Residents can get New Hampshire state ID credentials through the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), under the Department of Safety. While specific ID card eligibility requirements vary depending on whether state residents wish to purchase an original or a REAL-compliant credential, all customers must complete an application, pay a fee, provide proof of identity and submit evidence of New Hampshire residency.

While an original identification card provides New Hampshire residents with valid proof of age, address and identity, this type of credential does not provide residents with driving privileges. Additionally, an original card is not compliant with federal security standards under the REAL ID Act of 2005. To use a non-driver credential for federal identification purposes, residents must obtain a REAL ID credential, or another type of compliant document. To learn more about these requirements, and to explore the application process in more detail, review the information below.

New Hampshire DMV ID Requirements

Customers must meet several DMV state ID requirements in New Hampshire if they wish to apply for an original or a REAL-compliant identification credential. For instance, customers must be at least 12 years of age during the time of application, and they may not hold a valid driver’s license or identification credential in any other state or jurisdiction. As an exception to this rule, however, New Hampshire residents who are 65 years of age or older may hold an identification credential and a driver’s license at the same time.

In addition to these ID card requirements, applicants must reside in the state of New Hampshire, as two proofs of state residency are needed as part of the application process. Additionally, applicants must be able to prove their lawful status in the U.S.

What do you need to get an ID in New Hampshire?

While specific application requirements vary slightly depending on whether customers wish to purchase an original or a REAL ID-compliant card, residents who wish to obtain a non-compliant (original) card must submit an application for a new identification credential (DSMV 637), provide proof of identity and present evidence of state residency.

Additionally, there are several documents needed for state ID credential requests in New Hampshire. These include:

  • Two proofs of identity. Acceptable documents include a certified U.S. birth certificate, Certificate of Naturalization, valid U.S. passport or passport card, current out-of-state photo ID or a military identification credential. If an applicant’s current name differs from the name on either identification document, he or she must also present proof of the name change (such as a marriage certificate).
  • One alternate form of identity, if necessary. If ID card applicants can only provide one document from the above list, they must also submit one of the following: A Social Security card, a marriage certificate, a divorce decree, a school ID, military discharge papers, a 1099 or W-2 form or a paystub that includes the applicant’s Social Security Number (SSN).
  • One proof of New Hampshire residency. Acceptable proof includes a valid, state-issued vehicle registration certificate or title application, direct or notarized verification from a parent or legal guardian or a property tax bill, rental agreement or deed that includes a residential address. If DMV state ID applicants cannot provide one of these documents, they may provide a mortgage statement, a notarized letter from a property owner or a utility bill that was issued within the previous 60 days.
  • Payment for the DMV ID card fee. Accepted forms of payment include Visa, MasterCard and American Express credit cards, as well as cash, personal checks, money orders and traveler’s checks. If paying by check or money order, payments must be written out to: “The State of NH – DMV.”

Note: If applying for a REAL ID-compliant credential, applicants must submit additional documents. To obtain a list of these REAL-compliant documents required for state ID eligibility, review the below section titled “REAL ID Cards in New Hampshire.”

How to Get an ID in New Hampshire

Customers cannot apply to get ID online in New Hampshire, as they must visit a local DMV office to complete the application process, in person. To get started, customers may obtain a full list of office locations and hours under the DMV’s website. However, non-U.S. citizens may only apply in person, at the DMV Headquarters in Concord (located at 23 Hazen Dr.). U.S. citizens may visit any DMV office in the state.

To learn more about how and where to get state ID credentials, complete the following steps:

  1. Visit a DMV office to submit an application for a new identification credential (DSMV 637)
  2. Present proof of identification and state residency (specific requirements will vary, depending on whether customers need an original or a REAL ID-compliant credential)
  3. Pay the application fee

After completing these steps, customers will receive a 60-day credential to use until they receive their new cards in the mail. After receiving their DMV new ID credentials in the mail, the cards will remain valid for five years.

REAL ID Cards in New Hampshire

A New Hampshire REAL ID card is an identification credential that meets federal security standards under the REAL ID Act of 2005. While purchasing this type of credential is optional, individuals must present proof of REAL-compliant identification after October 1, 2020 whenever they wish to board commercial airplanes or enter certain federal facilities. If New Hampshire residents do not purchase a REAL ID-compliant identification credential by this date, they can meet this requirement by presenting another federally-compliant form of ID, such as a passport card or book.

To apply for REAL ID credentials that meet federal security standards, customers must provide the DMV with the following documents, along with an application for a new card (DSMV 637):

  • One proof of identity, such as an original or certified copy of a U.S. birth certificate
  • One proof of SSN, such as a Social Security card
  • Two proofs of state residency, such as a valid state-issued driver’s license or another document that includes a New Hampshire residential address
  • Legal documentation of a name change (such as a certified marriage or divorce record), if an applicant’s current name does not match the name on his or her identification document”

How to Renew or Replace a State ID in New Hampshire

To replace a stolen or lost ID card in New Hampshire, customers must complete an Application for a Duplicate Driver License or Non-Driver ID Card (DSMV 637). Then, applicants must submit the request in person, at a local DMV office. During this time, applicants must present proof of identification and pay the applicable fee. If residents are outside of the state when the loss occurs, however, they may mail the application, payment and a Temporarily Away Form (DSMV 594) to the following address:

New Hampshire Department of Safety
DMV – Driver Licensing
23 Hazen Dr.
Concord, NH 03305

In addition to obtaining a replacement ID card, New Hampshire residents must renew their identification credentials once every five years. To do so, they must complete an application (DSMV 637), and submit it in person, at a DMV office. During this time, cardholders will need to take a new photograph and pay the applicable renewal fee.

Note: Out-of-state cardholders cannot replace their credentials by mail if they do not have a current image on file with the DMV.

DMV ID Costs in New Hampshire

How much does an ID cost in New Hampshire? In most cases, DMV fees are the same, regardless of whether customers wish to purchase, renew or replace an original or a REAL ID-compliant credential.

For instance, several important fees include the following:

  • The DMV ID cost of purchasing, renewing, or replacing an original or REAL-compliant credential is $10
  • The cost of reprinting a credential after filing an address change is $3
  • The cost of upgrading an original card to a REAL ID-compliant credential during an applicant’s regular renewal period is $0
  • The cost of upgrading an original credential to a REAL ID-compliant card outside of the normal renewal period is $3
Last updated on Tuesday, March 5 2019.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!