondary document. To obtain a state ID card, applicants must also submit at least one of the following: Acceptable three-point documents, such as a marriage certificate or divorce decree, military dependent card or state-issued firearm purchaser credential; two-point documents, such as military discharge papers or a school ID and transcript; or no more than two one-point documents, such as a current out-of-state driving credential, Social Security card, bank statement or high school diploma.
- One proof of residential address. Acceptable proof of address may include a utility bill from the previous 90 days, a rental agreement, or recent correspondence from the IRS (received within the past 12 months). If obtaining a minor or child ID card, however, applicants who are younger than 18 years of age may submit a Parent or Guardian Certification as proof of their state residence.
Additionally, customers must provide payment for the applicable fee. Customers may pay the NJ DMV ID card fee by cash, check or money order, or with a Visa, MasterCard or American Express credit card.
Moreover, other documents required for state ID eligibility may include legal proof of a name change, if an applicant’s current name differs from the information on his or her birth certificate. If a customer needs to present proof of his or her name change, acceptable documents include a certified marriage record, a certificate of civil union or a court order.
How to Get an ID in New Jersey
Residents cannot apply to get ID online in NJ, as all customers must appear in person, at a local motor vehicle agency. To find a local agency that processes applications for identification credentials, customers may perform a search under the MVC’s website, or they may obtain an alphabetical list of facilities. As another option, applicants may find a local agency by contacting the MVC at 609-292-6500 between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday.
To learn more about how and where to get state ID credentials in New Jersey, complete the following steps:
- Visit a local motor vehicle agency to obtain a Non-Driver ID Application (Form BA-207)
- Complete the front side of the application and submit it, along with six points of identification
- Pay the applicable fee
- Take a full-face photograph
If customers need to wear a head covering in their photograph, they must notify the MVC staff member currently working at the agency’s camera station. However, applicants must have a medical or religious need for wearing the head covering in their MVC photo.
If customers wish to complete their applications for ID credentials ahead of time, they may contact the MVC, at the telephone number provided above, to request a form. After requesting an application for a government issued ID, the MVC will mail the form to their home addresses. However, this application is not available online, and customers must submit the form in person at a local motor vehicle agency.
Before visiting the DMV to get ID credentials, individuals with disabilities may have their physicians sign and certify their applications for identification credentials. After doing so, they will obtain their ID credentials at a reduced rate.
Moreover, ID card applicants with insulin-dependent diabetes may add a designation to their non-driver identification credentials, if they wish to do so. In addition to obtaining a written statement from their physicians, customers must obtain a Request for Insulin Dependent Designation (Form MR-20) from a local motor vehicle agency. Then, they must submit this form, along with their other application materials.
REAL ID Cards in New Jersey
A REAL ID card is a secure form of identification that meets federal standards under the REAL ID Act of 2005. With a REAL ID-compliant identification credential, travelers can enter federal facilities and board commercial aircrafts without their passports, as proof of their identity. Unlike a standard driver’s license or identification credential, a REAL-compliant card displays a star in its upper, right corner.
While residents cannot apply for REAL ID credentials in New Jersey at this time, the state MVC will begin to issue REAL-compliant identification cards in the spring of 2019. Until then, New Jersey residents may continue to use their original ID credentials as valid proof of identification, and they may choose to upgrade to REAL-compliant cards when they do become available in the state.
If New Jersey residents do not obtain REAL ID credentials by October 1, 2020, they will need to present another federally compliant form of identification whenever they board commercial airplanes or enter certain federal facilities (including nuclear power plants). In addition to REAL ID cards in NJ, other acceptable documents include passport cards or books.
How to Renew or Replace a State ID in New Jersey
You can replace a lost ID card in New Jersey by visiting your local motor vehicle agency to apply for a replacement, in person. At the motor vehicle agency, applicants must complete an application for a new non-driver credential (Form BA-207), pay the applicable replacement fee and submit six points of identification. If cardholders have reason to believe that another individual stole their identification credentials, they must also report the theft to the local police.
In addition to obtaining a replacement ID card after the original credential sustains damages or goes missing, New Jersey residents must renew their identification credentials once every four years. To do so, they must complete the process in person, at a local motor vehicle agency, or they may qualify for renewal by mail. If customers renew their credentials in person, however, they must present proof of address and identity, and take a new photograph.
DMV ID Costs in New Jersey
As set by the MVC, several important fees include the following:
- The cost of purchasing or renewing a non-driver identification credential is $24
- The cost of purchasing a non-driver identification credential as an applicant with qualifying disabilities is $6
- The DMV ID cost of replacing or duplicating a credential is $11
New Jersey Identification Card Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Non-Driver Identification Card from state.nj.us
- Lost or Stolen Licenses/How To Get a Duplicate from state.nj.us
- License Renewal from state.nj.us
- The facts on “REAL ID” in New Jersey: What you should know from state.nj.us